Report: Welwyn Track League – 4th May

It was a great relief to riders and the League organisers to get the meeting last Friday night underway after the first two league meetings were rained off.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Peter Waghorn writes … Just over 80 riders had a good competitive evenings racing despite the cold conditions. A record number of forty two youth riders turned up equally split between three age and ability groups. The standard of racing and competition in the Youth A group was particularly good with Louis Modell, Luke Morgan and Theo Doncaster sharing the top three spots in all four events. In the Youth BC group it was a battle between the Lee Valley ,Colchester and Chelmer riders with Lee valley Cameron Guttridge coming out on top.

The opening event in the Youth CDE event went to Theo Modell (East London Velo ) followed in by Bob Longstaff of Colchester both making their debut at the track. Welwyn riders did well in the remaining handicap events.

The opening Senior A League 10 lap was won in style by Kristian Woolf while newcomer Martin Ruepp took the opening 10 lap group B scratch race.
Two 10 lap Block Handicap events where the Group B riders were given a 250 metre start over their A League rivals saw the B group riders start too slowly and get reeled in within 8 laps leaving the A group sprinters to take line honours.
The wins going to John McClelland in the race for Even numbers and Kristian Woolf taking the race for Odd numbers.

In the closing 10 mile event run in very cold conditions not inducive to fast attacking racing Neil Fraser made a lone breakaway and opened up a 150m lead but was reeled in with 15 laps remaining. In the final lap Wheelers Joseph Fry launched a fierce attack in the last 300 metres and held off he chasers to take a well earned victory

This season is predicted to see a massive increase in the quality and numbers in youth numbers

Senior A
10 lap scratch – Kristian Woolf (Kingscliffe Flyers) John McClelland (Agiskoviner) Martin Dawkins (Team Quest)
Devil – John McClelland (Agiskoviner) Kristian Woolf (Kingscliffe) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)
10 lap AB Block Handicap (Evens) John McClelland, Mike Broadwith (Shorter Rochford) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)
10 lap AB Block Handicap (Odds) Kristian Woolf , Martin Dawkins (Team Quest) Jon Munns (North Road)
10 mile – Joseph Fry (Welwyn Whs) John McCLelland (Agiskoviner) Trevor Burke (Finchley RT)

Senior B
10 lap scr – Martin Ruepp (York Cycles) Howard Ashmore (Welwyn Whs) Simon Howes (Spirit RT)
10 lap Points – Simon Best (North Road) David Scott (Welwyn Whs) Martin Ruepp (York Cycles)

Youth A
10 lap scratch – Louis Modell (East London V) Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell)
Devil – Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Louis Modell (East London Velo)
8 lap points –Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Louis Modell (East London Velo) Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell)
8 lap H’Cap – Louis Modell (ELV) Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Jake Howes (Hillingdon)

Youth BC
5 lap scr – Cameron Guttridge (Lee Valley) James Parrish (Lee Valley) Frank Longstaff (Colchester )
Devil – Frank Longstaff (Colchester) Mitchell Powell (Chelmer|) James Parrish (Lee Valley)
5 Lap Points – Cameron Guttridge (Lee Valley) James Parrish (Lee Valley) Mitchell Powell (Chelmer)
5 Lap H’Cap – Cameron Guttrdge (lee Valley) James Parrish (Lee Valley) Frank Longstaff (Colchester)

Youth CDE
3lap scr –Theo Modell (East London Velo) Bob Longstaff (Colchester) Alexi Edwards (Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap A – Olivia Howard, Harry Towning , Ben Hinchliffe, (all Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap B– Alexi Edwards, Olivia Howard, Mille Gage (all Welwyn)
4 lap H’Cap – Joe Latham, Alexi Edwards, Harry Towning (all Welwyn)


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , ,