Report: Phillips Wins at Racecourse in the Rain

The first round of the Leisure Lakes Circuit Series at Cheltenham racecourse was played out in testing conditions which almost forced the cancellation of the event last Friday evening.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

A cluster of hardy riders braved the awful conditions to put on a great display of live sporting action. James Phillips (Severn RC), Rupert Denny (GWR Team) and Adrian Bird (RPC/Subzerobikesco) turned out to be the dominating riders of the race. Ex-Gloucester City rider, Denny, attacked the hilly circuit at a ferocious pace splitting the field almost as soon as the 40km race had started.

James Phillips.  Photo: Glenn Watts

It was then left to Phillips to pace his way across to the lone leader, with Bird close behind. The trio worked well together, even with the weather worsening. Whilst the bedraggled spectators looked on in amazement, the remaining peloton behind were left to press on as the leaders pushed hard to open up a formidable lead.

As the 1 hour race neared the last lap, Denny attacked trying to split the breakaway and weaken his fellow escapees. This failed, however, and it was Phillips who used his punchy style to his advantage, sprinting to a great win on the famous racecourse hill in front of a damp crowd.

At the finish, local rider Jon Pain (leisurelakes), who finished 5th in the bunch sprint, said; “This is one tough circuit. I found the conditions really hard today, congratulations to Phillips, he rode a great race. I’m already looking forward to next week and hope it’s a dry one!”

Round 2 will be next Friday 13th July at Cheltenham Racecourse. Racing starts at 7pm. The grand elite race finale will be held on the 20th July and will feature some of the best riders in the region who will all be competing for a cash first prize of £300.For further information please visit:

Youth races:
Gloucester City CC rider Adam Beddall came out on top in the youth A (under-16) boys race, holding off Stratford CC’s Preslav Dimitrav for the win, while third spot went to Taylor Rowe (Ride 24/7).

In the Youth B (under-14) race, it was Kier Lewis from Stratford CC who took the win, while William Crofts from Bristol Cycling Development Squad was second and Joe Wood (Cheltenham and County CC) third.

Halesowen A&CC rider Andrew Wheatley was fastest in the Youth C (under-12) race, beating Ben Sluman of VC Montpellier, while Harrison Smith (Cheltenham and County CC) was third.

Luke Simmonds (Stratford CC) beat David Meyer (Cheltenham and County CC) in the Youth D (under-10) race, while Jacob Smith (Cheltenham and County CC) beat team-mate Daniel Ascroft in the Youth E (under-8) race.

Finally, Cerys Simmonds (Stratford CC) won the Youth E (under-8) girls race.

Round 1 results (6.7.12):

Senior Results:

1. James Phillips – Severn RC2. Rupert Denny – GWR Team
3. Adrian Bird – RPC/Subzerobikesco
4. Scott Leakey – Performance Cycles
5. Jon Pain – Leisure Lakes
6. Matthew Franklin – Bristol RC
7. Jonathan Webb – UC Monaco
8. Matt Ullmer – Team Traveller
9. Rob Edgell – Somer Valley RC
10. Mike Ward – VC Montpellier
11. Callum Lister – Corinium
12. Mark Munns – Ride 24/7
13. Ian Threadgold – Cheltenham & County CC
14. Simon Tarrant – Cheltenham & County CC

Youth Results:
1st – Cerys Simmonds (Girl) – Stratford CC
2nd – Jacob Smith – Cheltenham & Co CC
3rd – Daniel Ascroft – Cheltenham & Co CC

1st – Luke Simmonds – Stratford CC
2nd – David Meyer – Cheltenham & Co CC

1st – Andrew Wheatley – Halesowen CC
2nd – Ben Sluman – VC Montpellier
3rd – Harrison Smith – Cheltenham & Co CC

1st – Keir Lewis – Stratford CC
2nd – William Crofts – Bristol Cycling Development Scheme
3rd – Joe Wood – Cheltenham & Co CC
4th – Elliot Lockley – Private

1st – Adam Beddall – Gloucester City CC
2nd – Preslav Dimitrav – Stratford CC
3rd – Taylor Rowe – Ride 24/7
4th – Tom Marshall – VC Montpellier


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,