Report: Percy Stallard Series

Report, results and photos from the LVRC Veterans National Percy Stallard Road Race Series, the Fareham Wheelers Autumn Road Race

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Graham Robins report and photos – Sunday 19th August

This year’s race, the 33rd running of Fareham Wheelers CC event, was round five of the LVRC Road Race series. The race was held on the Milburys course near Corehampton after being moved from its original course on Portsdown Hill due to unfinished road works.

The course was on an eight and half mile a lap and each group had to contest either five, six or seven laps depending on age. It was a hot and sunny day and there were surprisingly few retirements, however each group did split and some riders managed to catch the back of the group in front of them.

Each group left the HQ in the pretty village of Kilmeston close to Alresford in the top corner of the Hampshire countryside. Once the race gets underway same gaps appear but the nature of this hilly course aids in bringing them back together.

First on the road the ‘younger’ A and B group sees the entire bunch together for the first few laps. The C and D group has some movement as first Chris Beales (La Fuga- Sigma Sport) and then on the second lap he is joined by Simon Williams (Hillingdon CC/ fit4life) start to build up a lead over their respective group.

The older members of the race are content to roll together for the first few laps carefully watching the lap board tick down. The race then gets confusing as different riders are caught, dropped and then picked up by the next group on the road. Confusion reigns and it’s not until the different group hear the bell that the race begins to make sense.

The A and B group is lead by three riders Roy Sumner (Port Sunlight Wheelers), Andy Eagers (Derby Mercury RC) and Tim Costello (GS Vecchi/Phantom Motors). The Cand D group is lead by Paul Caton (Anders TMG Horizon RC), John Alderman (Ciclisti Vecchi) and Steve Johnson (Slipstream Imagelo). The E,F and G group is a little closer with Alan Kemp (Weaver Valley CC), Dan Parry (Team Corley), Ray Robinson (LVRC) and Barry Jones (Cycles Dauphin) contesting the lead.


A Group
1st Roy Summer
2nd Ian Cooper
3rd Mark Sheppard

B Group
1st Andy Eagers
2nd Tim Costello
3rd Robin Parker
4th Mike Twelves
5th Roland Tilley

C Group
1st Paul Caton and winner of the Peter Rigby Shield
2nd John Alderman
3rd Steve Johnson
4th Simon Williams
5th Robert Cranstone
6th Brian Parry

D Group
1st Jimmy Rutherford and winner of the Mike Wilson Plaque
2nd Martin Hulbert
3rd John French
4th D Harper

E Group
1st Alan Kemp and winner of the Derek Witt Plaque
2nd Don Parry
3rd Ray Robinson
4th Pay Palin
5th Dave Wood

F Group
1st Barry Jones
2nd Mick Murkin
3rd Bill Cotton
4th Bill Rains
5th John Leitch

G Group
1st Mick Ives
2nd Peter Ryalls

1st Carol Tilly




RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , , ,