Report: Ciclos Uno LVRC Hog Hill Spring Series

The third event in the Ciclos Uno Spring Criterium Series was held at the Redbridge Cycling Centre on Sunday 1st April and there were a total of 47 riders on the start line for the two age related races.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The first race for Categories A/B/C/D (40-59yrs) was run over 1 hour plus five laps of the lower circuit and attracted 34 riders. The main move came after 30 minutes of racing when Lee Desborough (St Ives) and David Farrow (Eagle) broke clear from the main bunch and soon built up a significant lead.

After forty five minutes of racing a group of seven riders left the main bunch and made an attempt to pull the leaders back. Their attempt failed and in the final laps the two leaders powered on and lapped the remains of the bunch with the chasers two minutes behind at the finish. Lee Desborough took the honours outsprinting David Farrow and Darren Cainey (ELV) won the sprint of the chasing group to take third place.

In the Categories E/F/G/H (60yrs plus) race run over one hour and three laps there were 13 starters. After twenty minutes of racing Richard Marriot (Verulam) a ‘B’ category rider competing out of category together with former Veteran World Champion Tony Woodcock (Kingsnorth) now a category ‘G’ rider and making a return to racing after a broken collar bone broke clear from the bunch and stayed away for the remainder of the race. At the finish Tony Woodcock won the sprint from Richard Marriot with Colin Mannakee (Glendene) winning the bunch sprint to take third place.

Categories A,B,C&D Overall
1st Lee Desborough St Ives C.C. A
2nd David Farrrow Eagle R.C. A

Chasing Group
3rd Darren Cainey East London Velo B
4th Ian Wilson Finchley R.T. A
5th Matt Gallagher Crest C.C. A
6th Peter Alden Victoria/Ciclos Uno B
7th Simon Hewins Eagle R.C. C
8th Chris Bully Shaftesbury C.C. A
9th Barry Neal Ciclos Uno B

Bunch & lapped riders
10th Damien Foy Eagle R.C. B
11th Kieran Dineen Amersham B
12th Martin Meades Ciclos Uno B
13th Adrian Crothall G.S.Avanti A
14th Trevor Whittock Lea Valley C.C. C
15th Adam Norris Crest C.C. C
16th Carlito Rendora Eagle R.C. C
17th Graham Pearl Southend Wheelers C
18th John Williams Willesden C.C. A
19th Craig Stevens Ciclos Uno C
20th Mark Simmonds Kingsnorth Int. B
21st Phil Whitehorn Crest C.C. D
22nd Steve Mahon MBR035 (?) B
23rd Russell Tribley Chelmer C.C. C
24th Sean Wright Shaftesbury C.C. B
25th Mike Savage Crest C.C. D
26th Simon Bateson East London Velo A
27th Andy Boyal North Road C.C. C
28th Bill Fitzgerald G.S.Avanti A
Primes: Trevor Whittock (2) Lee Desborough Matt Gallagher

Category ‘A’
1st Lee Desborough
2nd David Farrow
3rd Ian Wilson

Category ‘B’
1st Darren Cainey
2nd Peter Alden
3rd Barry Neal

Category ‘C’
1st Simon Hewins
2nd Trevor Whittock
3rd Adam Norris

Category ‘D’
1st Phil Whitehorn
2nd Mike Savage
Categories E,F,G & H Overall
1st Tony Woodcock Kingsnorth Int. G
2nd Richard Marriot Verulam C.C. O.O.C.
3rd Colin Mannakee Glendene C.C. F
4th Richard Fraczek Essex Roads C.C. E
5th Ollie McPherson 4T+ V.C. E
6th Phil Stone Thornton E
7th Dave Smith G.S. Avanti F
8th Ken Beecham V.C.Elan F
9th Bob Graves G.S.Avanti E
10th Arnie Russell Ciclos Uno H
11th Ken Evans Ciclos Uno G

Primes: Colin Mannakee Tony Woodcock Ken Beecham

Category ‘E’
1st Richard Fraczek
2nd Ollie McPherson
3rd Phil Stone

Category ‘F’
1st Colin Mannakee
2nd Dave Smith
3rd Ken Beecham

Category ‘G’
1st Tony Woodcock
2nd Ken Evans

Category ‘H’
1st Arnie Russell
The next event in the series will be held on Sunday 8th April starting at 10.00 a.m. The event scheduled for the 15 April has been cancelled. The final event in the series will be held on Sunday 22 April.
Fred Little


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,