Report: Welwyn Track League

Peter Waghorn reports on the track league at welwyn on July 29, an overcast evening with no rain produced some interesting results

In the 10 lap Group A ‘Odds and Evens’ Block Pursuit Tony Gibb left his team members with 5 laps to go and soloed his way to victory in 5-46 (a speed of 30mph) despite the hard working team of John McClelland, Trevor Burke and Lewis Atkins on the opposite side of the track.

Tony Gibb made a clean sweep of the remaining A events apart from the 10 mile which John McClelland took with a well time last lap sprint. Donna Williams scored a well earned win in the Group B 10 lap Block handicap – the limit riders worked well together giving the scratch group no chance of making contact – Donna put in a great attack in the final lap to score her first track win.

Ben Smith notched up two victories in the B group scratch and Devil to increase his points tally

The youth numbers were lower than normal as many Welwyn and Lee Valley riders had moved to Holland  to compete in the Assen Youth Tour- however those that remained put in some spirited racing with Hillingdon and Lee Valley out pacing the local Welwyn Riders in the BC and CDE groups.

It is good to see a new influx of keen youth riders taking the opportunity to get in some good track racing performances at the track  at this stage of the season.

Senior A – 10 lap Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Alan Trolove (Wset Suffolk)
10 lap Block Pursuit – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Ken Roesner (Kings Lynn)
10 lap Points- Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Tim Read (Stevenage)
10 mile – John McClelland (Agiskoviner) Trevor Burke (Finchley RT) Tony Gibb (Metaltek)

Senior B – 10 lap – Ben Smith (Welwyn) Greg O’Brien (CC Luton) Richard Bloomfield (Welwyn)
10 lap Block Handicap – Donna Williams (Team Terminator) Howard Ashmore (Welwyn) Adrian Trott (Welwyn)
Devil – Ben Smith (Welwyn) Richard Bloomfield (Welwyn) Greg O’Brien (CC Luton)

Youth A
5 lap scratch – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Bethany Hayward (Welwyn) Luke Morgan (CC Luton)
Points – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Bethany Hayward (Welwyn) Luke Morgan (CC Luton)
Devil – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Ollie Fensom (Spalding) Bethany Hayward (Welwyn)
4 lap ABC H’cap – Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Cameron Gutteridge (Hillingdon) Ollie Fensom (Spalding)

Youth B
5 lap scr – Cameron Gutteridge (Lee Valley) Sam Dossett (Welwyn) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)
2 lap – Cameron Gutteridge (Lee Valley) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn) Sam Dossett (Welwyn)
500m Ha’cap – Jordan Mooney (Welwyn) Sam Dossett (Welwyn) Cameron Gutteridge (Lee Valley)

Youth C
3lap scr – Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon) Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell) Kye Lewis (Hillingdon)
3 lap H’cap – Elizabeth Marvelly (Hillingdon) Amy Marvelly (Hillingdon) Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell)
3 lap H’Cap (B) – Kye Lewis (Hillingdon) Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon) Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell)
4 lap H’cap – Tristan Rayner (CC Ashwell) Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon) Kye Lewis (Hillingdon)

Tags: , ,