2011 East Yorkshire Classic

Jeremy Hunt of Team Sky was on the top step of the podium in Beverley (East Yorkshire) today after winning the East Yorkshire Classic from Marcin Bialoblocki of Motorpoint and Endura Racing’s Ian Wilkinson.

The 2011 East Yorkshire classic started in bright sunshine with a bit of wind to cool the riders. As ever, lots of attacks from the time the flag was dropped but even as far as the start of the circuit, no break had really got established despite the riders using all the road and then some to try and get away. Through Millington, and the longish steep narrow ‘berg’ of a climb, Jon Locke (winner of Ryedale GP) and Mike Cumming lead by 10 seconds or so from a hard charging Jeremy Hunt.

Over 28 miles had been covered in the first hour, so the race was certainly rapid and among the early attackers were former winner Wouter Sybrandy and Tobyn Horton. No doubt there were many others. First time up the climb at Millington, with Jon Locke and Mike Cuming leading, the peloton was lined out behind the chase lead by Dean Windsor. Then, the second time up the climb, around 20 riders were clear and from that came the winning break.

With riders joining the leaders on the third of the circuits, it was the hilly ride back to Beverley and a lot of attacks that saw the big group whittled down. Through the finish, Dave Clarke lead a small group chased by Fleeman with two Endura in tow. Fleeman and the Endura riders got to the front group giving Endura Racing three and three Motorpoint riders as well. As expected, there was a lot of attacking on that final lap but all to no avail as it came down to a sprint finish.

Leading into the final corner, Jeremy Hunt kicked out of the bend, gapping his rivals and whilst admitting later it was too early, he did hold on to win the race from Bialoblocki with Wilkinson of Endura Racing in 3rd.  The Team Sky rider admitted that it was good to get the hands in the air after coming back from injury and that his next task in the UK is to work for Cavendish in the Olympic test race on August 14.

The former double British Road Race Champion, Jeremy Hunt said straight after the race “It’s nice to come home and get the hands in the air. I haven’t won a race in Sky colours yet so I’ve won one now. I have just come back from injury (torn muscle) so it’s good to have good form before Denmark. I just wanted to go as deep as I could out there because I needed a good work out.”

“I went from the last corner and it was too far! Way to far and my legs were beginning to buckle towards the end. There was a lot of attacking and people coming and going on the climbs and the KOM climb got rid of some people. All the guys in the break at the end were the strongest.”

“The year with Sky has been good, I have enjoyed it. Back to racing with them in Denmark”. Jeremy will also be working for Cavendish in the Olympic test event on August 14.

Report in Pictures

Bright sunshine for the start in Beverely and good to see the peloton was not run over by all the cows on the loose!

On the way out to the circuit the peloton was altogether but the attacks were still coming thick and fast. Here Tobyn Horton goes for it followed by Michael Smith with Yanto Barker launching himself followed by Evan Oliphant.

Ryedale GP winner Jon Locke and Mike Cuming lead the race the first up Millington Bank.

Chased by a late entry, eventual winner Jeremy Hunt.

Final time up Millington Bank and another selection has been made lead here by Dave Clarke and Marcin Bialoblocki

First time through the finish area and Jeremy Hunt is on the move witha  group behind lead by Dan Fleeman.

Final time through and the two groups were together as Dave Clarke leads.

Podium: Marcin Bialoblocki, Jeremy Hunt and Ian Wilkinson.

To see the Live Photo album, click the play button on the slideshow below.



1. Jeremy Hunt, Sky
2. Marcin Bialoblocki, Motorpoint
3. Ian Wilkinson, Endura Racing @1 sec
4. Jonny McEvoy, Motorpoint
5. Dan Craven, Rapha Condor Sharp
6. Steve Lampier, Sigma Sport Specialized
7. Rob Partridge, Endura Racing
8. Jon Tiernan-Locke, Rapha Condor Sharp
9. David Clarke, Endura Racing
10. Dan Fleeman, Raleigh
11. Ian Bibby, Motorpoint,
12. Stephen Gallagher, Cycle Premier Metaltek, @4.13
13. Andrew Tennant, Rapha Condor Sharp
14. Yanto Barker, Pendragon Le Col Colnago
15. Robbie Hassan, Endura Pedal Power
16. Tom Barras, Cycle Premier Metaltek
17. Pete Williams, Motorpoint
18. Stephan Adams, Sigma Sport Specialized
19. Scott Thwaites, Endura racing
20.  Jack Adams, Formea


Link: preview of the race …

Tags: , , ,