VUELTA: Stage 3 – Pablo Lastras Wins

Movistar’s Pablo Lastras has won stage 3 of the Tour of Spain on the 100 mile stage from Petrer – Totana and in the process take the leader’s jersey


Part of a break of four that also included Markel Irizar Aranburu (RadioShack), Ruslan Podgornyy (Vacansoleil-DCM) and Sylvain Chavanel (Quickstep), the Spanish rider rode away from his breakaway companions on the final climb and managed to hold a gap to the finish where his winning margin was just over 15 seconds. With the peloton around two minutes back, the rider’s lead is a healthy one over the main GC contenders who have yet to really go full gas.

Bradley Wiggins and teammate Chris Froome held their own on the final climb, with Froome crossing the line in 12th, one place ahead of Wiggins.

Steven de Jongh, Team Sky Sports Director: “It was good to see Brad up there. That was the main job today and yesterday and now we are looking forward to tomorrow which will be a day for the GC. All the boys are looking towards that stage and there is a really good atmosphere within the team.

“The team did a terrific job did all day. Thomas [Lofkvist], Froomey – all the guys actually – were giving a hand today fetching bottles. They did a lot of work throughout the day. “It is a hard day coming up tomorrow. For GC those guys in the break are not that significant so all the big teams have said we don’t have to bring them back if it’s a reasonable gap. It was about coming home safe and it was the same for us too.

“It was really selective. It was a tough climb, especially after 140km it’s very hard. It was hot again today it went up to 38 degrees. It dropped down a bit to about 34 but it’s very hot! You have to drink a lot and it will be the same again tomorrow.”

Mark Cavendish meanwhile said on Twitter, “Well if the last climb today was only Category 3, then I can safely say this Vuelta is going to be SAVAGE. Congratulations to Lastras today.”

1. LASTRAS, Pablo    MOV    3h 58′ 00”
2. CHAVANEL, Sylvain    QST    + 15”
3. IRIZAR, Markel    RSH    + 15”
4. PYDGORNYY, Ruslan    VCD    + 15”
5. ROCHE, Nicolas    ALM    + 1′ 43”
6. BRESCHEL, Matti    RAB    + 1′ 43”
7. AGNOLI, Valerio    LIQ    + 1′ 43”
8. GAVAZZI, Francesco    LAM    + 1′ 43”
9. GASPAROTTO, Enrico    AST    + 1′ 43”
10. BAKELANDTS, Jan    OLO    + 1′ 43

12. FROOME, Christopher    SKY    + 1′ 43”
13. WIGGINS, Bradley    SKY    + 1′ 43′
20. MARTIN, Daniel    GRM    + 1′ 43

1. LASTRAS, Pablo    MOV    8h 25′ 59”
2. CHAVANEL, Sylvain    QST    + 20”
3. IRIZAR, Markel    RSH    + 1′ 08”
4. PYDGORNYY, Ruslan    VCD    + 1′ 24”
5. FUGLSANG, Jakob    LEO    + 1′ 55”
6. MONFORT, Maxime    LEO    + 1′ 55”
7. NIBALI, Vincenzo    LIQ    + 1′ 59”
8. AGNOLI, Valerio    LIQ    + 1′ 59”
9. CAPECCHI, Eros    LIQ    + 1′ 59”
10. SIVTSOV, Kanstantsin    THR    + 2′ 04”

41. WIGGINS, Bradley    SKY    + 2′ 37”

Tags: ,