Report: Fusion CC’s Open 10

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Event record for Gunnar Gronlund (RSt/Trigon) in Fusion Cycling Club’s (Dronfield) 10 mile Time Trial on Saturday 2nd June

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Richard Bramhall writes … It was a calm and clear day with a slight crosswind rather than the usual tail wind out/head wind back scenario. As the first few riders started to arrive back at the HQ, it was clear that course PB`s could well be broken during the day by a number of entrants.

Riders were kept well fed by Erica Bramhall and Nicola Williams  ..

In the under 18`s class, Andrew Cutts (Birdwell Wheelers), who had already broken his PB for this distance in an event earlier in the week, produced a course PB of 25.18 despite having no time to warm up or focus on his ride. By winning this class, Andrew wins a pair of sunglasses from joint sponsors Polaris. Second under 18 was Stephen Patterson (Rossington Wheelers) with a time of 29.38.

In the ladies event, honours went to Alex Deck (RST-Trigon Bikes) 23.35 who beat Rachael Eyre (Kiveton Park) 27.35 into top spot. At the HQ, a shivering Alex seemed happy with her performance and course PB in the more favourable conditions. Alex went over a minute quicker than in the event last year.

With 51 riders of the 71 starters being veterans, this competition was once again fiercely contested. Early pacesetter Rob Townsend’s (Langsett Cycles RT) time of 21.07s set the standard, which was only bettered by last year’s fastest veteran Anthony Nash (Scunthorpe Poly CC) who broke the 21 minute barrier with 20.46, going 24 seconds quicker than his time in last year’s event.

Fresh from his very impressive win in the CDNW Road Race in “hilly” Buxton, pre event favourite and National Hill Climb champion, Gunnar Gronlund (RST-Trigon Bikes) produced a stunning time of 20.15 to take the honours in the senior event. This was also a record for the Fusion CC (Dronfield) event netting “Gun” an extra cash prize from joint sponsors Bikebox.

Adam Hardy (Wolds RT) had laid down an early marker of 21.56, which was then beaten by Danny Lowthorpe (Langsett Cycles RT) 20.42 who had already had success on this course in May. Grigor Wallace (Team Midlands Racing) then raised the bar again with 20.28 only for Gunnar to beat his time by 13 seconds.

In the evening @gunnargronlund tweeted “Happy to get a win at the @fusionCCDron 10mile TT today at Hatfield Woodhouse. Top event, really enjoyed it -Thanks guys!”

The event was part of the increasingly popular JE James TT series, which sees 11 events within the North Midlands and Derbyshire regions. With the absence of the two leading riders in the competition, a number of riders took advantage of this including Stewart Smith (Stocksbridge CC) and Daryl May (Sheffrec CC) as well as Michael Lamb, Steve Hollowood and Paul Mapletoft from Kiveton Park CC who currently top the team rankings. The next event of the series being the Stocksbridge CC 3 up TTT on Saturday 9th June.

With many riders staying for the results and presentation of prizes along with drinks and a fantastic selection of homemade cakes and sandwiches, thanks have to be given to all marshal’s, timekeepers and helpers ensuring the second Fusion CC (Dronfield) TT event was a huge success. Also a quick mention to the Fusion CC riders who took part Andy Rowland 26m51s, Les Morton 27m55s and Jane Shield`s 28m52s who all produced course PB`s on the day. Well Done!

1. Gunnar Gronlund 20m15s
2. Grigor Wallace 20m28s
3. Danny Lowthorpe 20m42s
4. Adam Hardy 21m56s

1. Anthony Nash 20m46s
2. Rob Townsend 21m07s
3. Stewart Smith 21m45s
4. Steve Gore Brown 21m56s

1. Alex Deck 23m35s
2. Rachael Eyre 27m35s

First Under 18: Andrew Cutts 25m18s Polaris Glasses

20th Paul Mapletoft 23m10s Polaris Glasses
40th Dale Coan 25m32s Polaris Glasses
60th Les Morton 27m55s Polaris Glasses

