Report: Scottish Hill Climb Championships

George Atkins wins Scottish Hill Climb Championships on Moor Road at Fairlie on the Clyde coast in the Ayr Roads CC promoted event. The climb proved to be a challenging route for this year’s Scottish Cycling hill climb championship. Climbing over 225m from sea level the 2.3km course included sections of very steep gradients with slippery leaves, long exposed thigh burning drags and a lung busting finish.

The dry weather and moderate wind helped the field of 51 riders as they were cheered on by the many spectators who came to support them. Glasgow Wheelers David Griffiths set an early leading time of 8 minute and 9.01 seconds. Both Jamie Kennedy of Glasgow Couriers and Ian Grant of Dooleys RT came within a second of this doing 8:9.94 and 8:9.76 respectively.

This three way battle however was for silver and bronze as George Atkins from the Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpellier team  powered up the climb demonstrating perfect technique and  pace to win gold with a time of 7:46. Atikins lead his team mates Robin Wilkins and Eddie Addis to take the overall team prize.

Photo: Robery Kay. L-R: Iain Grant (3rd), George Atkins (1st) and David Griffiths (2nd).

Edinburgh Road Clubs Aleksandra Szyszczakiewicz won gold in the Women’s race with a time of 11:04 and Thomas Coyle of Glasgow Road Club was the fastest Junior in 9:51. Eight Youth riders competed in a shorter 1km climb with Aiden Quinn of Glasgow Ivy beating Kyle Petrie from Stirling Bike Club by a second with a winning time of 4:54 to take the Youth A prize. Lewis Champion from Perth United CC  won the Youth B prize also in 4:54 and Lewis Martin from Hardrock CC won the Youth C prize with a time of 6:12.

PHOTOS? Anyone with other photos of the action, send the to VeloUK to share with the cycling community –

2011 Results

Juniors, Seniors, Vets and Woman categories
1 George Atkins Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelier S 07:46 Gold
2 David Griffiths Glasgow Wheelers S 08:10 Silver 08:09.01
3 Iain Grant Dooleys Cycles RT V40+ 08:10 Bronze 08:09.76
4 Jamie Kennedy Glasgow Couriers V40+ 08:10 1st Vet 08:09.94
5 Robin Wilkins Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelier S 08:23
6 Chris Smart Glasgow Couriers  08:30
7 Eddie Addis Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelier S 08:41
8 Ramsay Muirhead Johnstone Wheelers Cycling Club S 08:49
9 Kristoff Aksnes Glasgow Wheelers S 08:50
10 Graeme  Cockburn Glasgow Wheelers S 08:53
11 John Paterson Dumfries CC S 08:59
12 Kenneth Armstrong Ayr Roads / Harry Fairbairn CC S 09:07
13 Gavin Shirley Nevis Cycles RT S 09:07
14 Scott Newman Inverclyde Velo S 09:07
15 Finlay Young Equipe velo ecosse / montpelliers S 09:08
16 Andrew Davies V40+ 09:23
17 John-Paul Baxter Ayr Roads / Harry Fairbairn CC S 09:23
18 Dave Moran Edinburgh RC  09:28
19 Graeme Jardine  S 09:31
20 Daniel Mcshane Glasgow Road Club S 09:36
21 Scott Johnstone Team Icarus V40+ 09:40
22 Robert Briggs San Fairy Ann S 09:46
23 Neil Walker Walkers Cycling Club S 09:50
24 Thomas Coyle Glasgow Road Club J 09:51 1st Junior
25 Mark Munro City of Inverness Cycling Club S 09:51
26 Paul Friel  V40+ 09:54
27 Luke Johnstone Chryston Wheelers CC J 10:19
28 Andrew Nicell Vortex Race Team/Millersport/Solidrock/Conquest S 10:22
29 Shaun Lyon Bute Wheelers S 10:31
30 Stevie Ogg Dunfermline CC V40+ 10:36
31 Martin Whitehead VC Glasgow South V40+ 10:37
32 Chris Staples Fullarton Wheelers V40+ 10:48
33 Gavin Kerr Ayr Roads / Harry Fairbairn CC S 10:51
34 Iain Taylor Dunfermline CC V40+ 11:01
35 Aleksandra Szyszczakiewicz Edinburgh RC S(f) 11:04 1st Women
36 Elaine  Lowden Glasgow Wheelers  11:19
37 Andrew Melton Cairngorm CC V40+ 11:36
38 Iain Blair Bute Wheelers V40+ 11:44
39 Andrew Leitch  S 12:26
40 Vic Possee Ayr Roads / Harry Fairbairn CC V70+ 13:22

Winning team
George Atkins Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelier S 07:46
Robin Wilkins Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelier S 08:23
Eddie Addis Equipe Velo Ecosse / Montpelier S 08:41

Youth Categories
1 Gavin Shuttleworth Velocity 44 Youth A 04:16
2 Aidan Quinn Glasgow Ivy CC Youth A 04:54
3 Kyle Petrie Stirling BC Youth A 04:55

1 Lewis Champion Perth United CC Youth B 04:54
2 Harry Johnston Lomond Roads/Dales Cycles Youth B 04:59
3 Elena Melton Cairngorm CC/ Mikes Bikes Youth B 06:30
4 Aidan Kerr Ayr Roads CC Youth B 13:52

Tags: , , ,