Report: Welwyn Friday Night Track League

May 18 – Despite the threat of rain plus a crash in the 10 lap Senior B scratch race, the evenings programme was completed with a reduced distance in the final senior scratch race from 10 miles to 20 laps.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report from organiser Peter Waghorn 

Lewis Atkins took the opening Senior A scratch race but Tony Gibb got his own back by taking the 10 lap Handicap and Devil before opting out of the closing event. The final 20 lap saw a group of around 12 riders lead the depleted bunch until with 4 laps remaining Mike Broadwith attacked and opened up a gap but John McClelland closed the gap and the two of them built up a lead never to be caught. Broadwith was unable to escape from McClelland and took second place.

Marin Ruepp extended his lead in the Senior B group and could soon find himself promoted to the A category. The youth numbers were affected by the following days Omnium at Poole, requiring a crack of dawn departure, but are expected to return to Welwyn for this weeks Track League in ever increasing numbers.

In the youth A category Luke Morgan is in top form while honours were spread around in the youth BC and CDE groups – Connor Woodford, James Jackson, Tom and Will Street plus Alexi Edwards all getting victories

Senior A
10 lap scratch – Lewis Atkins (Orbea) Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Tom Gallacher (Metaltek)
10 lap Block Handicap – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Alex Anderson (Welwyn Whs) Lewis Atkins (Orbea)
Devil – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) John McClelland (Prestige) Lewis Atkins (Orbea)
10 mile – John McClelland (Prestige) Mike Broadwith (Shorter Rochford) Sam King (Cambridge0

Senior B
10 lap scr – Martin Ruepp (York Cycles) Ken Roesner (Kings Lynn) Keith Moore (City Centre Cyles)
10 lap Block Pursuit – Paul Best (North Road) Ken Roesner (Kings Lynn) Martin Ruepp (York Cycles)
10 lap Points – Martin Ruepp (York Cycles) Glen O’Brien (CC L:uton) Cameron Howard (Spirit RT)

Youth A
10 lap scratch – Luke Morgan , Jordan Mooney, Bethany Hayward (all Welwyn)
Devil – Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) Sam Dossett (Welwyn)
Points – Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Theo Doncaster (CCAshwell) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)
6 lap handicap – Jordan Mooney , Sam Dossett, Luke Morgan (all Welwyn)

Youth B/C
5 lap scr – Connor Woodford (Willesden) Nick Brown (Welwyn) James Jackson (Colchester)
Devil – Connor Woodford (Willesden) James Jackson (Colchester) Nick Brown (Welwyn)
5 Lap Points – James Jackson (Colchester) Will Street (Welwyn) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)
5 Lap H’Cap – Will Street (Welwyn) James Jackson (Colchestr) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)

Youth C/D/E
3lap scr – Tom Street, Alexi Edward, Millie Gage (all Welwyn)
3 lap H’cap A – Alexi Edwards , Tom Strret, Tom Durkin (all Welwyn)
4 lap H’cap – Alexi Edwards, Kathryn Anderson, Tom Street (all Welwyn)
RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: ,