Report: East Dorset Cycling Association 24

Gary Dighton (Poole Wheelers) confirmed his early season club form with a clear victory in the EDCA 24 mile time trial.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Despite the bright sunshine, a chilly northerly breeze was a constant reminder that it was still early spring. Adam Topham’s course record 52.47 from last year was never under threat but take nothing away from Dighton; he looked very strong on the rolling circuit north of Wimborne Minster.

Simon Berogna, (VC ST Raphael/Waites Contracts) off number 10, had set the early pace. Berogna had caught and passed those ahead of him and was first on the road, along the historic Beech Avenue near Kingston Lacy. Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) held off the challenge from Dave Dent (Wightlink/Offshore) to claim 3rd.

Dighton was all smiles as he packed his bike away at the HQ. “I am pleased with that, I am 30 seconds faster than last year” The smile grew even bigger as daughter Emily came over with tea & cake and confirmed “You won the race daddy”.

Brought to you by

Pictures from this event: 

1 Gary Dighton Poole Wheelers V 54.17
2 Simon Berogna VC ST Raphael S 54.59
3 Dave Pickering Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 55.25
4 Dave Dent Wightlink/Offshore V 55.44
5 Patrick Dunn CC Weymouth S 55.52
6 Terry Icke Poole Wheelers V 56.10
7 Paul Jones Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 56.42
8 Sean Williams Wightlink/Offshore V 57.22
9 Martin Piper Wightlink/Offshore V 58.11
10 Vincent Hounsome Gillingham & Dist Wheelers V 58.43
11 Cliff Rowe Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 59.29
12 John Chapman CC Weymouth V 1.00.20
13 Darren Lewis Poole Wheelers V 1.00.26
14 James Chant Gillingham & Dist Wheelers V 1.00.29
15 Gary Tuskin Poole Wheelers V 1.00.36
16 Jonathan W-Lockyer Team Tor 2000 V 1.00.56
17 Stuart Peckham New Forest CC V 1.02.21
18 Paul Stockley Wessex Road Club S 1.02.59
19 Phillip Evans Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 1.03.32
20 William Simmons Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 1.04.34
21 Terry Belbin Poole Wheelers V 1.06.36
22 Phil Harvey Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 1.08.38
23 Jane Pritchard Gillingham & Dist Wheelers LV 1.09.08
24 Don Tanner Gillingham & Dist Wheelers V 1.10.18
25 Sarah Woods Wightlink/Offshore LV 1.11.16
26 Jonathon Charman Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers V 1.13.23
27 Judith Martin Poole Wheelers LV 1.16.52
28 Bob Jolliffe New Forest CC V 1.18.08
29 Brian Wakley Wessex Road Club V 1.28.20
Simon Craig-Mcfeely VC ST Raphael V dns
Colin Crocker Sotonia CC V dns
Jack Brown A3 CRG/SIS V dns
RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,