Report: Surrey League Ottershaw Series 2 (Twickenham CC)

Road report – Richard Prebble wins the second round of the Ottershaw Series organised by Doug Collins

Another brilliant Autumn day and an excellent entry. The 6 km Accommodation Road Circuit was used over 15 laps, with 2 climbs per lap with Martin Smith and Jake Edwards were among the early puncture victims. The nature of the circuit provided an attacking race with Paul Holdsworth, Adam Cotterill, Alex Highams and Ashley Holding moving off the front with last year’s overall winner Lewis Atkins having to dig deep to close the gap.

It didn’t stick however and they were all brought back and the group was altogether. However, with l5 km to go, noted time trialist Richard Prebble attacked and several riders managed to get across to his wheel but after 5 km he found himself alone. His beautiful, fluid style was a joy to watch and although his lead was reduced in the run in to the finish he held on finished alone for a brilliant win. John Verness lead the peloton in for second place, ten seconds adrift of Prebble.

1. Richard Prebble Motor Point pro Cycling 95 km in 2 hours 24 mins
2 John Verness Handsling @ 10 secs
3. Jason White Cycle Premier
4. Adam Cotterill Wyndymilla
5. Alan Rider Team Cycle Kingdom
6. Lewis Atkins Twenty 3 Obrea
7. Peter Cole Handsling
8. Stuart Harvey i tEAM c.c.
9. Ashley Holding GB MSTINA
10. David Morrell London Phoenix C.C.
11. Paul Edwards Carbon sports
12. Peter Wager Felt Colborne R.T.
13. Mike Cripps Army C.C.
14. Paul Holdsworth Hounslow & District Wheelers
15. Gabriel Martinez V.C. MEUDON
16. Lubomir Belak Welwyn Wheellers
17. Simon Henley Team Corley Cyckles
18. Iain Palmer Twickenham C.C.
19. Graham Hills In Gear C.C.
20. Andrew Mazewski Kingston Wheelers

1. Adam Cotterill 5 points
2. Lewis Atkins 8 points
3. Ashley Holding 14 points
4. Peter Cole 17 points
5. Giorgious Crouch 34 points
6. Gabriel Martinez 37 points
7. Graham Hills 38 points

Tags: , ,