Report: Wansbeck Australian Pursuit

Win for Tom Murray of IG-SigmaSport as sprints to victory at the end of a 45 mile road race in Northumberland.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

After a 1-2 in the Peter Young Memorial, Tom Murray of IG-Sigma Sport made it two wins for his team after he outsprinted Dan Smith of Velo29 in the Wansbeck CC promotion. The two broke clear of the rest ten miles from home and held off the chasers where Murray opened his account for the season.

The race is a handicap event and it was around half distance when the strong scratch group with a lot of Velo29 riders made it up to the front of the race. The front group was soon down to twelve riders and Murray got in a move with two Kipling brothers, Matt and Richard, but that was brought back.

He then got into another break with Dan Smith and they stayed clear to the end where Murray gapped Smith on the climb up to the finish and opened his account for 2012 in a little competition he has with training partner Peter Williams who won his third CDNW event on the trott today.


1 Tom Murray IG-Sigmasport 1 hour and 54 mins 10 secs.

at 5secs
2 Daniel Smith Velo 29-OTR Vankru

at 25 secs
3 Richard Kipling MTS Cyclesport
4 Chris Mark Velo 29 -OTR Vankru
5 Colin Humphries Sports Cover
6 Andrew Beattie Infinity Cycles
7 James Alder VC Briganti
8 Jack Rees Velo 29 -OTR Vankru
9 Matt Kipling Velo 29 -OTR Vankru
10 Alex Bottomley Velo 29 -OTR Vankru
11 Russell Bayliss GS Metro
12 Josh Teasdale Team Jewson
13 William Brown
14 Paul Kirby Cestria Cycles RT
15 Thomas Timothy Velo 29 -OTR Vankru

at 1 min 25 secs
16 Craig Anderson
17 Alan Nixon
18 Alex Hopper Velo 29 Cycling Team
19 Craig Berry Unattached
20 Martin Hopkinson Fietson Tempo
21 Carl Donaldson Breeze Bikes CC
22 Ben Lane GS Metro
23 Graeme Huston GS Metro
24 Michael Sloanes Sunderland Clarion
25 Liam Armstrong VC Briganti
26 Richard Jones Bikescience
27 Mike Bell Fietson Tempo
28 Martin Gibson Adept Precision RT
29 Steven Fullerton Darlington CC

at 4 mins
30 Martin Axon Velo 29 Cycling Team
31 Neil Baxter
32 Rob Wheeler
33 Charles Monchatre Sunderland Clarion
34 Philip Kennell Gosforth RC
35 David Goodwin unattached
36 Chris Constanti Gosforth RC
37 David Ranson unattached
38 Paul Hague Gosforth RC
39 Mick Aspey NPCC
40 Keith Sibbald unattached
41 Tony Rees Adept Precision RT
42 Christopher Ranson unattached
43 Harry Armstrong Berwick Wheelers
44 Craig Berry Unattached
45 Paul Cottrell Sunderland Clarion
46 Jason Shipton Moonglu RT
47 Michael Guymer Velo 29 Cycling Team
48 Taylor Cardos Velo 29 Cycling Team
49 Kyle Watt Tyneside Vags
50 Mathew France Sunderland Clarion




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,