Report: TMG Horizon Road Race

Andy Eagers of Derby Mercury CC wins the Buckinghamshire race at Wing on the hilly Cublington circuit

The inaugural TMG Horizon Road Race got off to a flying start yesterday. Following a concerted publicity effort by the promoting club, 73 riders took to the start line and tackled the Cublington Circuit in Buckinghamshire.
The circuit has seen a lot of action over the years, but this event marked a return to the course after nearly a two year absence. Promoter Neil Wass comments “It’s a challenging circuit with a drag in the last km and then two steep-ish ramps so you it finds you out.”

Andy Eagers made the long trip from Derbyshire worthwhile with an emphatic victory. Photo

Contrary to expectations, there was little in the way of long term breaks, but that is not to say no –one was trying!. Mike Jackson of Luton CC dug deep with repeated attacks, especially on laps 2 and 3 which netted him the honours in the points competition but there were too many experienced riders in the bunch to let him get away: “I think I’m pretty heavily marked,” was his understatement at the finish.

Laps 4 and 5 continued with an aggressive pattern of attacks with Team Virgin Active and CC Luton attacking and countering repeatedly. Paul Caton of Anders TMG Horizon: “You got the feeling something was going to stick, but there were so many strong riders, it looked like it would end up the luck of the draw.” With just under a lap to go, Andy Eagers of Derby Mercury entered the fray, launching a ferocious attack which had other riders hesitating. Gavin Rumbles took up the challenge for CC Luton and the two of them formed an alliance which looked quite fragile with 4k to go.”I reckon they had about 15 seconds,” comments Douglas Coleman of the promoting team.

Riders on the approach to the big climb on the Cublington circuit. Photo

Fortunately for the brave escapees, an awkward incident at this point with a local motorist delayed the progress of the chasing bunch and added another few seconds. However, with a fast descent immediately afterwards, they still had to work hard to hold off the advancing pack. Andy Eagers came in first, showing that even when outnumbered by the collective strength of local teams, a combination of savvy, selective effort and a little luck goes a long way, while Gavin Rumbles took second place, 4 seconds behind. Jeremy Addis led the bunch home at 12 seconds.

Thanks to a number of kind volunteers, the promoting team was able to field two riders, who worked hard. Doug Coleman took 8th place whilst Paul Caton was 16th. “It’s not a bad result for us,” comments Caton. “I’m working quite hard on the track at the moment and Doug is still recovering from a mountain biking accident, so pretty positive.”

Sprinting up this rather long and quite steep hill up to Cublington, Andy Eagers is well clear on the lone of second placed Gavin Rumbles.

Neil Wass concludes: “It was a great day’s racing – a challenging course, quality riders and the local teams really came out fighting. We’re already looking forward to next year.”

More Pictures:

Feedzone on the hill into Cublington. Photo

The trophy for the winner … Photo

1  Andy Eagers Derby Mercury RC
2  Gavin  Rumbles CC Luton
3  Jeremy Addis VC Montpellier
4  Roger  Browne Beeline Bikes Rt
5  Aaron McCaffrey Virgin Active
6  Christopher Dredge Team Milton Keynes
7  Conor Ryan VC Montpellier
8  Douglas Coleman Anders TMG Horizon
9  Neil Beasley Beeston RC
10  Joe Harris Reading CC
11  Mike  Jackson CC Luton
12  Jamie Scott Renault Rotor Race Team
13  Tony  Kiss Stratford CC
14  Gary Turnock Finsbury Park CC
15  Malcolm Dixon Severn RC
16  Paul Caton Anders TMG Horizon
17  Tom  Kirk Team Zappis
18  James  Foster Team Quest / The Bike Shop
19  Darren Parker Python RT
20  Gunther Zechmann Team Zappis
21  Mark Baines Spirit Racing
22  Lubomir Belak Welwyn Wheelers
23  Andy  Lack Kingston Wheelers
24  Justin  Belcher Banbury Star CC
25  Richard Stanton Arbiss LLP – Roy Pink
26  Paul Doel Team Quest / The Bike Shop
27  Rob Yeatman Team Jewson / Thule
28  Campbell Noon Virgin Active
29  Philip Murrell Finsbury Park CC
30  Chris  Grange Hemel Hempstead
31  Tim  Carter Virgin Active
32  Ben Leadbetter BC Private
33  Nigel  Williams Python RT
34  Ed Ashby BC Private
35  Hiroshi Kobayashi Team Milton Keynes
36  Damien Breen Kingston Wheelers
37  Ed Clemens VC10
38  Mark Williams Python RT
39  Tim  Hyde GS Henley
40  Mike  Inder Thames Velo
41  Aled Jones Gloucester City
42  John  Peters CC Luton
43  Sean Dines Virgin Active
44  Chris Smith Python RT
45  Andy Sykes Thames Velo
46  Clare Leaver Team Zappis
47  John  Donovan CS Grupetto
48  Edgar Medallin Finchley RT
49  Keir Apperley
50  Mark Jervis Python RT
51  Richard Cleaver VC Montpellier
52  Stephen  Nunn Artic RT
53  Ian  Humble Gloucester City
54  Rob Fletcher Arbiss LLP – Roy Pink
55  Richard Wood Team Milton Keynes
56  Mike  Deeney CC Luton
57  Tim  Kearley Rapha Condor CC
58  Joe Harris Reading CC

Tags: , , ,