Report: Welwyn Track League

Peter Waghorn reports on the July 1st round of the Welwyn Track League which tookplace two weeks of the event being rained off

After two rained off meetings in the previous weeks it was good to see a return to  racing – however there was a crash at the 200m mark in the first senior event – the 10 lap Group A scratch – which resulted in an ambulance being called to treat George Farrell  and the meeting was resumed with a shortened programme

The scratch race for senior B riders was won comfortably by Sam Gilzean with the bunch some 40 metres adrift. Tony Gibb won the Group A scratch race with Lewis Atkins and Sam King in the minor places. After the break Sam Gilzean was a clear victor in the B Points race while Tony Gibb won the Group A Devil.

The final Senior 10 mile saw a break of 5 riders – Mike Broadwith, Lewis Atkins, Alex Wise, Tom Gallacher and Ryan Owens get away in the early stages only to be joined in a few laps by Tony Gibb and Sam King. This group of seven pushed on to open up a large gap but lost Ryan Owens at half distance. Alex Wise dropped off with 15 lap to go leaving five riders – Gibb attacked with 4 to go and won by a margin while the remaining 4 jostled for position – Lewis Atkins beat Tom Gallacher by a whisker for second with Sam King 4th  

The youth categories saw Joe Fry take first place in the scratch and Points in the Youth A series and he made a tremendous effort from scratch in the closing 4 lap ABC handicap but to no avail as Dan Maynard timed his attack to perfection to win a hard fought finish.

Jordan Mooney scored two wins in the BC group while the honours in the youth CDE group were spread between Simon Bird, Charles Page   and Tristan Rayner
Senior A
10 lap scr –  Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Alan Trolove (West Suffolk)
Devil – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Tom Gallacher (Welwyn)
10 mile –  Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Tom Gallacher (Welwyn)

Senior B
10 lap Scr – Sam Gilzean (Welwyn) Leigh Marmon (CC Luton) Costa Pierides (Finchley RT)
10 lap Points  –   Sam Gilzean (Welwyn) Glen O’Brien (CC Luton) Andy Brown (Welwyn) 

Youth A
5 lap scr – Joe Fry (Welwyn) Luke Morgan (CC Luton) Chris Hodges (Welwyn)
4 lap Points  – Joe Fry, Archie Wishart, Dan Maynard (all Welwyn)
Youth ABC 4 lap Handicap – Dan Maynard (Welwyn) Luke Morgan (CC Luton)  Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)

Youth B
4 lap scr –  Jordan Mooney, Will Street, Nick Brown (all Welwyn) 
4 lap Points  – Jordan Mooney , Will Street, Nick Brown (all Welwyn)

Youth CDE
4 lap Scr – Simon Bird (Lee Valley) Michael Parry (Welwyn) Will Raymond (Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap  A–  Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell) Will Raymond (Welwyn) Charles Page (Hillingdon)
4 lap H’cap – Charles Page (Hilllingdon) Simon Bird (Lee Valley) Jordan Mooney Welwyn)

Tags: , ,