Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

After weeks of rain there was a full night’s racing at the Brooks Cycles Track League on Thursday 28th June.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

This in fact was the first main league event at the track in June. Luckily heavy showers from earlier in the day disappeared and racing was run off under clear blue warm skies. In the A Class endurance events league leader Ryan Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles) won the opening 10 lap scratch and it looked like he was set to dominate the events. However the wins were then spread around as Alex Simmons ( Swinnerton Cycles) attacked at half way in the 12 lap points race to take a fine win. The 10 mile scratch was won by Paul Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles) in a very tight finish with last years overall winner Robert Lambton ( Brooks Cycles) who is now back from University for the summer.

The A Class sprint events were depleted by the Masters being away at the National Championships however Sean Mayer ( Swinnerton Cycles) consolidated his lead by winning the sprint final in 11.7 seconds and the Keirin final. The B Class events saw the biggest field of the night with 14 riders competing. The events were dominated by Bernard Swinnerton ( Lyme RC) who won every event in the 8 lap scratch, Devil, points and 10 mile to establish himself as the favourite for this league this year.

The youth events were keenly contested with Sallie Birchall ( Lyme RC) extending her already big lead in the overall competition to win the 200m TT, Devil and Handicap Scratch. Liam Zwetschnikow ( Lyme RC) was the next top scorer as he came second in the devil and the scratch.

The Freewheelers Events were well supported with 26 riders present at this Go ride registered event. After a 15 race programme the top points scorers were in each group as follows;

Group 1 James Brayford Lyme RC 7 points

Brandon McMillan Lyme RC 7 points

Group 2 Thomas Hughes 9 points

Group 3 Christian Bartram Lyme RC 9 points

Freewheelers Results

Group 1

Race 1
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Bradley Hill Lyme RC
3rd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC

Race 2
1st James Brayford
2nd Brandon McMillan
3rd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Andrew Williams
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Brandon McMillan

Race 4
1st Bradley Hill
2nd Brandon McMillan
3rd Ambrose Morris

Group 2

Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Harry Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 2
1st Sam Tennant
2nd Thomas Hughes
3rd Austin Scott Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Thomas Hughes
2nd Sam Tennant
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 4
1st Thomas Hughes
2nd Austin Scott
3rd Aaron Mansell

Group 3

Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Jessica Hughes
3rd Christian Bartram

Race 2

1st Christian Bartram
2nd Sam Towey
3rd Izaak Curtis Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Christian Bartram
2nd James Turner Lyme RC
3rd Sam Williams

Race 4
1st Jessica Hughes
2nd Evie Davis
3rd Christian Bartram

Race 5
1st Olly Davis Lyme RC
2nd Frazer Bartram
3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Race 6
1st Olly Davis
2nd Nicholas Sandbach
3rd Frazer Bartram

Race 7
1st Olly Davis
2nd Nicholas Sandbach
3rd Frazer Bartram


Youth 200m TT
1st Sallie Birchall Lyme RC
2nd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 lap Scratch
1st Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
2nd Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles
3rd James Notley Planet X

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Bernard Swinnerton Lyme RC
2nd Paige Millward Lyme RC
3rd Kieran Senior Sportcity Velo

Youth Devil
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Joe Swinnerton

A Class Endurance Team Pursuit
1st Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
Christian Braybrooke Velocity RT
Alex Braybrooke Velocity RT
Robert Lambton

A Class Sprinters Sprint Final
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Braney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Jack Payne Sportcity Velo

B Class Devil
1st Bernard Swinnerton
2nd Neil Clarke VC Nottingham
3rd George Edwards Lyme RC

Youth Team Sprint
1st Megan Williams Lyme RC
James Duncalf Lyme RC
Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC
Joe Swinnerton

A Class Endurance Points
1st Alex Simmons Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Ryan Whatmough
3rd James Risk Sportcity Velo

B Class Points Race
1st Bernard Swinnerton
2nd Jack Fearon Weaver Valley
3rd Connor Fearon Weaver Valley

Kierin League Final
1st Sean Mayer
2nd Jack Payne
3rd Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
4th Christian Braybrooke Velocity RT
5th Alex Simmons
6th Lauren Quenby Newcastle RC 2001

Youth Handicap Scratch
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd James Duncalf

10 Mile Scratch
1st Paul Whatmough
2nd Robert Lambton
3rd Christian Braybrooke

B Class
1st Bernard Swinnerton
2nd George Edwards
3rd Becky Gray Lyme RC



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,