Report: GT Ellingworth & GA Bennett Road Races

A win for Raleigh’s Matt Jones in the GA Bennett Road Race in Lincolnshire after a four up sprint with only millimetres seperating Jones from Simon Wilson

With heavy rain rolling round the rest of the country the weather gods smiled kindly on the 2 Witham Wheelers road races, with only a brief shower in the mornings event. Both events attracted healthy fields with sponsorship by the local specialist lightweight bikeshop PedalPushers of Grantham.

The GT Ellingworth event saw 67 category 3-4 riders in the morning was held over 3.3/4 laps of the rolling course held on quiet but narrow country roads. With the strong wind helping on the main hill and discouraging breakaways on the more exposed parts there were few significant breaks. As the riders hit the main hill for the last time with a mile to go to the finish there were still some 40 riders in contention from the original 63 starters. Matt Barrett (Lutterworth Cycles) timed his finishing burst to perfection to take a clear win after 48 miles from Alex Mitchell (Sheffrec CC) and Natham Harrison (Yorkshire Velo).

In the afternoon a mixed field of 53 Elites, first and seconds with a few brave thirds rode the GA Bennett held over 5.3/4 laps with a strengthening wind to make conditions challenging. At the end of the first lap a small group had formed with few seconds lead including Simon Wilson (CyclePremier Metaltek) who was to be ever present at the front for the whole race. At the end of the second lap 8 riders now had a 45 second lead over a chasing 8 man group with Matt Jones (Team Raleigh) chasing from the bunch. Over the third lap the lead group swelled to 25 riders as the stronger riders made their way to the front leaving the other half of the field some 2 minutes down.

This group then split with Jamie Burgan (Boneshakersbikes,com), Mike Cuming (Twenty 3c Orbea), Tom Stockdale (Team Quoroz), Ben Dean (Team Wallis CHH), Wilson, Richard Hepworth (Cycle-Premier Metaltek), Jones and Dexter Gardias (Forme Impsort ) building a 1 minute lead over 10 riders with John Tanner (Team Sportscover) attempting to bridge an ever widening gap from the rear bunch. Into the final lap and the same 8 riders were still together with Junior Alistair Slater (Hargroves)and Will Fox (Forme Impsort) now only 20 seconds behind, but that was as close as they got. The lead group split on the last lap and in tight finish Jones beat Wilson by a tyres width from Cuming and Gardias with the remnants of the break 30 seconds further back led in by Hepworth. Jamie Kennedy (Glasgow Couriers) took the prize for first 2nd cat and Neil Edwards (PM) as the only 3rd cat to finish.

PHOTOS: Alan East – more available from and Lincs Race Photos


1 Matt Jones, Raleigh
2 Simon Wilson, Cycle Premier Metaltek
3 Mike Cumming, Twenty3C-Orbea
4 Dexter Gardias, Forme ImpSport SanLamere
5 Richard Hepworth,Cycle Premier Metaltek
6 Jamie Burgan Boneshakers
7 Ben Deane, Wallis CHH
8 Tom Stockdale, qoroz
9 Steve Lampier, Sigma Sport Specialized
10 Jack Adams Forme ImpSport SanLamere

2nd cat Jamie Kennedy Glasgow Couriers
3rd Neil Edwards Private Member

1 Matt Barrat, Lutterworth Cycles
2 Alex Mitchell, Sheffrec CC
3 Nathan Harrison, Yorkshire Velo
4 Callum Bramley Langdale Lightweights
5 Dean Parkes, iOptix
6 Mat Neil, RMCC
7 Thomas Sutton, Sheffield Phoeniex
8 Alex Avery, Spalding
9 Andy Wilde, St Ives
10 James Stewart, iCycle

Tags: ,