Report: Witham Wheelers Road Races

Report, photos and results from the GT Ellingworth and GA Bennett Road Races in Lincolshire last Sunday

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Thanks to Simon Cocker for the following content

Witham Wheelers promoted their annual 2 open road races on a rolling 12 mile circuit near Grantham in Lincolnshire. The weather gods smiled for once this summer and conditions were dry but breezy. With the prize money boosted by PedalPushers specialist lightweight shop there were good fields for both events.

The afternoon GA Bennett for E/1/2/3 riders with 50 starters followed a similar pattern to the mornings event. An early break of five riders including Michael Berling (Cycle Premier- Kovert), Simon Gaywood (IG Sigma Sport), Ben Dean (Bioglobal) and Adam Cotterrell (Zappis CC) established a lead of 45 seconds over the first couple of laps but the fast rolling bunch pulled them back.

A horse related incident on the 3rd lap unfortunately saw a few riders held up with one requiring treatment. Despite various attacks with Peter Vincent (Mid Devon CC) prominent, no one could gain a significant lead and coming into the finish there was again some 30 riders in contention.

Ben Stockdale proved the strongest in the sprint from Jamie Shirlaw  and Nick Baker in third. Junior Sam Lowe (Hargroves Cycles-Specialized) was fourth and Sam Parker first second cat.

Win for Ben Stockdale

Promoting clubs Junior Peter Cocker closing a gap.


1 Ben Stockdale Metaltek – Scot
2 Jamie Shirlaw Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
3 Nick Baker Zappis Cycling Club
4 Sam Lowe Hargroves Cycles-Specialized-Trant-Next-Elliotts
5 Matthew Higgins Node 4 Giordana
6 Jack Adams Zappi’s Cycling Club
7 Matthew Jones Team Corley Cycles/Blue
8 Mark Baines Spirit Racing Team
9 Liam Stones Team Corley Cycles/Blue
10 Will Fox Forme Impsport Sanlamere
11 Brennan Townshend Team Raleigh – GAC
12 Michael Berling Cycle Premier – Kovert
13 Thomas Marshall Wilier/Live to Ride
14 Jamie Burgan Langsett Cycles RT
15 Richard Bott Herbalife-Leisure Lakes
16 Anthony Moye Velo 29 /OTR/VANKRU/Impsport
17 Sam Parker Zappis Pro Cycling
18 Tom Stockdale Primal Europe Powered By
19 Dean Parkes Team
20 Robin Orr Velo 29 /OTR/VANKRU/Impsport
21 Peter Vincent Mid Devon CC
22 Toby Eichler Wilier/Live to Ride
23 Peter Cocker Witham Wheelers – Echo personnel
24 Chris Rathbone Unattached
25 Dave Collins Hope Factory Racing
26 Kieran Frend Node 4 Giordana
27 Joe Clarke Fenland Clarion
28 Gareth Whittall Clay Cross Road Team
29 Russell Falder Cycle Premier – Kovert
30 Simon Gaywood IG Sigma Sport
31 Stuart Murfin Ashfield RC
32 George Moore Cyclepremier Racing Team
33 William Bjergfelt Cycle Premier – Kovert
34 Richard Hepworth Cycle Premier – Kovert
35 Dexter Gardias Forme Impsport Sanlamere
36 Chris Boote Zappi’s Cycling Club

Category 3/4 Riders

The morning GT Ellingworth race for 3-4 category riders had 55 riders on the start line and the main attack went as they crossed the finish line with 3 laps to go as Adam Gascoigne (team Pedal power) eased of the bunch shortly followed by Pail Bennett and Leighton Davies both Bio Cadenza RT.

Jony Noton (Clay Cross RT) also got across and a maximum lead of 45 seconds was built up with a lap to go. On the last lap however the bunch pulled them back and hitting the hill before the finish there were still over 30 riders in contention.

Jon Wells (VC Lincoln) timed his effort well and took the win from Nic Jepson (Beeston CC) and Dominic Smith (Liverpool Mercury) with George Thompson (Sleaford Whs) taking the GT Ellingworth trophy for first Junior.


1 Jonathon Wells VC Lincoln
2 Nicholas Jepson Beeston Cycling Club
3 Dominic Smith Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC
4 Andrew Marsh Dinnington RC
5 William Adams
6 Thomas Sutton We Love Mountains Racing Team
7 George Thompson Sleaford Whls CC/Chandlers Mitsubishi/Solo Club
8 Kevin Potter Lichfield City CC
9 Mark Bleakley Bath University
10 Mark Jacobi Peak Road Club
11 Leighton Davies Bio Cadenza RT
12 Matthew Garfield Fenland Clarion CC
13 Charlie Porter Boston Whls CC
14 Paul Searson Nottingham Clarion CC
15 Chris Limberger Mercia HBM Cycling Club
16 Luke Bonnett RAF CC
17 James Boardley Peterborough Cycling Club
18 Sam Kirby Out Of The Saddle
19 Paul Conneely Witham Wheelers Cycling Club
20 John Smith Out Of The Saddle
21 Martyn Ludlam Witham Wheelers Cycling Club
22 Paul Bennett Bio Cadenza RT
23 Adam Gascoigne Team Pedal Power
24 James Hedley-Smith Sleaford Whls CC/Chandlers Mitsubishi/Solo Club
25 Nick Horder Welland Valley CC
26 Gary Dunne Coventry Road Club
27 Asa Elkington Boston Whls CC
28 Philip Wilkins Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing
29 Andrew Parr Revolution Fitness
30 Ian Russell Newark Castle CC
31 Jordan Gell VC Lincoln
32 Rob Morley
33 Lewis Holdcroft Team Mercia Racing
34 Freddy Griffiths Nottingham Clarion CC
34 jonathan hall private menber
35 Phil Hunt Mapperley CC
36 Stuart Lindsey St Ives CC
37 Jonny Noton Clay Cross Road Team
38 Tom Bailey Rutland CC
39 Christopher Carter Witham Wheelers Cycling Club



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,