Report: Halfords Tour Series – Canary Wharf

Endura Racing do the triple in Canary Wharf with Zak Dempster winning the individual, Endura Racing the team and Russell Downing helps Clifford Chance win the Coporate GP

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Endura Racing on song at Canary Wharf – by Peter Hodges

Zak Dempster takes individual win in world famous business and shopping district

Endura Racing bounced back into winning form at Canary Wharf, led by Australian Zak Dempster, to win both the individual and team honours, extending their lead at the top of The Halfords Tour Series to 11 points. Dempster outsprinted breakaway companions Mike Northey, Chris Opie and World Track Champion Andy Tennant at the end of the hour long race, to take his second ever Halfords Tour Series win, following his Durham victory in 2011.

Part of a four man break, Aussie Zak Dempster (Endura Racing) beat New Zealand circuit race champion Mike Northey (Node4), Chris Opie (UK Youth) and Andy Tennant (RCS) to the line to win Endura Racing’s third round of the series.

Behind Peterborough winner and Olympic Gold medallist Ed Clancy led in the bunch sprint for fifth, but with Endura’s Scott Thwaites and Russell Downing taking seventh and ninth the victory went the way of Endura, their fifth of the 2012 season.

Downing had kick started the evening’s success, leading his Clifford Chance team to victory in the IG Markets Canary Wharf Corporate Grand Prix ProAm relay “It was pretty easy for me”, said Downing, “The guys had done all the hard work so it was pretty cruisey. It’s very windy out there tonight so all these guys did awesome out there.”

With three riders in the top 10, Endura Racing were top team on the night and extended their lead in the overall with an 11 point cushion now over Rapha Condor Sharp. L-R, Zak Dempster, Jonny McEvoy, Scott Thwaites, Russell Downing and Ian Wilkinson.

Yanto Barker took the honours in the evening’s Boardman Bikes Sprints competition, but once again it was Australian Bernard Sulzberger of Team Raleigh – GAC who kept hold of the yellow jersey and now enjoys a ten point lead over Metaltek Scott’s Marcel Six. With Endura Racing out in front with five points scoring opportunities left (Stoke-on-Trent round includes two events), the chasing pack are all jostling for what looks like being the runners-up spot. Rapha Condor Sharp currently occupy second, despite not winning a round yet, two points ahead of Team UK Youth.

Team Raleigh – GAC are fourth, a point ahead of Node4 – Giordana, before a fifteen point gap down to Cycle Premier – Kovert in sixth. At the bottom of the standings, the gap has closed up so the three lowest placed teams, Team Hope Factory Racing, Herbalife LeisureLakesBikes and Metaltek Scott are separated by four points, with a maximum of fifty still available.

Presenting the awards to Endura Racing was Mark Cavendish and Peta Todd’s son, Finn.

Dropping the flag for The Halfords Tour Series’ London round was World Champion Mark Cavendish, who later made an appearance to present the winning Endura team on the Canary Wharf podium. “It’s wicked to be here and to see the racing,” said Cavendish. “When Mick (Bennett) explained the format, it is really good. I’ve been watching on TV so I wanted to come down and watch it and it’s been really good.”

Highlights of Round Seven are on ITV4 on Friday 1st June at 8pm, while Torquay welcomes The Halfords Tour Series back to the South West after a year’s absence, hosting Round Eight on Tuesday 5th June, the first round of the Series to take place in Torbay, South Devon’s Beautiful Bay.



The battle between Bernie Sulzberger (Raleigh – GAC) and Marcel Six (Metaltek Scott) continued in Canary Wharf with Sulzberger doing enough to continue to lead the competition overall. 

At the home of UK Youth, Yanto Barker showed there’s plenty of life in his legs with a move off the front which netted him the Sprint prize on the night.

Zak Dempster (Endura Racing) celebrates his victory on stage

Joe Fisher ‘interviews’ Finn on stage as Mark Cavendish looks on.

Andy Tenant (RCS), World Team Pursuit Champion, was one of four riders in the winning break along with Zak Dempster (Endura Racing), Chris Opie (UK Youth) and Mike Northey (Node 4).

Whilst there were not the number of crashes there were at some rounds, Canary Wharf did have some including this one approaching the pits. Race director Mick Bennett rushes in to help riders.

Zak Dempster said on Tuesday night after Peterborough that Canary Wharf better look out and it was watching him for sure out front and on his way to victory.

Peta Todd and Mark Cavendish made a surprise visit to the race and were given the honour of flagging the race away.

The cheerleaders were back for this round of Canary Wharf

Jill Douglas replaced Ned Boulting with the micro phone at Canary Wharf and talks to Russell Downing on the start line.



Round Seven Individual Result
1. Zak Dempster, Endura Racing
2. Mike Northey, Node4 – Giordana Racing
3. Chris Opie, Team UK Youth
4. Andy Tennant, Rapha Condor Sharp
5. Ed Clancy, Rapha Condor Sharp
6. Rico Rogers, Node4 – Giordana Racing
7. Scott Thwaites, Endura Racing
8. Stephen Adams, Cycle Premier – Kovert
9. Russ Downing, Endura Racing
10. James Stewart, Team UK Youth

11. Marcel Six, Metaltek Scott
12. Yanto Barker, UK Youth
13. Jonny McEvoy, Endura Racing
14. Kristian House, Rapha Condor sharp)
15. Matt Cronshaw, Node 4 Giordana
16. Tom Murray, IG Sigma Sport
17. Will Bjergfelt, Cycle Premier-Kovert
18. Jon Mozley, Cycle Premier Kovert
19. James McCallum, Rapha Condor Sharp
20. Ian Wilkinson, Endura Racing
21. Niklas Gustavsson, UK Youth
22. Bernie Sulzberger, Raleigh GAC
23. Simon Holt, Raleigh-GAC
24. George Tansley, Cycle Premier – Kovert
25. Graham Briggs, Raleigh-GAC


Round Seven Team Result
1) Endura Racing
2) Node4 – Giordana Racing
3) Rapha Condor Sharp
4) Team UK Youth
5) Cycle Premier – Kovert
6) Team Raleigh – GAC
7) Team IG – Sigma Sport
8) Team Hope Factory Racing
9) Metaltek Scott
10) Herbalife LeisureLakesBikes

Overall Team Standings, post-Round Seven
1) Endura Racing, 66pts
2) Rapha Condor Sharp, 55pts
3) Team UK Youth, 53pts
4) Team Raleigh – GAC, 50pts
5) Node4 – Giordana Racing, 49pts
6) Cycle Premier – Kovert, 34pts
7) Team IG – Sigma Sport, 28pts
8) Metaltek Scott, 18pts
9) Herbalife LeisureLakesBikes, 16pts
10) Team Hope Factory Racing, 14pts

Boardman Bikes Sprints winner Canary Wharf: Yanto Barker (Team UK Youth)

Boardman Bikes Sprints standings, post-Round Seven
1) Bernard Sulzberger, Team Raleigh – GAC, 65pts
2) Marcel Six, Metaltek Scott, 55pts
3) Kristian House, Rapha Condor Sharp, 32pts


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Tags: , , ,