Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

No rain for the latest Round of the Brooks Cycles Track League at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Newcastle under Lyme on Thursday 5th July.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Chris Pyatt writes… A warm and sunny evening for the track league where it didn’t rain throughout the meet – unbelievable!. This was lucky as only 5 miles away the roads were flooded with torrential downpours!

Despite the dodgy forecast, there was a great turnout of riders in both the main league and the Freewheelers. The A Class endurance races saw some very quick racing with league leader Ryan Whatmough ( Shepherd Cycles) taking wins in the 10 lap and 10 mile scratch events.

However he did not have it all his own way with his father Paul winning the devil. Other notable rides came from the ever improving Alex Simmons ( Swinnerton Cycles) who took second in the devil, 3rd in the 10 lap scratch and also a member of the winning team pursuit squad.

The A Class sprint events saw Barney Swinnerton ( Swinnerton Cycles) win both Kieren events and also he was a member of the winning Team Sprint Squad. Newly crowned National Masters Sprint and 750 TT Champion Phil Houlton only rode a couple of events due to him racing again this weekend however he still put in a good ride to place second in the first keirin race.

The Neil Potter sponsored 500m handicap latest round saw 2011 Youth National 500m Champion Ryan Whatmough take the victory from Jack Payne ( Sportcity Velo) and Louis Preston ( Lyme RC) in third place.

Again there was a great turnout of B Class riders with Youth Rider Matthew Walls, (Velocity RT) top scoring with wins in the 8 lap scratch and the devil. Paige Millward ( Lyme RC) won the course de primes event and George Edwards ( Lyme RC) was the first B Class rider over the line in the 10 mile scratch.

Sallie Birchall ( Lyme RC) continues to dominate the youth events as she took a all three individual events and was a member of the winning team sprint team. Joe Swinnerton ( Lyme RC) also showed well as he scored 5 points on the night.

The Freewheelers league saw 30 riders compete with a good spread of points shared out across the three groups. After the nights racing the top points scorers were as follows;

Group 1 James Brayford Lyme RC 10 points
Group 2 Aaron Mansell Lyme RC 9 Points
Group 3 James Turner 5 points

Freewheelers Results 

Group 1
Race 1
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Harvey Myatt Newcastle Tri Club
3rd Alex Coates Lyme RC

Race 2
1st James Brayford
2nd Harvey Myatt
3rd Alex Coates

Race 3
1st James Brayford
2nd Alex Coates
3rd Harvey Myatt

Group 2
Race 1
1st Aaron Mansell Lyme RC
2nd Holly Mulroy Congleton CC
3rd Joe Boulton Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Thomas Hughes
3rd Holly Mulroy

Race 3
1st Thomas Hughes
2nd Aaron Mansell
3rd Edward Mulroy Congleton CC

Group 3
Race 1
1st Evie Davis Lyme RC
2nd Izaak Curtis Lyme RC
3rd Josh Jackson

Race 2
1st James Turner
2nd Sam Williams
3rd Olly Davis Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Chloe Tennant
2nd Sam Williams
3rd James Turner

Main League
Youth 200m TT
1st Sallie Birchall Lyme RC
2nd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC
3rd Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 Lap Scratch
1st Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
2nd Adrian Adgar Balanced Performance
3rd Alex Simmons Swinerton Cycles

Neil Potter 500m Handicap Series
1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Jack Payne Sportcity Velo
3rd Louis Preston Lyme RC

B Scratch
1st Matthew Walls Velocity RT
2nd George Edwards Lyme RC
3rd Phil Braybrooke Manchester Wheelers


Youth Devil
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd Joe Swinnerton

A Class Endurance Team Pursuit
1st Alex Simmons
Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles
James Risk Sportcity Velo
Ryan Whatmough
Bernard Swinnerton Lyme RC

A Class Sprinters Team Sprint
1st Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
Louis Preston Lyme RC

B Class Devil
1st Matthew Walls
2nd Sam Birchall Velocity RT
3rd Neil Clarke VC Nottingham


Youth Team Sprint
1st Aleshia Mellor Eastlands Velo
Megan Williams Lyme RC
Ashleigh Williams
Sallie Birchall

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
2nd Alex Simmons
3rd James Risk

A Class sprinters Kieren 1
1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd Phil Houlton Brooke Cycles
3rd Sean Mayer

B Class Course De Primes
1st Paige Millward Lyme RC
2nd George Edwards
3rd Neil Clarke


Youth Scratch
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd James Brayford Lyme RC
3rd Joe Swinnerton

A Class Sprinters Kieren 2
1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Jack Payne

10 Mile Scratch
1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
3rd Adrian Adgar

1st B George Edwards


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,