Result/Report: SACA Salt Ayre Spring Series #3

Sprint train nets Melissa Bury the win in the Women’s while Matt Cronshaw cleaned up, again, in the Men’s race (Sat, March 24).

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Women’s Race – Maxgear Wins the third round of Salt Ayre

Nicola Soden of Maxgear writes … The third round of Salt Ayre this weekend (and our teams first) was welcomed with baking sun – perfect weather to start our cycling tans!

We all warmed up together on the rollers – Mel’s Garmin said it was 26 degrees (although it was only really about 18) as we listened to the team talk from manager Ian. The previous week at Tameside hadn’t been too successful, as due to some schoolgirl errors and lack of effective team work, we had let the two Dirt Wheeler girls get away. It wasn’t going to happen this time.

We all rolled up to the start line and from the off controlled the race from the front, making and covering most of the moves in the race. The team worked really well together with all riders nipping off the front. No breaks got away and with 5 laps to go it was clear it was going to come down to a bunch sprint.

The final few laps were fairly slow with most of the riders looking at each other, waiting for each other to attack. We organised ourselves into a lead-out train with Melissa (who had come third the previous week at Tameside) at the end, ready for the sprint. With one to go, Eve went for the sprint, totally committing to the lead out, followed by Lauren. Out of the final bend Melissa catapulted herself from Laurens wheel to take the victory by a clear few bike lengths!

After doing a few of the season starter crits, we think that they are a great way to encourage new female riders into the sport in a welcoming environment and we hope that there can be more of these going forward.

Some pictures were taken at

Womens race sponsored by Mr B. Wiggins.
1. Melissa Bury – Maxgear
2. Louise Borthwick – Edinburgh RC
3. Gabrilla Shaw – All Terrain Cycles
4. Zoe Armstrong – Scott Contessa
5. Cath Wiggins – Liverpool Mercury
6. Claire Rutherford – Inverse
7. Nicola Butler – Inverse
8. Joanne Blakeley – Seamons
9. Amy Gornall – Cycle Sport Pendle
10. Charlotte Newton – H.Middleton
21 riders in total.

Mens Race sponsored by Wallis Cycles
1 Matt Cronshaw – Node 4 Giordana
2 Kieran Banlin –
3 Simon Wilson – Metaltek Scott
4 Scot Easter – Felt Colbornes
5 Sam Jackson –
6 Dillon Byrne –
7 Martin Lonie – Dooleys Cycles
8 James Dunlop – Biketreks RT
9 Jack Pullar – Wheelbase
10 James Gullen – Metaltek Scott

26 riders in total.

Thanks to our sponsors, commisaires and helpers on the day. Salt Ayre Spring Series 4 and final on 31st March includes a round of the BC para-cycling circuit series.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,