Report: Brook Cycles Track League Round 1

The 2012 Brook Cycles Track League Season started on Thursday 3rd May at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle, Staffs.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Despite a dodgy weather forecast of rain it stayed dry throughout the event. A good turnout of riders attended despite the weather forecast with some very close racing throughout the evening.

In the A Class Endurance league Ryan Whatmough, Shepherds Cycles took an early lead with a score of 10 points as he won three events in the 8 lap scratch, devil and a very fast 30 lap scratch which ended the nights proceedings. Closely behind Ryan was Joe Evans, Velocity RT who scored 8 points with him winning the 12 lap points race.

The A Class Sprint events saw a photo finish in the Keiren final where Sean Mayer, Swinnerton Cycles held on to take the win from his fast closing teammate Barney Swinnerton. Sean also won the opening round of the Neil Potter sponsored 500m Handicap league from Sassan Emadi, Tunstall Wheelers.

In the B Class races Joel Partington, Sportcity Velo dominated the races as he won all four races on the night in taking the 8 and 30 lap scratch events, devil and the course de primes. Alex Webb Lyme Rc also scored well on the night in taking three second places.

The youth races saw a number of riders move up this year from the Freewheelers League with all doing well at their first taste of fixed wheel racing. Sallie Birchall, Lyme RC showed that she had trained hard over the winter as she won the devil and was a member of the winning team sprint team. She also took second places in the 200m time trial and the youth scratch to become the early overall lead. Team mate Ashleigh Williams also scored well with 5 points followed by first time rider at the league Bailey Wilmot who rode a great race to win the final 6 lap scratch.

The Freewheelers league started the night’s proceedings and saw a massive turnout of 28 riders which is very encouraging for the season ahead. With most of last years Group 1 riders moving up to the main league it was great to see many new faces. The top point’s scorers in each group were as follows;

Group 1 James Brayford Lyme RC 7 points
Group 2 Austin Scott Lyme RC 7 points
Group 3 Sam Williams 7 points

Freewheelers Results

Group 1
Race 1
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Alex Coates
3rd Aleshia Mellor Sportcity Velo

Race 2
1st Louis Perry
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

Race 3
1st James Brayford
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Sam Hall

Group 2
Race 1
1st Sophie Bassett and Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
3rd Sebastian Booth

Race 2
1st Austin Scott Lyme RC
2nd Rebecca Newman Lyme RC
3rd Lucy Scott Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Austin Scott
2nd Jack Scott Lyme RC
3rd James Scott Lyme RC

Group 3

Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Isabel Mellor Sportcity Velo
3rd Cameron O’Neil Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Sam Williams
2nd James Turner
3rd Isabel Mellor

Race 3
1st Sam Williams
2nd Evie Davis
3rd James Turner


Youth 200m TT
1st Connor Fearon Weaver Valley
2nd Sallie Birchall Lyme RC
3rd Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 8 Lap Scratch
1st Ryan Whatmough Shepherds Cycles
2nd Paul Whatmough Shepherds Cycles
3rd Joe Evans Velocity RT

A Class Sprinters Neil Potter 500m Handicap League
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Sassan Emadi Tunstall Wheelers
3rd Lauren Quenby Newcastle RC 2001

B Class 8 Lap Scratch
1st Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
2nd Alex Webb Lyme RC
3rd James Crew Derby Mercury

Youth Devil
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd Ashleigh Williams
3rd James Duncalf Crewe Clarion

A Class Endurance 12 lap points race
1st Joe Evans
2nd Paul Whatmough
3rd Thomas Rotherham Sportcity Velo

A Class Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Louis Preston Lyme RC
Sean Mayer
Sassan Emadi

B Class Devil
1st Joel Partington
2nd George Edwards Lyme RC
3rd Alex Webb

Youth Team Sprint
1st Sallie Birchall
Megan Williams Lyme RC
Aleshia Mellor Sportcity Velo
Sam Hall Lyme RC

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Paul Whatmough
3rd Joe Evans

A Class Sprinters Keiren Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Barney Swinnerton
3rd Sassan Emadi

B Class Course De Primes
1st Joel Partington
2nd Alex Webb
George Edwards
Joe Pattison

Youth 6 lap Scratch
1st Bailey Wilmot Derby Mercury
2nd Sallie Birchall
3rd Ashleigh Williams

30 lap Scratch
1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Joe Evans
3rd Thomas Rotherham

B Class
1st Joel Partington
2nd Alex Webb
3rd Joe Pattison



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,