Event Record: Gunnar Gronlund 20m15s £25 from Bikebox


1 Gunnar Gronlund RST-Trigon S 20m15s
2 Grigor Wallace Team Midlands Racing S 20m28s
3 Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles RT S 20m42s
4 Anthony Nash Scunthorpe Poly CC V 20m46s
5 Rob Townsend Langsett Cycles RT V 21m07s
6 Stewart Smith Stocksbridge CC V 21m45s
7 Steve Gore Brown Team Swift V 21m56s
7 Adam Hardy Wolds RT S 21m56s
9 Nicholas Latimer Rutland CC S 21m59s
10 Dan Taylor Birdwell Wheelers S 22m03s
11 Trevor Mayne Birdwell Wheelers V 22m04s
11 Patrick Gould Matlock CC S 22m04s
13 Richard Dean Barnsley Road Club S 22m05s
14 Stuart Wells Scunthorpe Poly CC V 22m08s
15 Nick Frewin Bournemouth Jubilee Whlrs V 22m09s
16 Benjamin Harvey Stocksbridge CC S 22m26s
17 Gareth Ferguson Matlock CC S 22m32s
18 Martin Smyllie Sheffield Tri Club V 22m52s
19 John Maughan Doncaster Wheelers V 23m05s
20 Paul Mapletoft Kiveton Park CC V 23m10s
21 Matthew Wilde Huddersfield Star Wheelers S 23m12s
22 Steven Hollowood Kiveton Park CC V 23m15s
22 Daryl May Sheffrec CC S 23m15s
24 Derek Crawshaw Barnsley Road Club V 23m31s
25 Alex Deck RST-Trigon W 23m35s
26 Steve Coleman Doncaster Wheelers V 23m44s
27 Michael Lamb Kiveton Park CC V 23m47s
28 David Vingoe Barnsley Road Club V 23m56s
29 Mike Tyas Maldon & District CC S 24m10s
30 Chris Sharpe Matlock CC S 24m20s
31 Paul Wass Team Balance Performance V 24m33s
32 Steve Wood Stocksbridge CC S 24m34s
33 David Fitzpatrick Drighlington BC V 24m37s
34 Tom Taylor Sugarcane Creative V 24m43s
35 Anthony Keyworth Kiveton Park CC V 25m05s
36 Andrew Cutts Birdwell Wheelers Jun 25m18s
37 Robert Fowler Rutland CC V 25m19s
38 George Miles Barnsley Road Club V 25m21s
39 Andrew Cleveland Lindsey Road Club V 25m31s
40 Dale Coan Doncaster Wheelers V 25m32s
41 Alan Stewart Team Swift V 25m38s
42 Peter Stirk South Elmsall SCC V 25m47s
43 John Fitch Rockingham Wheelers V 25m50s
44 Geoff Bryan Featherstone RC V 25m52s
45 David Patchitt Lindsey Road Club V 25m59s
46 Paul Elwell Rossington Wheelers V 26m16s
47 Andy Lakeland Racing TNT V 26m47s
48 Barry Ferguson Rutland CC V 26m50s
49 Andy Rowland Fusion CC Dronfield V 26m51s
50 Rob Ingle Sheffield Tri Club V 27m01s
51 Robin Maclagan VTTA North Midlands V 27m05s
52 John Slater Doncaster Wheelers V 27m12s
53 Geoff Hague Rutland CC V 27m17s
54 John Mould Lindsey Road Club V 27m28s
55 Paul Homan Club Barrow Central Wheelers V 27m29s
56 Rachael Eyre Kiveton Park CC W 27m35s
56 Bill Censi Lindsey Road Club V 27m35s
58 Alan Kaye City Road Club Hull V 27m45s
59 Dave Tyas Maldon & District CC V 27m47s
60 Les Morton Fusion CC Dronfield V 27m55s
61 Shaun Patterson Rossington Wheelers V 27m59s
62 Derek Sanderson Gainsboro Aegir V 28m40s
63 Jane Shields Fusion CC Dronfield W 28m52s
64 John Scully Rossington Wheelers V 28m58s
65 Stephen Patterson Rossington Wheelers Juv 29m38s
66 Brian Waslidge Conisbrough Ivanhoe V 30m19s
67 Colin Taylor Planet X V 30m47s
68 David Cutts Birdwell Wheelers V 31m32s


Tags: ,