Rapha London Womens Cycle Racing League

Win for Karla Boddy in Round 2 Hillingdon, promoted by Twickenham CC

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Despite the poor conditions on Wednesday 18th April, 31 riders made their way to the Hillingdon circuit for the second round of the Rapha LWCR League.

LookMumNoHands lined up in force and were keen to maintain their lead rider, Lydia Boylan, in the top spot of the league. And not long after the race began the LMNH used their numbers to inject some pace into the race. Riders from LMNH were attacking with purpose but each time the peloton drew them back with some strong work.

Team Mule Bar Girl rider, Lou, made her mark on the race and consistently worked hard to either chase breaks or work within the ones she was but again nothing was sticking for the riders.

The experience and strength of the bunch let no one go, despite at one point it looking like 6 may go; 3 from LMNH, 1 High Wycombe, 1 WyndyMilla and 1 from Wellyn who worked well together but it didn’t quite stretch the elastic of the chasing bunch enough.

Coming into the penultimate lap a crash occurred on the sweeping bend with a few riders being taken out as well as leaving riders to negotiate back round the Masters race who had just passed them. But the ladies managed this well and into the final lap they were clear of the mens race.

Into the final bend with about 220m the sprint began and was led out by HWCC RT rider Karla Boddy who held onto the lead over the line, strongly followed by Lydia Boylan (LMNH) and Elise Sherwell (LMNH). The win was not easy for Karla Boddy who was caught up in the crash with two laps to go, Karla took the long way round and after a ride on the grass around the sweeping bend managed to get back on the track but the bunch had moved away by then. Karla worked to get back on and into the final lap reattached herself and squeezed back down toward the front where she was primed for a good sprint position.


1. Karla Boddy High Wycombe Cycling Club
2. Lydia Boylan Look Mum No Hands
3. Elise Sherwell Look Mum No Hands
4. Abigail Dentus Welwyn Whls CC
5. Louise Mahe Mulebar Girl
6. Dyanne Holland Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT
7. Tessa Pugh London Dynamo
8. Anna Grundy Look Mum No Hands
9. Helen Ralston Pearson Cycling Club
10. Lisa Gunn WyndyMilla UK Youth

Masters C & D
1. Vincent Halpern Handsling Racing
2. Mark Ottaway WyndyMilla UK Youth
3. Jonathan Lewis Charlotteville CC
4. Philip Holloway Southend Wheelers
5. Mark Northover The Cycle Studio RC
6. Marc Freullet Team Quest – The Bike Shop
7. Nicholas Beale Beeline Bicycles RT
8. Robin Parker East Grinstead CC
9. Colin Roshier Team Quest – The Bike Shop
10. John Williams Willesden Cycling Club

Masters E & F
1. Andrew McCombe Cycle Club Basingstoke
2. Mark Field Addiscombe CC
3. Scott Holmes Hillingdon Cycling Club
4. Nigel Stephens Finchley Racing Team
5. Graham Hills In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp Racing Team
6. Robin Osborne London Dynamo Finished
7. Ralph Keeler Cambridge CC Finished
8. Wayne Thomas G.S. Henley Finished
9. Andrew Barnes Hillingdon Cycling Club
10. Malcolm Freeman High Wycombe Cycling Club


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,