Report: Saturday Surrey League Races

Wins for Steven Richards & Elliott Porter in the CC Basingstoke events on a testing course – Saturday 7th April

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report & Photos: Graham Robins  | Photos: Mark Hopkins 

Today’s races were on the same course and both promoted by CC Basingstoke on a testing circuit with a steep climb on each lap for the riders to get over produced some great racing. The first race in the morning was for 3rd cats and was six and three quarters laps and a total of 60 miles. The road was damp and the early laps were quite slippery until the sun came out to dry the surface.

Soon after the start, two riders Stuart Fahey (Brighton Mitre) and Tom Crouch High (Wycombe) pulled out a lead on the first complete lap of one minute which they increased to one minute thirty seconds by lap two.

The riders from Kingston Wheelers were trying to pull the race back but before the start of lap four the lead had increased to one minute fifty seconds.

With one lap to go the two leaders had a gap of one minute but their efforts came to nothing as with a couple of miles to go just before the last climb the leaders were caught.

Provisional Result
1 Steven Richards Private member
2 Mike Lancaster VC Meudon @st
3 Rob Kirk Kingston Wheelers @5secs
4 Damien Breen Kingston Wheelers
5 Geoff Lulham Bike Lab
6 Rob Sharland Kingston Wheelers
7 Jordan Wade VC St Raphael
8 Mark Smith Crawley Wheelers
9 Gavin Francis London Dynamo
10 Gavin Starling Brighton Mitre

Race 2
After lunch it was the turn of the 2nd and 3rd cat riders to ride the same course, but this time they were to complete eight and three quarter laps a total of 70 miles. The road surface was now dry and although there was a small shower it remained dry.

Once the race got underway two riders Ben Jacobs (London Dynamo) and Dan Gillow (Charlotteville) got away from the front of the bunch and they stayed away only for a lap before slipping back to the bunch. On the third lap three riders Dan, Richard Horton (Team Primera-Specialized) and Ben now came to the front and set about putting 20secs on the bunch.

Once again these three were collected up by the bunch and next time round two different riders Ben and Richard Cartridge (Cadence Cannondale) were on the front. These two seemed to have picked the right point to attack as they soon had a gap of 30secs and seemed to be holding it.

On lap six the two leaders now had a gap of 20secs and Ben was struggling over the climb, but these two had a gap of 35secs to the bunch. The speed now increased in the bunch and by the end of the seventh lap the race was all back together again. Through the finish line and the bunch were strung out and on the back of the course several riders try to get away but each stack comes to nothing as the bunch arrive at the bottom of the climb together.

The first over the climb is Elliott Porter (Team Corridori), and he manages in the last couple of hundred meters to stay ahead of a charging Harry Littlechild (London Dynamo).

Provisional Result
1 Elliott Porter Team Corridori
2 Harry Littlechild London Dynamo
3 Warren Jesse VC Meudon
4 Paul Edward Carbon Sports
5 Darren Peachey Addiscombe CC
6 Simon Hawley Team Corley
7 Stuart Harvey I-Team CC
8 Rory Townsend Prestige VC
9 Stuart Adair Redhill CC
10 Dean Corney VC Meudon


