Report: Women’s Team Series – Nazeby

Elinor Barker wins the latest round of the Women’s Team Series at Nazeby

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

From Jon Miles … The finish of the Women’s Team Race Series event, held at Naseby with generous sponsorship from Duncan Murray’s Wines and organised by the Welland Valley CC, proved to have a sting in the tail as Eve Dixon (Champion Systems/Maxgear RT), although crossing the line first, was demoted to 18th place after what the race commissaire thought was an irregularity.

This course usually provides some good racing with its rolling roads but for some reason the riders, for two laps at least, almost ambled along which had the unfortunate outcome of allowing the men’s race to catch them so the race was stopped to allow the men in the break to get by and it was here that doubt crept in as to whether Eve had taken advantage of that when she broke clear with four miles of the race remaining.

The main hill on the course whittled the bunch down each lap; Siobhan McNamara (Vivelo Bikes) crashed with 38 miles covered thankfully without any serious injuries. After 24 miles, Elinor Barker (Scott Contessa Epic) tried to get away but was only allowed two miles of freedom before she was reeled in. Amy Roberts also of Scott Contessa Epic, tried a few miles later but again was brought back.

Louise Mahe (Mulebar Girls) was the next to attack with Rebecca Heath (VC St Raphael) getting across to her and this break lasted for 5 miles before the bunch brought them back.

Sarah Byrne (Cycle Premier-Kovert) was in most of the action all race, seemingly bringing back riders on her own. But the riders were now just concerned with that final mile with its long uphill finishing drag and so the race came to a conclusion not endorsed by all riders.

1. Elinor Barker Scott Contessa Epic
2. Hannah Barnes Impsport Team A
3. Karla Boddy High Wycombe CC
4. Amy Roberts Scott Contessa Epic
5. Lowri Bunn Abergavenny RC
6. Penny Rowson Matrix Fitness
7. Molly Weaver Scott Contessa Epic
8. Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness
9. Gabriella Shaw Viored RT
10. Tamina Oliver Abegavenny RT
11. Lara Massey Abergavenny
12. Rebecca Heath VC St Raphael
13. Nicola Soden Champion Systems/Maxgear RT
14. Vanessa Whitfield VC St Raphael
15. Stephania Magri GB Cycles
16. Anna Fischer Champions Systems/Maxgear RT
17. Sarah Byrne Abegavenny RT
18. Eve Dixon Champion Systems/Maxgear RT
19. Ellie Gilham VC St Raphael
20. Lauren Brown Champion Systems/Maxgear RT
21. Louise Mahe Mulebar Girls
22. Harriet Owen Node 4 Giordana
23. Linda Young GB Cycles
24. Jo Tindley VC St Raphael
25. Iona Sewell GB Cycles
26. Nikola Butler Impsport Team A
27. Sian Findlay Team Zappi
28. Chantelle Rothe Impsport Team A
29. Emily Kay Scott Contessa Epic
30. Jessica Hill Cardiff Ajax


1. Scott Contessa Epic 344 points
2 Abergavenny RC 236 points
3 Impsport Team A 182 points
4 VC St Raphael 158 points
5 Champion Systems/Maxgear RT 158 points
6 Matrix Fitness 145 points
7 High Wycombe CC 115 points
8 GB Cycles 101 points
9 For Viored RT 60 points
10 Mulebar Girls 32 points
11 Node 4 Giordana 31 points
12 Team Zappi 26 points
13 Cardiff Ajax 23 points


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,