Eneco Tour, Stage 1 – Blythe 5th

BMC’s Taylor Phinney and Adam Blythe avoided a crash in the final two kilometers of Monday’s opening stage of the Eneco Tour of Benelux to finish third and fifth, respectively.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Blythe and Phinney and teammates Marcus Burghardt, Manuel Quinziato and Greg Van Avermaet were prominent at the front of the peloton as the speed ramped up in the final minutes of the 203.9 km race. When several riders touched wheels within sight of the final kilometer, Phinney and Blythe were able to stay in contention for the sprint, which was won by Marcel Kittel (Argos-Shimano) ahead of Arnaud Demare (FDJ-Big Mat).

Win for Marcel Kittell. Blythe is fifth. Photo: Thomas van Bracht

Phinney said he had hoped to lead out Blythe for the sprint, but lost contact with him in the final kilometre. “Other than that, it would have been perfect,” the US Olympian said. “When I didn’t see Adam behind me, I waited for him to come up. Once I tried to launch my leadout, it was already 300 meters to go so that’s why you see me third and him in fifth. He was coming from a little bit too far back.”

No riders from the BMC Racing Team were involved in the crash, which says Assistant Director Max Sciandri said, bodes well for Tuesday’s 18.9 km team time trial. “With the team we have here, we want to be in the top three,” Sciandri said.

Photo: Thomas van Bracht

Marcel Kittell.  Photo: Thomas van Bracht

Stage 1
1. Marcel Kittel Argos-Shimano 05:38:28
2. Arnaud Demare Equipe Cycliste FDJ – BigMat @ same time
3. Taylor Phinney BMC Racing Team @ same time
4. Heinrich Haussler Garmin – Sharp @ same time
5. Adam Blythe BMC Racing Team @ same time
6. Michael Van Staeyen Topsport Vlaanderen – Mercator @ same time
7. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil Movistar Team @ same time
8. Frederique Robert Lotto – Belisol Team @ same time
9. Jacopo Guarnieri Astana Pro Team @ same time
10. Giacomo Nizzolo RadioShack – Nissan @ same time

14. Alex Dowsett Sky Procycling @ same time
18. Tom Boonen Omega Pharma – Quickstep @ same time
22. Theo Bos Rabobank Cycling Team @ same time
26. Alessandro Petacchi Lampre – ISD @ same time
131. David Millar Garmin – Sharp @ same time
132. Jeremy Hunt Sky Procycling @ same time
138. Jack Bauer Garmin – Sharp @ same time
164. Luke Rowe Sky Procycling @ 7.31


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK