Report: South Region Circuit Race Championships

Colin Parry (Wilier/Live2ride) soloed the last lap to win the South Circuit Champs at a very wet Castle Combe Motor Racing Circuit just outside Chippenham in Wiltshire.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

By Graham Robins 

Colin tried several times to get away, and on each occasion he was reeled in by the bunch but after persevering, he along with team mate Toby Eichler and Grant Bayton (Ride 24/7) they eventually broke the elastic and got away from the bunch.

Very heavy rain along with thunder and lightning was the order of the day as the racing was hampered throughout its entire length. The race was very steady to start with riders trying to get away and coming back to the bunch until about half distance when Colin got away pulling Toby and Grant with him.

Ben Luckwell, Colin’s team mate was on the front of the bunch to help control it as riders tried to bridge the gap. As the laps ticked down the leaders had a sizeable gap and as they approached the finish line at the bell Colin made his final attack pulling away to lead the final lap alone. Grant was second and Toby third.

Provisional Result

1. Colin Parry Wilier/Live to Ride
2. Grant Bayton Ride 24/7
3. Toby Eichler Wilier/Live to Ride
4. Benjamin Luckwell Wilier/Live to Ride
5. Nicholas Tilling GWR Team/Swindon Cycles/High5/Kalas/Giant
6. Rowan Horner VC St Raphael
7. Toby Neave Primera-Specialized
8. Paul Merryweather Bristol RC
9. Elliot Davis Team Tor 2000
10. John Russell Strada Cycles
11. James Ebdon Wightlink Cycle RT
12. Justin Hoy Felt-Colbornes RT
13. Ian Rees Wilier/Live to Ride
14. Martin Smith Primal Europe Powered By
15. Tavis Walker Wilier/Live to Ride
16. George Harper Felt-Colbornes RT
17. Mitch Evans Ride 24/7
18. Jason Streather VC St Raphael
19. Will Stephenson Primera-Specialized
20. Chris Boote Zappi’s Cycling Club
21. Jay Eastwood Primera-Specialized
22. Jack Adams Zappi’s Cycling Club
23. Sam Arnold Salisbury Road and Mountain CC
24. David Hutchison VC St Raphael
25. Adrian Lawson Cadence Cannondale
28. Matthew Franklin Bristol RC
29. Stuart Thompson Andover Whls
30. Kieran Blair VC Bristol – Webbs of Warmley Cycles
31. Matthew Ullmer Team Traveller
32. Sam Baker Wightlink Cycle RT
33. Mark Munns Ride 24/7
34. Glyndwr Griffiths RT
36. Thomas Marshall Wilier/Live to Ride
37. John Heaton-Armstrong Felt-Colbornes RT

Earlier in the day saw the races for the Junior and Women along with the masters. The women’s race was won by Ellie Gilham (VC St Raphael) ahead of Nikki Wheeler (Team Wiggle) and Alex Stubbs (Chippenham Wheelers). The junior race was a hard fought affair with a strong group getting away soon into the race and staying away. Lap after lap they eased away from the bunch and finally with three laps to go they were all working together. As they came back into sight on the last lap all five were together and it was Jordan Wade (VC St Raphael) winning a closely fought sprint?

Provisional Result


1. Jordan Wade VC St Raphael
2. Ben Le Brocq Jersey Cycling Association
3. Andy Shackel VC St Raphael
4. Harry Veale I-Team Cyclists’ Club
5. Luke Davies VC St Raphael
6. Joshua Day Offcamber
7. Daniel Marshall Bristol Cycling Development Squad
8. Adam Beddall Gloucester City CC
9. Sean Townsend Gloucester City CC
10. Jordan Sewery
11. Jack Sawyer Bristol RC


1 Ellie Gilham VC St Raphael
2 Nicola Wheeler
3 Alex Stubbs

1. James McLoughlin Gloucester City CC
2. Ian Donohue Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
3. Ian Humble Gloucester City CC
4. Richard Pearman Team Wiggle
5. Aled Jones Gloucester City CC
6. Scott Oatridge Cycle Club Basingstoke
7. Kevin Jones
8. David Harper Andover Whls
9. Paul Walsingham Bid Pro Cycles
10. Darren Taylor Bristol Cycling Development Squad
11. Peter Humphreys Gillingham and District Wheelers/Wheels Cycles
12. Joseph Green Bristol & District Triathletes (BAD Tri)
13. Stuart Curtis Chippenham & Dist Whls
14. Mark Green Offcamber
15. Donald Pearce Westbury Wheelers
16. Kevin Foster Wightlink Cycle RT
17. Tony Solon Cadence RT
18. Number Obscured
19. Andrew Roberts GWR Team/Swindon Cycles/High5/Kalas/Giant
20. Lee Norris
21. Norman Mellors Hantspol CC

The morning started with a race for non-South riders in the third and fourth categories. The riders stayed together throughout the race with the race coming down to a sprint.

Provisional Result


1. Henry Dawson Prestige Velo Club
2. Blair Morgan
3. Dave Bentley Somerset RC – Bicycle Chain
4. Mark Field Addiscombe CC
5. Matthew Derrick Dream Cycling
6. Martin Evans
7. Alan Harris High Wycombe Cycling Club
8. Ian Jeffery Yeovil CC
9. Andrew Gaylard Yeovil CC
10. Kate Burley


The next race was for E/1/2 non-south riders. After the first lap George Rose (Cycle Coaching Wales RT) pulled away and opened a gap of about ten seconds. The bunch looked content to roll around and bide their time. After three more laps Andy Hoskins (Cardiff Jif) made the junction and these two riders extend the gap to fifteen seconds.

These two riders then extended the lead to thirty seconds and they looked safe until they were joined by three riders, Jack Adams (Zappi’s), Phil Holloway (Southern Wheelers) and Henry Latimer (Dream Cycling). The gap to the bunch was reduced as these five riders organised themselves but once sorted the gap went out again.

With three laps to go the five became seven as first George Boote (Zappi’s) then Chris Snook ( got across. These riders now well clear of the bunch took the bell and then it was all down to who had the legs as they raced towards the line. With a hundred meters to go Jack Adams eased away and Chris Snook took the bunch sprint.

Provisional Result

1. Jack Adams Zappi’s Cycling Club
2. Chris Snook Banjo
3. Chris Boote Zappi’s Cycling Club
4. Philip Holloway Southend Wheelers
5. Andy Hoskins Cardiff JIF
6. George Rose Cycle Coaching Wales RT
7. Henry Latimer Dream Cycling
8. James Jones Beeline Bicycles RT
9. Richard Williamson Gannet CC
10. John Hollier Team Tor 2000
11. Michael Tarling West Wales Cycle Racing Team
12. Mark Field Addiscombe CC
13. Bevan Humphreys RT
14. Iain Bullar Gannet CC


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,