3rds – 60 miles
1 Steven Richards Private Member 3
2 Mike Lancaster VC Meudon 3
3 Robin Kirk Kingston Wheelers 3
4 Damien Breen Kingston Wheelers 3
5 Geoffrey Lulham Bikelab 3
6 Rob Sharland Kingston Wheelers 3
7 Jordan Wade VC St Raphael 3J
8 Mark Smith Crawley Wheelers 3
9 Gavin Francis London Dynamo 3V
10 Gavin Starling Brighton Mitre 3V
11 Phillip Jemmison Redhill CC 3
12 Oliver Gin Redhill CC 3
13 Oli Pepper The Kinesis Morvelo Project 3
14 Nigel Langridge Crawley Wheelers 3V
15 Jamie Francis London Dynamo 3J
16 Alex Ioannides Dulwich Paragon CC 3
17 Andrew Snowball VC de Londres 3
18 Andrew O’Connor London Dynamo 3
19 Andy Lack Kingston Wheelers 3V
20 Ian Leeding Norwood Paragon CC 3V
21 James Graham VC Meudon 3
22 Alexander Bastin London Dynamo 3V
23 Mark Hopkins East London Velo 3
24 Jonathan Marchini Beeline RT 3
25 Russell Scott VC Meudon 3V
26 Tristin Hinz Dulwich Paragon CC 3
27 Colin Gunn Kingston Wheelers 3
28 George Thomas Crawley Wheelers 3
29 Stuart Fahey Brighton Mitre 3V
30 Thomas McLaren East London Velo 3
31 Duncan Schwier Twickenham CC 3V
32 Andrew Carter Portsmouth North End 3
33 Gawain Young 3
34 Will Slack London Dynamo 3V
35 Tom Crouch High Wycombe CC 3
36 Howard Radcliffe 3V
37 Chris Batch Norwood Paragon CC 3V
38 Richard Simmons VC Meudon 3V
39 Paul Horta Handsling Racing 3V
40 Russell Short London Dynamo 3
41 Richard Hemsley Crawley Wheelers 3


2/3 – 76 miles
1 Elliott Porter Team Corridori 2
2 Harry Littlechild London Dynamo 2
3 Warren Jesse Private Member 3
4 Paul Edwards Carbon Sports 2
5 Darren Peachey Addiscombe CC 2
6 Simon Henley Team Corley Cycles 2
7 Jonathan Lewis Charlotteville CC 2V
8 Stuart Harvey 2
9 Stuart Adair Redhill CC 3V
10= Dean Corney VC Meudon 3
10= Matt Conner 2
10= Lawrence Carpenter VO2 Development Team 2
10= Benjamin Hall Bristol Road Club 3
14 Paul Drake 2
15 Richard Horton Bournemouth Jubilee 3
16 Dan Mitchell Redhill CC 3
17 Simon Collins Dulwich Paragon CC 3V
18 Ashley Dennis Prestige Velo Club 3J
19 Rory Townsend Prestige Velo Club 2J
20 Andy Pollintine Dulwich Paragon CC 2V
21 Francis Cade VO2 Development Team 2
22 Andrew Mazewski Kingston Wheelers 2
23 Andrew Keynes VC Meudon 3V
24 Brian Macpherson VC Meudon 2V
25 Andy Edwards Kingston Wheelers 2V
26 Richard Whitehorn Glade CC 3
27 Dan Gillow Charlotteville CC 2
28 Shane Pope Bayeux Cycling Team 2
29 Will Hedden Glade CC 3
30 Lubomir Belak Private Member 3
31 Samuel Humphrey VC St Raphael 2
32 James Local London Dynamo 3
33 Patrick Martin WyndyMilla/UK Youth 2
34 Matthew Franklin Bristol Road Club 3
35 Richard Unwin VC Meudon 2
36 Mike Rudling Private Member 2
37 Alan Strang Dulwich Paragon CC 2
38 Dominic Clegg Redhill CC 2
39 Philip Murrell Finsbury Park CC 2V
40 James Fettiplace London Dynamo 3
41 Oliver Glackin 2
42 Louis Fawke VO2 Development Team 3J
43 Giorgios Crouch VC Meudon 2
44 Kelvin Hatch San Fairy Ann CC 3
45 Christopher Sharrock VC Meudon 3
46 Manuel Ravizza London Dynamo 3
47 Craig Calder Bigfoot CC 2
48 Doug Baldock In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp 3
49 Henry Bird Private Member 3
50 Ben Jacobs London Dynamo 2
51 Tim Allen Bigfoot CC 3
52 Mike Cownley Norwood Paragon CC 2
53 Darren Cainey East London Velo 2V
54 Leigh-Roy MacFarlane 3
RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,