Report-Photos: Birmingham Circuit Races

Mike Adams report & pictures … Simon Wilson of Metaltek Scott did the ride of the day to beat not only the atrocious conditions of gale force winds, rain and a wintry 5 degrees but everyone else in the race.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Over the course of the 34 laps, he managed to lap the field on his own not once but twice and still finish alone. The first junction was made after about 12 laps and the second about 10 laps later.

A splinter group had managed to escape from the bunch and they too managed to lap the main field. However unlike Simon who just stormed past when the catch was made they decided to stick with the main group until the closing stages.

Ian Knight, Corley Cycles obviously wasn’t paying attention and did not realise that he had been lapped so when he crossed the line in 2nd place he raised his arm to punch the air thinking he had got the win from Sam Lowe, Hargroves Cycles.

On the day Simon Wilson was definitely in a class of his own.

Photo Mike Adams…. more below. Also see more on Flickr – click here

1 Simon Wilson (Metaltek-Scott)
2 Ian Knight (Team Corley Cycles)
3 Sam Lowe (Hargroves Cycles)
4 Jake Martin (Cycle Premier-Kovert)
5 Jamie Burgan (Langsett Cycles RT)
6 Matthew Bonehill (Stafford RC)
7 Clem Berrill (Twenty3c-Orbea)
8 Alan Davies (BC PM)
9 Gregg Payne (Arbis LLP)
10 James Newey (Cadence Sport)

Category 3
The first four got away in a break early on in the race and stayed away till the finish, almost lapping the bunch on the line. The main group fragmented in the strong wind and rain and despite small groups staying away for a few laps were always losing ground on the leaders.

1 George Rowlands Mid Shropshire Wheelers
2 Mark Cotton Byka Sport
3 Paul Jones NFTO
4 Jason Colledge Wolverhampton Wheelers
5 Stephen Edwards Wolverhampton Wheelers
6 James Jenkins Wyre Forest
7 Jack Mills Halesowen
8 Ben Crone Halesowen
9 Henry Knott Birmingham University
10 Ian Cowan Solihull CC

Category 4

1. Kallen Kerr Glasgow Whls
2. Jody Bett VC Lincoln
3. Stephen Howgill Leicestershire Road Club
4. Tom Holland Kenilworth Wheelers CC
5. Stefan Harrison Stourbridge CC
6. Christopher Cleaver Concorde CC
7. Nick Preece NFTO
8. James Jevons Stourbridge Velo
9. Gerald McDermott Gannet CC
10. Craig Floyd R M Cycling (RMCC)


PHOTOS: by Mike Adams

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,