Report: EDCA 100

Two provisional comp records for 100 mile Team and the Ladies’ Tandem as Julian Jenkinson is fastest in 3:31:12

Fergus Muir writes … Two competition records were beaten in the East District Cycling Association 100 on the Attleborough bypass in Norfolk. Team Pedal Revolution- Andy Bason, Nik Bowdler and Mark Arnold – setting a new team record of 10:50:59, beating Planet X’s 2004 figures by 39 seconds. In the tandem event, the women’s record was smashed by Essex Roads pair Gwen Cook (steering) and Lea Marshall whose 4:4:15 was 5:07 faster than the 30 year-old record. All subject to the usual checks and confirmation, of course.

Ladies Tandem: Lea Marshall & Gwen Cook (Essex Roads CC) 4:04:15. (Photo by Tony Hall, CC Sudbury)

Conditions at the start were fine and dry but very cold. The B100/4 course takes riders almost four times up and down a 13 mile stretch of the A11 between Larling and Wymondham. At 40 miles, unofficial timing indicated Bason was leading Julian Jenkinson (UTAG-Yamaha) by just over 30 seconds, Arnold by 2:40 and Bowdler by about 3:30. At 66 miles, Bason still had 30 seconds on Jenkinson, with Bowdler five minutes behind and Arnold at 5:25. However at 92 miles, Jenkinson had taken the lead, but only by about eight seconds, Bowdler had closed to four minutes down but Arnold, not remembering to eat, was ten minutes back.

Over the last few miles Jenkinson extended his lead over Bason to 1:20 by the finish, with Bowdler third, 3:59 down on Jenkinson and Arnold at 12:04. Jenkinson comes from Southampton and had eight years making a living as a triathlon professional – at one time his was the fastest UK time for an Iron Man. However, now he is working and enjoying the low-key atmosphere of time trialling – and after the 100 was mulling the event over with Pedal Revolution rivals in the shade of a tree.

Not so fast, but still pleased with his time was 81 year-old Peter Horsnell (Chelmer CC) whose 4:55:07 will be a new VTTA national age record. Women’s winner was Claire Day (Born to Bike, 4:11:45) and the fastest tandem mixed pair Graham Painter and Ann Shuttleworth (Chelmer CC) who finished in 4:3:30.  The accompanying Tricycle Association East 100 was won by Andrew Nye (Ashford Whs) in 5:15:37.

Team: Andy Bason/Nik Bowdler/Mark Arnold (Team 10:55:59.

Julian Jenkinson (UTAG-Yamaha) (Photo by Fergus Muir)


1 Andrew Nye (TRIKE) Ashford Whs 05:15:37
2 Peter Holland (TRIKE) Lincoln Whs CC 05:17:37
3 Ian Mackenzie (TRIKE) Southend Whs 05:27:04
4 Caroline Nye (TRIKE) Ashford Whs 06:53:35

1 G Painter/A Shuttlewort (TAN) Chelmer CC 04:03:30
2 L Marshall/G Cook (TAN) Essex Roads CC 04:04:15

1 Julian Jenkinson 03:31:12
2 Andy Bason Team Pedal Revolutn 03:32:32
3 Nik Bowdler Team Pedal Revolutn 03:35:11
4 Mark Arnold Team PedalRevolutn 03:43:16
5 Dave Green RAFCA 03:46:48
6 Liam Gentry VC Baracchi 03:51:46
7 Gregory Woodford Reading CC 03:52:58
8 Stephen Bale Reading CC 03:57:24
9 Gary Stevens St Ives CC 03:57:31
10 Duncan Lorne Norwich ABC 03:59:06
11 Ken Roesner Kings Lynn CC 03:59:09
12 Evert Wijnberg Plomesgate CC 03:59:09
13 Martin Long Kings Lynn CC 03:59:59
14 Philip Jarvis Colchester Rovers  03:59:59
15 Stuart Martingale Sotonia CC 04:00:12
16 Laurence Wright North Norfolk Whs 04:01:03
17 Jane Kilmartin (W) Cult Racing 04:03:54
18 Tim Finch Loughbrough Stu CC 04:05:51
19 Chris Lea Buxton CC 04:05:53
20 Chris Nudds CC Breckland 04:07:04
21 John Golder Chelmer CC 04:07:21
22 Robert Royston Sydenham Whs 04:08:04
23 Matt Carter CC Breckland 04:10:21
24 Claire Day (W) Born To Bike 04:11:45
25 Andrew Simpkins Solihull CC 04:13:06
26 David Moore Norwich ABC 04:13:43
27 Bob Quarton Wolsey RC 04:13:52
28 Danny Watkins CC Breckland 04:15:01
29 Kevin Graves Kings Lynn CC 04:21:31
30 Clare Ella (W) Born To Bike 04:25:21
31 Clayton Knight Easterly Road Club 04:27:51
32 Laura Gambling (W) CC Breckland 04:28:01
33 Michael Fry Glendene CC 04:31:02
34 Roger Graham CC Breckland 04:33:14
35 Bernard Charlick CC Basingstoke 04:34:27
36 Andrew Ward Wisbech Whss 04:35:41
37 Tony Panting West Suffolk Whs 04:41:30
38 Charlotte Hornett (W) Chelmer CC 04:41:32
39 Simon Hardy Kings Lynn CC 04:42:51
40 Tony Reynolds CC Breckland 04:43:11
41 Karen Eaton Wolsey RC 04:48:29
42 Michael Rainton VC Baracchi 04:52:21
43 Gary Bentley Spalding CC 04:52:49
44 David Steel Hereford Whs 04:53:19
45 Peter Horsnell Chelmer CC 04:55:07
46 Paul Anderson Great Yarmouth CC 05:11:33
47 Sarah Bentley Spalding CC 05:18:12
48 Bob Loader Sydehham Whs 05:29:50
49 Ray Legg West Suffolk Whs 05:28:36

Tags: ,