Report: Notts & Derby Cyclo-Cross League

After 8 succesive dry events, many with bright sunshine, the Notts and Derby 2011 League finally had muddy and slippery race at the notorious Sinfin Moor event organised by Derby Mercury RC. Current League leader, Andrew Naylor of Ashfield mastered the conditions to achieve a fine win over his rivals for the League championship.

Andrew Stuart, currently 2nd in the League failed to finish after his rear mech was ripped off with half a lap to go with 3rd or 4th league place likely.

Photos: Ray Stuart

The winner Andy Naylor (above) sent us this report … After the start, the leading group formed with all the favourites there plus road pro Steve Lampier (Sigma Sport/Specialized) and Matt Barrett (Cycle Shack/Forme). Chris Metcalfe attacked and got a 10 second lead with myself and Steve Lampier chasing.

A group containing the other league contenders was not far behind, but were loosing ground. Chris Metcalfe maintained his lead until the last lap when myself and Lampier started to reduce the gap. Chris then crashed on a slippery off camber corner and Steve Lampier immediately attacked. I went with him and then attacked him on a short steep climb which he was running but I was riding. Once I had the gap, I kept the pressure on until the finish, not taking any risks on the corners which were getting quite slick by the end of the race.

“I was really happy with the win. It’s been five years since I won a Notts & Derby and after a few years not focussing on racing, it’s good to be back.  The conditions really suited me, the mud and slippery corners made it quite challenging but I like when it’s like that.”

“I’ve been slowly building up as the season has progressed so hopefully now I’m hitting some form at the right time.  As far as the league goes, I’d obviously love to win the title but it’s so tight this year who knows what’s going to happen. The racing has been incredibly close and there are probably five or six of us who are still in with a good chance.”

“I’ve managed to score maximum points in the last two rounds, I can’t do more than that!  It’s the most competitive league competition I can remember, and its great to be part of it. It was also a double win this weekend as my wife Sarah Naylor (also Ashfield RC) reigning women’s league champion, was first woman, coming 50th overall.

Under 9
1. Ben Chilton
2. Alex Coleston-Shiels
3. Josh Gibbens
4. Matthew Luscombe
5. Lance Ash
6. Libby Smith
7. Lucas Wolf-Pudney
8. Elizabeth Webster
9. Lotta Mansfield
10. Fred Shenton

Under 12
1. John Webster
2. James Swadling
3. Tom Dusseik
4. Oliver Snodden
5. Rueben Orr
6. Emile Alexander
7. George Swindell
8. James Luscombe
9. Ethan Wilmot
10. Tim Eusmope

1. Tom Weeds
2. Oliver Arnoux
3. William Gascoyne (U14)
4. Alex Thorn
5. Will Perrett
6. Josh Waters (U14)
7. Callum McBrearety
8. Adam Webster
9. Ollie Peckover (U14)
10. Gabriel Bird
First Girl: Hannah Blount
First U14 Girl: Isabell Boon

1. Andrew Naylor
2. Steve Lampier
3. Chris Metcalf
4. Lee Shunburne
5. Gareth Whitnall
6. Matt Barrett
7. Lawrence Frost (U23)
8. Rob Parkin
9. James Thompson
10. Adam Bigg

Veteran 50+: Pete Harris (14th)
Veteran 40+: Jonathan Marhsall (17th)
Junior: Alistair Parker
Woman: Sarah Naylor

Tags: , ,