Report: National Masters Road Race Championships

The road race championships for 40 – 60 year olds were held today in the Surrey lanes around Virginia Water and Chobham. We have the podiums with the full results to follow later.

Photos: David Reed

The field raced around 3 interconnecting circuits that were not to brutal but would test the riders and provide worthy winners. A full class entry took the line in brilliant hot conditions for the race, using three circuits around the Chobham area. An early break of three, Ashley Holding, Paul Holdsworth and rider No. 5, and it was the evergreen Holdsworth who dragged them up the Windsor Road climb. After they were caught the race settled down and on the second circuit of Staple Hill, the race failed to break up as expected, although there were many attempts and at most times the whole race was lined out across the top.

Photos: David Reed

Going on to the finishing circuit at Valley End, again there were many attempts to break away from the still complete main group, including several individual efforts, and finally with the distance telling a group of nine went clear with Holdsworth leaving the main group and bridging the gap to the break. At the bell, the leaders eased and were almost caught by the main group, but on the 4 km circuit they just held off the chasers. It was a very close finish with Martin Smith just getting the verdict. Paul Crook lead the main group in and almost catching the tiring Holdsworth.

The three circuit formula worked well and most of the riders were complimentary, although some riders made the comment about becoming giddy!

The riders also complimented the marshalling which as usual was brilliantly handled by Des Bennett and the number averted any problems, and the race was run without any incidents in spite of a Polo Match close to the circuit and nearby stables.

Photos: David Reed

Thanks to Mark Doel and Doug Collins.

L-R: Marcus Brueton, Martin Smith & Andy Lyons

L-R: Matthew Miles,  Gary Dodd  and Ben Luckwell

L-R: Paul Doel, Keir Apperley  & Paul Caton. Photo: David Reed

L-R: Andrew Donaldson, Jimmy Rutherford   & Martin Hulbert. Photo: David Reed

Brief Results are:

130km 3:31:00

Cat C
1    Martin Smith         Primal Europe powered by Rutraining Today/BikeChainRicci
2    Marcus Brueton    Norwood Paragon
3    Andy Lyons        Twenty3C Orbea

Cat D

1    Gary Dodd        South Down Bikes
2    Matthew Miles        InGear Quickvit RT
3    Ben Luckwell

Cat E

1    Keir Apperley        CycleClub Hackney
2    Paul Doel        Team Quest / The Bike Shop
3    Paul Caton        Anders Electronics / TMG Horizon

Cat F

1    James Rutherford    Science in Sport
2    Andrew Donaldson    Ferryhill Mountain High
3    Martin Hulbert        VC Meudon


1        Martin     Smith    Primal Europe powered by RUTrainingtoday/Bike Chain Ricci    03:31:00
2        Gary     Dodd    SouthDowns Bikes    st
3        Matthew    Miles    InGear / Quickvit RT    st
4        Benjamin    Luckwell    Wilier/    st
5        Marcus    Brueton    Norwood Paragon    st
6        Andy    Lyons    Twenty3C / Orbea    st
7        Jamie    Kennedy    Glasgow Couriers    st
8        Paul    Holdsworth    Hounslow & District Wheelers    at 4sec
9        Simon    Hime    Finchley Racing Team    st
10        Richard    Prebble    Motorpoint    st
11        Gareth     McGuiness    Energy Cycles    st
12        Nick    Abraham    BC Private    at 8sec
13        Paul    Crook    West Drayton MBC    at 15sec
14        Andy    Eagers    Derby Mercury RC    st
15        Richard    Moore    Star Bikes RT    st
16        Tony     Grassby    Peak Road Club    st
17        Keir    Apperley    Cycle Club Hackney    st
18        Andrew    Pollentine    Dulwich Paragon    st
19        Andrew    Tinsley    Max Gear RT    st
20        Paul     Bell    Peak Road Club    at 26sec
21        Roland    Tilley    st
22        John     Brown    ActivCycles-Corbridge RT    st
23        Jay    Eastwood    Hargroves Cycles / Specialized / Trant    st
24        Philip    Mason    Climb on Bikes    at 28sec
25        Paul    Doel    Team Quest / the Bike Shop    st
26        Paul     Caton    Anders Electronics / TMG Horizon    st
27        Pete    Smith    Team Jewson / MI Racing    st
28        Ashley     Holding    GB-Mstina    st
29        Adam    Ellis    Spalding CC    st
30        Jason    Edwards    GB-Mstina    st
31        Fraser    Wildman    Datateam Allstars    st
32        Andy    Edwards    Kingston Wheelers    st
33        Paul    Bell    Peak Road Club    st
34        Ralph    Carter    London Dynamo    st
35        Michael    Harrison    Congleton CC    st
36        James     Rutherford    Science in    st
37        Jim     Moffatt    Virgin Active    st
38        Julian     Bray    Dulwich Paragon    st
39        Andrew    Donaldson    Ferryhill Mountain High    st
40        Lee    Desborough    St.Ives
41        Grahame    Davidson    Kenilworth Wheelers    st
42        Robert     Cranstone    Royal Navy & Royal Marine CA    st
43        Roy    Sumner    Port Sunlight Wheelers    st
44        Paul    Fielding    St.Ives    st
45        Courtney    Rowe    Cardiff JIF    st
46        Ian    Cowan    Solihull CC    st
47        Adrian     Goatley    Felt-Colbornes RT    st
48        Nigel    Williams    Python RT    st
49        Ian    Rees    Wilier/    st
50        Robin    Parker    East Grinstead CC    at 34sec
51        Graham    Hills    InGear / Quickvit RT    st
52        Paul     Hone    Addiscombe CC    st
53        John     Alderman    VC Meudon    st
54        Marc    Fruelett    Team Quest / the Bike Shop    st
55        Philip    Hargreaves    VC Norwich    st
56        Niall    Digby    La Fuga-Sigma Sport    st
57        Martin     Hulbert    VC Meudon     st
58        Tim    Carter    Virgin Active    st
59        Mark    Williams    Python RT    st
60        Wayne     Coombs    Primal Europe powered by RUTrainingtoday/Bike Chain Ricci    st
61        Stephen    Wharton    Finchley Racing Team    st
62        Brendan    Heaslip    Kenton RC    st
63        Simon    Williams    Hillingdon CC    st
64        Stephen     Gibson    Peak Road Club    st
65        Mark    Bottely    Bourne Wheelers    st
66        David     Mills    Bush Healthcare CRT    at 3.10
67        Peter Wilson    Wilson    Bournemouth Arrow    at 3.20
68        Robert     Stimpson    Python RT    at 4.28
69        Michael    Inder    Thames Velo    at 6.20
70        Richard    Pascoe    Primal Europe powered by RUTrainingtoday/Bike Chain Ricci    at 6.30
71        Brian    O’Kelly    Bristol RC    at 7.00

Tags: , ,