Result: Bialoblocki wins Severn Bridge

First big victory for Node 4 as Bialoblocki solos to victory at Severn Bridge

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Graham Robins ( writes… Polish rider Marcin Bialoblocki has added his name again to the roll of honour for this Southern classic held near Bristol. The Node 4 rider soloed to a stylish victory, winning by over a minute from Matt Jones from Corley Cycles.

The morning of the race was very wet and also cold, conditions the riders and spectators (as well as photographers) had to endure throughout most of the race. The riders face ten laps over a rolling course with a long climb at the end of each lap and prime on top of the hill just to hurry the riders up even more.

Seventy four riders rolled away from the HQ on the first of the ten laps with the rain now at its heaviest it had been. The first rider to show on Old Down Hill was Conor Ryan (Performance Cycles- CMI) but he was soon to crash and went from first to last on the road.

Team Raleigh were putting on the pressure at the front for the first couple of laps before a group of ten riders started to appear just off the front of the race. By lap two, there gap over the chasers was 15 seconds and it was looking over for the riders who had not made the group. Those who had included Marcin Bialoblocki, Phillip Lavery (Node 4 Giordana), Jamie Sparling (Raleigh), Colin Parry (Wilier/Live2ride), Tom Stockdale (Primal Europe/, Robert Smail (Team Wallis CHH), Toby Eichler (Wilier/ live2ride), Paul Derrick (Strada Cycles), Dale Appleby (Metaltek-Scott) and Matt Jones (Team Corley Cycles).

With the front of the race now settled, it was only going to be who would win and by how much. As the laps ticked down, the leaders extended their lead lap on lap. On lap four, the gap was now 2 minutes 30 seconds although the remainder of the bunch was now back together and organised, but the damage had already been done.

The next three laps saw the gap open up to over five minutes and it was lap seven which saw the first and decisive attack from the leaders. Marcin was the first through the prime, going clear over the top of the climb and as the road turned right towards the finish area, he was away and soon started to open up the gap he needed. The remainder of the leading bunch was now beginning to show signs of fatigue and starting to split although Colin Parry still had some zest for a chase and was having a good go at 10 seconds.

With two laps to go, Marcin had extended his lead to 45 secs with the nine chasers spread out all over the hill, with once again Colin Parry the closest rider to the leader. At the bell, Marcin had 45 seconds to Colin, Tom Stockdale and Matthew Jones were at 1min 25secs, Jamie Sparling was at 2 minutes 40secs and Toby Eichler at 6 minutes.

At the finish, Marcin was over a minute clear of the second placed rider, Matt Jones and had plenty of time to celebrate a stylish victory. The King of the mountain competition was won by Phillip Lavery (Node4 Giordana Racing) who won five of the nine primes.

More photos ( )

All photos


1 Marcin Bialoblocki E NODE4 Giordana Racing
2 Matthew Jones E U23 Team Corley Cycles  @1.05
3 James Sparling E Team Raleigh – GAC
4 Colin Parry E L Wilier/Live2ride
5 Dale Appleby E Metaltek-Scott
6 Robert Smail E Team Wallis CHH @ 1.07
7 Tom Stockdale 1 U23 Primal Europe/
8 Tobyn Horton E Team Raleigh – GAC @4.40
9 Toby Eichler 1 L Wilier/Live2ride @5.05
10 David Clarke E NODE4 Giordana Racing @7.05
11 Pete Vincent 1 Mid Devon CC @7.15
12 Todd Hotchkiss 1 U23 Performance Cycles – CMI @8.34
13 Tom Stewart 1 U23 RST Racing Team @8.45
14 Andrew Griffiths E Team IG – Sgma Sport
15 Tommy Bustard 1 U23 Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
16 Alexander King 1 U23 Loughborough Students CC
17 Michael Smith 1 Team Corley Cycles
18 Liam Holohan E Team Raleigh – GAC
19 Gruff Lewis 1 Team UK Youth Pro Cycllng
20 Adam Bright E Primal Europe/
21 Jake Hales E U23 Team IG – Sigma Sport
22 James Millard 1 Team Corley Cycles
23 Matt Sumpton 1 U23 RST Racing Team
24 Philip Lavery IRL U23 NODE4 Giordana Racing
25 Rupert Denny 2 U23 GWR Team/Swindon Cycles/Kalas
26 George Moore E U23 CyclePremier Racing Team
27 Matt Higgins E NODE4 Giordana Racing
28 Declan Byrne 1 U23 CyclePremier Racing Team
29 Unknown rider in black
30 Mark Perry 2 L Wilier/Live2ride
31 Brennan Townshend 1 U23 Team Raleigh – GAC
32 Jack Waller 1 U23 Team Wallis CHH
33 Kieran Frend 1 U23 NODE4 Giordana Racing
34 Tom Smith E Felt-Colbornes RT
35 Ashley Cox E Team Corley Cycles
36 Dan Storey 1 U23 RST Racing Team
37 Ash Martin 2 J Cadence Cannondale RT
38 James Cartridge 2 Cadence Cannondale RT
39 Phil Borrett 1 Primal Europe/
40 Jamie Pine 1 London Dynamo
41 James Gray 2 U23 L VC St Raphael
42 Unknown rider in black/white
43 Wayne Coombs 1 Primal Europe/
44 Simon Gaywood E Team IG – Sigma Sport
45 Paul Derrick 2 L Strada Cycles
46 Steve Thomas 2 L Bristol RC
47 Jon Pain 1
48 Will Bjergfelt E L Wilier/Live2ride
49 Oliver Beckingsale E L Endura
50 Unknown rider in blue/white
51 Dan Pearson 2 U23 Wilier/Live2ride
52 Scot Easter 2 L Felt-Colbornes RT
53 John Crellin 1 Team Wallis CHH


K.O.M Winner: Philip Lavery (NODE4 Giordana Racing)

Team Prize: Team Raleigh – GAC

Best Local Rider: Colin Parry (Wilier/Live2ride)

Best U23 Rider: Matt Jones (Team Corley Cycles)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,