Photos & Results – 98th Liege-Bastogne-Liege

Maxim Iglinskiy destroys the favourites with a solo win as Nibali runs out of legs in finale after break.

As ever, it was the final few climbs that provided the fireworks. Vincenzo Nibali was very active and went off alone in search of a classic victory with Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) and Iglinskiy (Astana) giving chase. No-one though wanted, or could play their final cards and Nibali looked to be riding away with the race before the Astana rider Iglinskiy left Rodriguez standing, catching the Italian and leaving him struggling in his wake. On a climb like that nearing seven hours of racing, the game was over for Nibali and Iglinskiy scored his biggest victory in a 1-3 podium for the Astana team.

Photo Album by Thomas van Bracht

[nggallery id=80]

USAGE: Click a photo to display; Use the left & right cursor keys to move between pictures; Click an image to close.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


1. Maxim Iglinskiy Astana Pro Team 06:43:52
2. Vincenzo Nibali Liquigas – Cannondale 00:21
3. Enrico Gasparotto Astana Pro Team 00:36
4. Thomas Voeckler Europcar @ same time
5. Daniel Martin Team Garmin – Barracuda @ same time
6. Bauke Mollema Rabobank Cycling Team @ same time
7. Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez Euskaltel – Euskadi @ same time
8. Michele Scarponi Lampre – ISD @ same time
9. Ryder Hesjedal Team Garmin – Barracuda @ same time
10. Jelle Vanendert Lotto – Belisol Team @ same time
11. Rinaldo Nocentini Ag2R – La Mondiale @ same time
12. Pierre Rolland Europcar @ same time
13. Daniel Moreno Fernandéz Katusha Team @ same time
14. Robert Kiserlovski Astana Pro Team @ same time
15. Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver Katusha Team 01:00
16. Philippe Gilbert BMC Racing Team 01:27
17. Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa Movistar Team 02:11
18. Julien Simon Saur – Sojasun @ same time
19. Simon Gerrans GreenEdge Cycling Team @ same time
20. Lars Petter Nordhaug Sky Procycling @ same time

22. Johnny Hoogerland Vacansoleil – DCM Pro Cycling Team @ same time
23. Frank Schleck RadioShack – Nissan @ same time
24. Oscar Freire Katusha Team @ same time
50. Andy Schleck RadioShack – Nissan @ 5.39
75. Michael Albasini GreenEdge Cycling Team @ 8.54


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes