Report: Ciclos Uno LVRC ‘Last of the Summer Wine’ Series

Fred Little (organiser) writes … The fourth event in the Ciclos Uno Last of the Summer Wine Series was held at the Redbridge Cycling Centre on Sunday 18 September and there were a total of 41 riders on the start line for the two age related races. The races were run on the lower circuit over 1 hour plus 5 laps for the A/B/C/D categories 1 hour plus 3 laps for the E/F/G categories.

The race for Categories A/B/C/D (40-59yrs) attracted 31 starters and after 15 minutes, a group of six riders had gained a lead of 15 seconds. There were many attempts to pull them back but all were unsuccessful and after 30 minutes of racing the leading group had increased their lead to 45 seconds over the main bunch.

Chris Baldwin (Eagle) made lone attempt to bridge the gap and spent the last 15 minutes of the race in-between the leaders and the main bunch. The leaders advantage continued to increase and just before the 1 hour of racing they lapped the field except Chris Baldwin and then gained a further lead before continuing to the finish where Craig Stevens (Ciclos Uno) took the honours from Kier Apperley (CC Hackney) and David Farrow (Eagle) in third place.

In the Category E/F/G/H (60yrs plus) race there were 10 starters and after 15 minutes of racing three riders had been dropped. At fourty minutes, the bunch was further reduced when 82 year old Roy (Spit) Godbeer could no longer stay with them and dropped back. The remaining bunch of five continued to the finish and new to Category ‘E’ rider Richard Fraczek took his first LVRC win by outsprinting Roger Hornsby and Trevor Mills who were second and third respectively.

The next event (No.5) in the series at Redbridge will be held on Sunday 25 September starting at 10.00 a.m.

Overall Result of the A-B-C-D Race
1. Craig Stevens    Ciclos Uno    B
2. Keir Apperley    CC Hackney    C
3. David Farrow    Eagle RC    A
4. Barry Neal    Ciclos Uno    B
5. Hugh Vivian    Finsbury Park CC    B
6. Ian Watson    Finchley RT    A
7. Chris Baldwin    Eagle RC    C
8. Martin Meades    Ciclos Uno    B
9. Angelo Christides    Errmes Greece    C
10. Mark Abela    Kent Cycles    A
11. Andrew Elderfield    VC Revolution     A
12. Julian Cunnington    Condor Cycles    C
13. Peter Arden    Victoria CC    B
14. Mark Harris    Braintree CRT    C
15. Mark Allen    Finchley RT    A
16. Simon Hewins    Eagle RC    C
17. Clive Cheek    PVT    B
18. Dave Boakes    Chelmer CC    C
19. Steven Green    Ciclos Uno    B
20. Mick Bath    API/Metrow    C
21. Dave Dickie    Finchley RT    D
22. David Churchill    Big Foot CC    C
23. Carlito Rendora    Eagle RC    C
24. Russell Tribley    Chelmer CC    C
25. Kevin Barker    Ciclos Uno    A

Prime Winners:
Keir Apperley
Angelo Christides (2)
David Farrow

Category Winners
1st    Dave Farrow     Eagle RC
2nd    Ian Watson    Finchley RT
3rd    Mark Abela    Kent cycles

B    Category Winners:-
1st    Craig Stevens    Ciclos Uno
2nd    Barry Neal    Ciclos Uno
3rd    Hugh Vivian    Finsbury Park CC

C    Category Winners:-
1st    Keir Apperley    CC Hackney
2nd    Chris Baldwin    Eagle RC
3rd    Angelo Christides    Errmes (Greece)

D    Category Winner
1st    Dave Dickie    Finchley RT

Overall Result of the E-F-G-H Race
1.        Richard Fraczek    Essex Road’s CC    E
2.        Roger Hornsby    GS Avanti    F
3.        Trevor Mills    Ford CC    F
4.        Fred Jefcoate    Victoria CC    G
5.        David Keen    Bishop Stortford CC    E
6.        Roy Godbeer    Southend Whlrs    H
7.        Richard Wall    Lampard CC    G
8.        Chas Wilde    Eagle RC    H
9.        Del Stacey    Unity CC    H

Prime Winners:
Roger Hornsby
Richard Fraczek

Category Winners
1st    Richard Fraczek    Essex Road’s CC
2nd    David Keen    Bishop Stortford CC

F    Category Winners:-
1st    Roger Hornsby    GS Avanti
2nd    Trevor Mills    Ford CC

G    Category Winners:-
1st    Fred Jefcoate    Victoria CC
2nd    Richard Wall    Lampard CC

H    Category Winners:-
1st    Roy Godbeer    Southend Whlrs
2nd    Chas Wilde    Eagle RC
3rd    Del Stacey    Unity CC

Tags: , ,