Result: Corley Cycles Thursday Night Racing

Team Raleigh rider Matt Jones wins the Thursday night burn up at the Milton Keynes Bowl …

Sarah Hooper writes … The first half of the circuit race at the Milton Keynes Bowl on Thursday night used the inside ring of the Bowl and after half an hour ,the top gate was opened to introduce a couple of corners and to stop the riders getting too dizzy!

In the E/1/2/3 race, a group of six managed to get away shortly after the circuit was opened out, building up a maximum lead of 40 seconds. It was touch and go whether they would stay away though and over the closing laps, the peloton were closing in on them.

With four laps to go, the cat and mouse tactics started in the break but with all the attacks nullified, it was always going to be down to a sprint finish where Matt Jones (Team Raleigh) and Mike Jackson (CC Luton) wound up their sprints at the start of the little rise to the line with Mike Smith (Corley Cycles) just missing out on coming round Jones for the win.

Only 12 seconds later, there was the bunch kick where Ian Knight (Corley Cycles) just took the sprint to the line by less than a tyres width from Tom Kruger (45 Road Club). In the other race, Alan West (45 Road Club) took a fine win in the 3/4 race, winning by a couple of bike lengths from Mike Deeney (CC Luton).

1 Matthew Jones Team Raleigh
2 Mike Smith Corley Cycles
3 Mike Jackon CC Luton
4 Jake Hales Corley Cycles
5 Roger Browne Beeline Bikes
6 Richard Wood Team MK
7 Ian Knight Corley Cycles
8 Tom Kruger 45 Road Club
9 Chris Eggleton Corley Cycles
10 Liam Stones 45 Road Club
11 Ben Price Greenwheel Cycles
12 Sean Dines Virgin Active
13 Tony Kiss Stratford CC
14 Dave Watson Spirit Racing
15 Jamie Scott Renault Rotor Racing
16 Aaron McCaffrey Virgin Active
17 John Peters CC Luton
18 Mike Wragg Python RT
19 Paul Londors Python RT
20 Henry Martin PM
21 Nigel Hobday Cambridge CC

Category 3/4
1 Alan West 45 Road Club
2 Mike Deeney CC Luton
3 Richard John PM
4 Justin Belcher Banbury Star
5 Paul Keefe iCycle
6 Chris Palfreeman 45 Road Club
7 Glen McMenamin North Bucks Road Club
8 Cameron Foster Team Zappis
9 Matthew Foreman CC Luton
10 Hannah Barnes Motorpoint
11 Justin Garon 45 Road Club
12 Jason Painton Rides on Air
13 Stephen Goodman Twenty3c
14 Russell Rowles Spirit Racing
15 Aaron Westgarth A5 Rangers
16 Martin Quill Team MK

Tags: ,