Result: VTTA (Nottingham & East Mids) 25 – 5 May 2012

Win for Matt Bottrill in the Nottingham & East Mids VTTA open 25. Geoff Platts fastest vet on standard

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

After a weekend away from racing to concentrate on training, Matthew Bottrill ( returned to racing taking victory in the Nottingham & East Mids VTTA 25, in a time of 51.08. The event was held a Thrussington in Leicestershire, Howling winds, rain storms and freezing conditions made hard conditions for the riders and proved tuff on the outward leg of the course. Riders would complete two laps of a out and back circuit. You would think the event was being held in February with riders wearing gloves and leg and arm warmers.

With the high gust of winds Bottrill made use of the opening leg on his Giant Trinity Advanced SL time trial machine and opting to ride the Enve smart 8.9 wheels. At the first time check at 13 miles, Bottrill had taken the lead From Matthew Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre Rt) by 50 seconds and then took another 26 seconds on the faster section to take the win by 1 min 28 secs.

“Well that was not much fun!” he said afterwards. “It was freezing out there today. I opted to wrap up well and had a good amount of clothing on. One of the items I was using today was a Giant pro baselayer and was really impressed without it performed and definitely worth trying. Its very breathable and absorbs the moisture from sweating really well which means you don’t get cold from wind chill.”

“Apart from the cold, my ride went okay. Today’s race came after 10 days of intense training on the bike, so I came into the race quite tied. The first National championship is in two weeks time, so its just a matter of pushing yourself to the limit and then tapering a little for the big day. Luckily I’ve been getting lots of help on nutrition from Zip-Vit sport, with Zv3 Recovery drink rapide, playing a big role in my recovery. Plus my regular massage from Jason Lavine at I-massage. Makes my life a lot easier.”

Next week Bottrill races in the South Pennine RC 25 before the Men’s National 10, where Britain’s finest riders will battle it out for the title on May 20.


1 Matt Bottrill 0:51:08
2 Matt Sinclair Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT 0:52:26
3 Adam Gascoigne Team Pedal Power Loughborough 0:55:36
5 Kelvin Southan MG Décor Team Carbon Bikes 0:56:41
6 Christopher Hulme Revolution Fitness 0:56:57
7 Martin Garner MG Décor Team Carbon Bikes 0:57:54
9 David Warren Keepthebeat Cycling 0:58:04
10 Mathew Bacon North Notts Olympic RC 0:58:20
13 Andy Turner Sheffield Tri Club 0:58:56
16 Ashley Roue Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT 0:59:22
19 Andy Smith North Notts Olympic RC 0:59:57
21 Mark White Bike Science – Boardman Elite 1:00:16
22 Ady Dench Sheffield Tri Club 1:00:20
23 Paul Reeves Leicester Tri Club 1:00:49
24 Christopher Nicoll Derby Tri Club 1:01:00
25 Ashley Long Coalville Wheelers CC 1:01:06
26 Gary Kondor Mansfield RC 1:01:54
28 Andy Reed Coalville Wheelers CC 1:02:46
29 Carl Bromley Leicester Tri Club 1:02:47
32 Kevin Fearnshaw TFN Tri Club 1:04:25
35 David Allison Leicester Forest CC 1:05:52
36 Colin Whitford Hinckley CRC 1:06:42
38 Steven Cornish North Shropshire Wheelers 1:08:09
43 Joanna Spragg Aylesbury CC 1:11:34
45 Gina Vaughan Leicester Tri Club 1:14:38
47 Deb Shaw Melton Olympic CC 1:19:01
48 Anthony Hardenberg Witham Wheelers 1:19:27

Vets on Standard
1 Geoff Platts MG D̩cor РTeam Carbon Bikes 0:56:22
2 David Robinson ALP Action/Etteridge Cycles RT 0:58:02
3 Christopher Walker Melton Olympic CC 0:58:26
4 Anthony Brown Kettering CC 0:59:10
5 Neil Taylor Coalville Wheelers CC 0:58:37
6 John Howgill Leicestershire RC 0:59:01
7 Graham Green MG D̩cor РTeam Carbon Bikes 1:04:33
8 Stewart Gregory Nottingham Clarion CC 0:59:34
9 Paul Mapletoft Kiveton Park CC 0:59:51
10 Mark McCartney Nottingham Clarion CC 0:59:59
11 Mark Burtonshaw Team Swift 1:03:04
12 Steven Boat Welland Valley CC 1:03:34
13 Jason Taylor Team Swift 1:02:03
14 Norman Portess Melton Olympic CC 1:05:37
15 Malcolm Mann Melton Olympic CC 1:08:05
16 Graham D’Arcy Ashfield RC 1:08:35
17 David Herd Witham Wheelers CC 1:08:59
18 Dave Pike Sleaford Wheelers CC 1:10:33
19 Bryan Fenwick Melton Olympic CC 1:11:09
20 David York Ratae RC 1:11:59
21 Michael Spurr Leicestershire RC 1:15:48


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,