Report: Welwyn Track League

11th May: Despite a very cold evening and the following days Welwyn round of the National Youth Omnium series, there was still a good number of riders for round 2 of the Track League.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Peter Waghorn writes … The opening 10 lap scratch for A group riders was won by last years champion Tony Gibb to open his 2012 account. In the Odds and Evens Block Pursuit for A riders the Odds team had disintegrated with 3 laps to go and the Evens took advantage with John McClelland taking the sprint from Trevor Burke. Mike Broadwith took the Points race and went on to win the 10 mile with a well timed attack which opened up a gap from the leading group in the final lap – just holding on at the line from John McClelland.

In the senior B group Martin Ruepp won the 10 lap and Devil while Simon Howes won the Block handicap. The numbers in the Youth categories were half those of the previous week as many riders saved their energy for the 5 event Youth Omnium the following day – Mitchell Powell notched up 3 wins in the B section (and did well the next day).

Connor Woodford was in good form and took the 4 lap Handicap with a positive ride. The home riders dominated the Youth CDE group but there was a fine win by newcomer Owen Williams in the closing 4 lap handicap in his first League meeting


Senior A
10 lap scratch – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Sam Gilzean (Welwyn Whs) John McClelland (Agiskoviner)
10 lap Block Pursuit – John McClelland (Agiskoviner) Trevor Burke (Finchley RT) Tom Gallacher (Metaltek)
10 lap Points – Mike Broadwith (Shorter Rochford) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs) Sam Gilzean (Welwyn Whs)
10 mile – Mike Broadwith (Shorter Rochford) John McCLelland (Agiskoviner) Tony Gibb (Metaltek)

Senior B
10 lap scr – Martin Ruepp (York Cycles) Ken Roesner (Kings Lynn) Ben Smith (Welwyn Whs)
10 lap Block Handicap – Simon Howes (Spirit RT) Karle Belding (Wisbech) Richard Norris (Colchester)
Devil – Martin Ruepp (York Cycles) Simon Howes (Spirit RT) Andrew Leverton (CC Ashwell)

Youth A
10 lap scratch – Luke Morgan, Jordan Mooney, Sam Dossett (all Welwyn)
500m Sprint – Luke Morgan,Jack Plumley, Jordan Mooney (all Welwyn)

Youth B/C
5 lap scr – Mitchell Powell (Chelmer) James Parrish (Lee Valley) Connor Woodford (Willesden)
Devil – Mitchell Powell (Chelmer|) James Parrish (Lee Valley) Connor Woodford (Willesden)
5 Lap Points – Mitchell Powell (Chelmer) James Parrish (Lee valley) Connor Woodford (Willesden)
5 Lap H’Cap – Connor Woodford (Willesden) Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Michael Parry (Welwyn)

Youth CDE
3lap scr –Tom Durkin, Alexi Edwards, Kathryn Anderson (all Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap A – Kathryn Anderson , Olivia Howard, Harry Towning (all Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap B– Tom Durkin Alexi Edwards, Olivia Howard (all Welwyn)
4 lap H’Cap – Owen Williams (Lee valley) Olivia Howard (Welwyn) Harry Towning (Welwyn)



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,