Kieran Frend winning for Node 4 at Penny Pot

Node 4 Giodana rider, Kieran Frend, who has returned from France to race in Britain, rode to an impressive victory in the Dirt Wheels Spring Classic on the Penny Pot circuit north of Harrogate.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Frend, who also claimed the victory at Darley Moor on Saturday, was in all the moves until he eventually broke clear with RST Trigon Bikes Rider Matt Sumpton with two laps to go. Sensing that the bunch would catch the duo, the Node 4 Giodana rider attacked on Penny Pot Lane and rode solo for three quarters of a lap to win by just over a minute from Sumpton who too kept clear from the chasing bunch.

Local rider Tom Barras claimed 3rd place much to the delight of Dad, Sid who was there supporting the Metaltek Scott rider. The remaining riders came over the line in small groups as the circuit made for some tough racing.

The 3/4 Regional B race saw Roy Sumner of Port Sun Light Wheelers CC going solo for 2 laps but was unfortunately caught by the bunch. The final climb saw Sheffrec CC rider James Allen ride clear of the bunch to claim the win. David Morris, Harrogate Nova CC and Simon Maudsley of RVO Racing rounded off the top 3.

E/1/2/3 result
1 Kieran Frend Node 4 Giodana
2 Matt Sumpton RST Trigon @ 1:01
3 Tom Barras Metaltek Scott @ 1:32
4 Gunnar Gronlund RST Trigon Bikes
5 Jamie Caldwell Cycle Premier – Kovert
6 Matt Higgins Node 4 Giodana
7 James Sampson Node 4 Giodana
8 Adam Duggleby Sportscover Altura RT
9 Colin Humphrey Sportscover Altura RT @ 1:45
10 Jamie Shirlow Herbalife Leisure Lakes @ 2:59
11 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels RT
12 Matthew Robinson All Terrain Cycles
13 Rob Sharman Sportscover Altura RT
14 John Tanner Sportscover Altura RT
15 Karl Denton
16 Jamie Burgan Langsett Cycles
17 Joes Moses Sportscover Altura RT
18 Daniel Storey RST Trigon
19 Ashley Brown Sportscover Altura RT
20 Jack Cutsforth Herbalife Leisure Lakes @ 4:07

3/4 result

1 James Allen Sheffrec CC
2 David Morris Harrogate Nova CC
3 Simon Maudsley RVO Racing
4 Will Staveley Ferry Hill Wheelers CC
5 Adrian Rudd JD Cycles
6 Paul Bennett Team Hope Factory Racing
7 Richard Binks Clay Cross RT
8 Darren Bendelow Clifton CC
9 James Rushton Aire Valley Cycles
10 Phillip Turton Yorkshire RC

Courtesy of BC Yorkshire League
RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,