Report: Sheffrec CC Spring Road Race

Jamie Shirlaw was the winner of the E/1/2/3 National B Event, the Sheffrec CC Spring Road Race on Sunday, April 17.

A field of 60 riders departed the Ruddle Centre in Braithwell in bright sunshine to compete over 18 laps of the Stainton circuit. An amazingly fast start saw many early fast laps with the bunch strung out in one long line. First riders to attempt to break clear were Elite rider Shane O’Neill of Team Bglobal and 2nd cat Tim Rowson of RVO Racing.

This however was unsuccessful and all was back together on lap three of the race. The first major gap came when Mark Thwaites of Motorpoint and Jamie Shirlaw, Herballife/Wheelbase attacked and soon established a 26 second gap to the chasing bunch. This duo stayed away for seven laps and were eventually swallowed up with seven laps remaining. Next up to break clear was a group 19 and they quickly established a 15 second lead and the gap grew to 25 seconds with just four laps remaining.

But, again this lead was short lived and by lap 15 it was all back to one big group. With the wind only slight, more attacks came and a handy group of 12 broke clear. The winner would come from this move as they soon established a 40 second lead over the main bunch. The gap came down dramatically over the closing laps but all 12 would stay ahead of the main peloton. On the final lap, Jamie Shirlaw, Herballife / Wheelbase pulled ahead of Peter Williams, returning from a nasty injury to win by several bike lengths. Alistair Rutherford,, rounded off the top 3 with Rapha Condor – Sharp rider Ben Greenwood in 4th. Great rides from 2nd cat riders Matthew Williams, and Chris Sherriffs, Team Bglobal claiming 5th and 6th places respectively.

Full list of finishing riders:
1. Jamie Shirlaw, Herballife / Wheelbase, 1st 62 miles in 2 hours 24 minutes 32 seconds
2. Peter Williams, Motorpoint Pro Cycling, Elite
3. Alistair Rutherford,, Elite
4. Ben Greenwood, Rapha Condor – Sharp, 1st
5. Matthew Williams,, 2nd
6. Chris Sherriffs, Team BGlobal, 2nd
7. Paul Allen, Wakefield CC Exponential, 2nd
8. Duncan Putman, Derby Mercury RC, 1st
9. Julian Gromett, Cottingham Coureurs RT, 2nd
10. Richard Moore, Star Bikes RT, 2nd
11. Rob Watkinson, Doncaster Wheelers, 2nd
12. Conan Mayman, Raleigh Racing Team, Elite All same time
13. Mark Wordsworth, Team Chorley Cycles / Alpha RC, 1st  @17 seconds
14. Richard Hepworth,, Elite
15. David Shackleton, Wilsons Wheels RT, 2nd Vet
16. Harry Tanfield, Team Wallis, 2nd Jun
17. Robert Smail,, 1st @ 19 seconds
18. David Brearley, Cottingham Coureurs RT, 2nd
19. David Furniss, Doncaster Wheelers, 2nd
20. Robert Watson, Paul Milnes RT / Bradford Olympic, 2nd
21. Jordan Hargreaves, Team Wallis, 2nd Jun
22. Daniel Storey, Sheffrec CC, 2nd
23. Gareth Hewitt, RST Racing Team – Trigon, 1st
24. Shane O’Neill, Team Bglobal, Elite
25. Paul Foston, Langdale Lightweights, 2nd
26. Steve Thompson, Clay Cross RT, 2nd
27. James Baillie, Sheffield Sports CC, 3rd Jun
28. Jonathan Farnaby, Crosstrax RT, 2nd
29. Danny Lowthorpe, Rutland CC, 2nd
30. Ben Hookway, Wills Wheels CC, 2nd
31. Stuart Percival, GMC Fire Service, 2nd
32. James Thompson,, 2nd
33. Matthew Bulmer, Dirtwheels Cycles, 2nd
34. Lee Allen, RVO Racing, 2nd
35. Stuart Murfin, Ashfield RC, 3rd
36. Rob Townsend, Sheffrec CC, 2nd Vet
37. Richard Anderson, Beeston CC, 2nd
38. Blake Cowley, Newark Castle CC    3rd
39. Jason Tonge, Lancashire Road Club, 2nd
40. Mick Rowson, RVO Racing, 3rd Vet
41. Alex Wallis, Sportscover Strategic, 2nd
42. Chris Daddy, Star Bikes RT, 2nd
43. Daniel Keena, Star Bikes RT, 2nd
44. Jack Custsforth, Herballife / Wheelbase, 2nd
45. Josh Cole, Sportscover Strategic, 2nd
46. Daniel Drake, Lancashire Road Club, 2nd
47. Tim Rowson, RVO Racing, 2nd
48. Mark Thwaites, Motorpoint Pro Cycling, 2nd
49. Ben Kellet, VS Cycles, 2nd Jun
50. Ben Last, Sportscover Strategic, 2nd
51. Stephen Leigh, Team Bglobal, 2nd  @ 1 lap
52. Hamish Graham, South Dublin CC, 2nd  @ 1 lap
53. Sam Kirby, RVO Racing, 3rd  @ 1 lap

Tags: ,