Result-Photos: Sloan Trophy Road Race

William Haynes wins the Sloan Trophy Road Race at Stamfordham for 2/3/4 category riders in a race over 67 miles

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The 2012 Sloan Trophy was run off in tough showery conditions on wet roads. The riders had to contend with two heavy downpours with hail, but unusually for this course , the wind was not a factor.

After aggressive early racing, a five man break formed  and dominated proceedings. The chasing bunch held them at 90 seconds throughout as the break worked well together. By the bell , the pressure was beginning to tell , and eventually William Haynes of Blackhawk Bikes was able to escape his breakaway companions for a well deserved victory.

Another successful Gosforth Road Club promotion!

Photos from Richard Exley of the Sloan Trophy

1. William Haynes (
2. Mark Perry (Dirtwheels Cycles)
3. James Alder (VC Briganti)
4. Richard Moore (Squadra RT)
5. Craig Anderson (
6. Neil Taylor (Edinburgh RC)
7. Sam Boast (Hope Factory Racing)
8. Karl Denton (
9. Richard Kipling (MTS Cyclesport)
10. Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion)
11. Adam Robertson (
12. Alan Nixon (
13. James King (Mountivation)
14. Russell Bayliss (GS Metro)
15. David Johnson (Adept Precision RT)


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes