Criterium du Dauphine: Win for Boassan Haggen

Team Sky’s Edvald Boasson Hagen has the bunch kick on stage 3 of the Criterium du Dauphine – Bradley Wiggins continues to lead overall

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Stage 3 of the Criterium du Dauphine was a stage for the sprinters and Team Sky not only defended the lead of Bradley Wiggins but were also there to support Norwegian rider, Edvald Boasson Hagen on the 104 mile stage.

The former Tour of Britain winner timed his challenge perfectly, latching onto the Omega Pharma-QuickStep lead-out train of Gerald Ciolek before powering past the German for a clear-cut triumph, with Borut Božic (Astana) in third.

A delighted Boasson Hagen said to the Team Sky website “It was a nice day for the team as we had the yellow jersey but we didn’t really have to work. The team did a good job to keep Bradley up the front and I could just sit behind. I’m here mainly to help him to win the race but I got the chance today to try to sprint.”

“[John] Degenkolb [Argos-Shimano] had a flat tyre so there was one less to sprint against and I was able to win which I’m really happy about. We have a really strong team here with Bradley in the lead and we’ll cross our fingers that we can keep the yellow jersey the whole week.”

Tomorrow sees the important time trial which could have a big influence on who wears the yellow jersey afterwards. Both Wiggins and Evans can time trial and the former British champion and Worlds medallist, Wiggins, will be looking to open up the gap on his Australian rival.

Brad Wiggins: “As they have all season, the team have put me in the perfect position for the time trial tomorrow. Without them I’d be nothing this year – it doesn’t matter how strong you are as an individual, you’re nothing without a team.”

“I think it’s really going to sort the men out from the boys tomorrow. It looks a super course which should be ideal for me and it’s going to have a massive say in deciding the race – the time gaps will certainly look pretty different afterwards.”


1 Edvald Boasson Hagen Sky Procycling 04:22:13
2 Gerald Ciolek Omega Pharma – Quickstep @ same time
3 Borut Bozic Astana Pro Team @ same time
4 Roger Kluge Argos-Shimano @ same time
5 Murilo Antonio Fischer Garmin – Barracuda @ same time
6 Tony Gallopin RadioShack – Nissan @ same time
7 Davide Cimolai Lampre – ISD @ same time
8 Michael Matthews Rabobank Cycling Team @ same time
9 S̩bastien Hinault Ag2R РLa Mondiale @ same time
10 Jonathan Cantwell Team Saxo Bank @ same time

46 Bradley Wiggins Sky Procycling @ same time

1 Bradley Wiggins Sky Procycling 13:07:55
2 Cadel Evans BMC Racing Team 00:01
3 Andriy Grivko Astana Pro Team 00:02
4 Carlos Barredo Llamazales Rabobank Cycling Team @ same time
5 Tony Martin Omega Pharma – Quickstep 00:04
6 Paul Martens Rabobank Cycling Team @ same time
7 Sylvain Chavanel Omega Pharma – Quickstep 00:05
8 J̩rome Coppel Saur РSojasun 00:06
9 Andrey Amador Bakkazakova Movistar Team @ same time
10 Richie Porte Sky Procycling 00:07

12 David Millar Garmin – Barracuda 00:09
171 Daniel Martin Garmin – Barracuda 28:01


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes