Report/Photos: Imperial Winter Series Round 5

Report, Pictures and results from round 5 of the Imperial Winter Series at Hillingdon in West London

Photo album by Guy Swarbrick

More Photos from Guy Swarbrick

Words by Richard Collins, Imperial Racing Team … An un-seasonally mild 13 degrees C met a diminished field of competitors for the Boxing Day races; it did, however, feel a little more relaxed than previous weeks.

Twenty riders started the 4th cat race which, in the closing stages, was animated by Phil Sowton (WyndyMilla) – he took off solo, made a good gap and looked strong enough to stay away – sadly though he finally ran out of steam on the last lap. Jono Adams (London Dynamo) took the bunch sprint from Darren Gardner (Cadence) and Neil McCann (VC Elan). Andrew Deans (London Dynamo) wins the random prize of the WyndyMilla bike fit.

The Ladies race saw a slightly disappointing field of 8 riders line up and although it started promisingly it fizzled out until the last lap – perhaps as a result of the size of the group? However, the final run in was exciting with Lydia Boylan (Look Mum No Hands!) winning from Keria McVitty (Kings Cliffe Flyers)and Kimberley English (Welwyn Wheelers) (ably supported by photographer Mum Pauline).

A slightly bigger entry for the 3rd cats saw 4 riders – Nick Baker (Zappis), Dominic Clegg (Redhill CC), Werner van der Merwe (MarathonMTB) and Vaughan Luff – forged an early lead and with all of them working well they eventually lapped the main group with a few minutes to go. Rune Sanbeck Nilsson (London Dynamo) wins the random prize of the MaxiFuel pack.

All the main contenders lined up for the E123 race and were clearly focused from the start. Rory Townsend (Prestige VC) (with most of his family supporting – no pressure!) and Conall Yates (InGear Quickvit) took off and made 40 seconds quite quickly. Under pressure, the main group split into three with the chasing group comprising Steve Golla (High Wycombe), Pete Wager (Felt-Colbornes), Henry Furniss (WyndyMilla), Jamie Pine (London Dynamo), Arjan Planting (Dulwich Paragon), Phil Holloway (Southend Wheelers), Max Stedman (Palmer Park) and newcomer Nicholas Beale (Beeline Bikes).

With their lead diminishing the two leaders sat up and the two groups merged. This group surged and then eased up with several riders clearly thinking of the overall and others out for individual glory. The second group looked at times to be closing but eventually detonated under the pressure. On the last lap Conall Yates leapt away for a long one but on the run in Jamie Pine catapulted himself to an unassailable lead, just too strong for the rest. Conall held on for second followed by a close knit group of Arjan Planting, Pete Wager, Rory Townsend and Steve Golla.

The series is now taking shape with the protagonists eyeing the points and overall glory.

NEXT: Race 6 – New Years Eve 31st December – 4th Cat 11:00 – 3rd & Women only 12:00 – E123 13:15

Cats:E/1/2/3 Race
1st Jamie Pine London Dynamo
2nd Conall Yates InGear Quickvit RT
3rd Arjan Planting Dulwhich Paragon
4th Pete Wager Felt-Colbornes RT
5th Rory Townsend Prestige VC
6th Steve Golla High Wycombe
7th Phil Holloway southend wheelers
8th Nicholas Beale Beeline Bikes RT
9th Henry Furniss WyndyMilla/MaxiFuel
10th Andrew Ghagan WyndyMilla
11th Stuart Harvey Ultimate Fitness
12th Matthew Carden Team Quest
13th Rupert Beale Beeline Bikes RT
14th Maximilian Stedman Palmer Park Velo
15th Bill Butterworth Twickenham CC
16th Geoff Powell High Wycombe CC
17th Tom Neale Spalding CC

3rd Cats
1st Nicholas Baker Zappi’s CC
2nd Dominic Clegg Redhill CC
3rd Werner van der Merwe
4th Vaughan Luff Team De Ver / Neovite
5th Jake Norman WyndyMilla
6th Ajelo Ghristides unattached
7th Jacek Reder unattached
8th Alex Toghill Twickenham CC
9th Mark Northover The Cycle Studio
10th Tim Benham Wyndy Milla
11th Stephen Morrell Aylesbury CC
12th Edmond Irwin london fire brigade CC
13th Ralph Keeler Cambridge CC
14th Neil Webb unattached
15th Jez McCann VC Elan
16th Leigh-Roy Macfarlane Cycleworks
17th Lubomir Belak Team Welwyn
18th Mark Lawn Inverse Racing / Cyclaim
19th Rune Sanbeck Nilsson London Dynamo
20th Aaron Tayler swindon rc
21st Callum Oliver Rapha Condor CC
22nd Taimur Tanwir London Dynamo
23rd Carsten Duke London Dynamo
24th Mark O’Brien Archer RC
25th Steven Cottington Cadence RT
26th Iain Cade Cadence RT

Women E/1/2/3/4
1st Lydia Boylan Look Mum No Hands!
2nd Keria McVitty Kings Cliffe Flyers
3rd Kimberley English welwyn wheelers
4th Emily Bagnall Wyndy Milla
5th Jacky Gibbens London Dynamo
6th Lydia Rodney Kingston Wheelers
7th Katie Metalli Bristol Cycling development Squad
8th Sally Stubbs Imperial Racing Team

4th Cats
1st Jono Adams London Dynamo
2nd Darren Gardner Cadence
3rd Neil Mccann VC Elan
4th Will Humphris Dulwhich
5th Michael Vance Dulwich Paragon
6th Andrew Macey Ashford Wheelers
7th Gavin Francis London Dynamo
8th Russell Jones Team Matador
9th Alan Nixon Amersham
10th Mo Mansoori Twickenham CC
11th Jon Train None
12th Andrew Deans london dynamo
13th Paul Banner Kingston Wheelers cc
14th Daniel Justin Dulwich Paragon CC
15th Phil Sowton Wyndymilla
16th David B London Dynamo
17th Jogenes Senorin Private member
18th Andrew Wright La Fuga/Sigmasport
19th Jan Marzec London Dynamo

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results

Tags: ,