Report: GWR’s Flood lit Winter cyclo cross series

The second round of the GWR team Flood lit Winter cyclo cross series continued on the 27th September with the support of new series partner

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

The course, which is being run in reverse this year was dry and fast even after a week of rain. The woods were actually faster due to the corners a little more tacky form the rain. With 20 riders pre entering on line, the evening saw a total of 52 rider signing on for the second round. The battle for the series prize a free training camp with Cycling Holidays Spain looks to be a two horse race between current leader Lewis King and second place Paul Lloyd. Nothing is guaranteed though as it’s a five race series with all five counting so a slip up in any of the three round remaining could open the door for other challengers.

The second round saw Crispin Doyle, summer series winner, return to action after his ‘training camp’ in Oman! Form the Gun Crispin took the lead with series leader Lewis King and Paul Lloyd following close behind. Crispin pushed hard for the first few laps to open a gap which held to the line for his first win of the 2012 winter cyclo cross season. round 1 winner, Lewis King, was beaten on the last lap in a close battle with Paul Lloyd for 2nd place. But Lewis retains his lead of the series by 1 point from Paul with three round remaining. They have an 8 point advantage over 3rd place Scott Chappel.

There was not a prize presentation after the race as all the evening rounds prizes shall be presented during one prize presentation on the 14th October 2012. So if you place in the top three or are the 1st placed Women Veteran or Junior rider in the 1st round make sure you come along on the 14th October to claim your prize!

Full results are:
1 Crispin Doyle
2 Paul Lloyd
3 Lewis King
4 Mike Simpson
5 Scott Chalmers
6 Peter Kench
7 Scott Chappell
8 Adam Studholme
9 Andy Webb
10 Dan Smith
11 Pete Hutchinson
12 Dave Wadsworth
13 Christopher Rothwell
14 Steve Dance
15 Pete Scott
16 Tony Davis
17 Aaron Tayler
18 Steve Brown
19 Steve Jones
20 Tom Holden
21 Stuart Thompson
22 Ian Daws
23 Andy Roberts
24 Charles Brown
25 Tom Underhill
26 Neil Dunnage
27 Andy Smith
28 Greg Thomson
29 Stephen Longman
30 Claire Smith
31 Adam Beddall
32 Tom Sewell
33 Chris Boote
34 Ruby Baker
35 Richard Lewis
36 Simon Edwards-Parton
37 Simon Hudson
38 Fraser MacDonald
39 Peter Tesar
40 David Scott
41 Michael Taylor
42 Claire Galloway
43 William Fossell
44 Matt Antrobus
45 Chris Tatton
46 Peter Tesar
47 Albert Baker
48 Richard Bennett
49 Paul Wood
50 Ian Hobbs

Dates for the next rounds are as follows for 2012
Rnd 3 04th October Supermarine Rugby Club
Rnd 4 11th October Supermarine Rugby Club
Rnd 5 14th October Supermarine Rugby Club

All evening races start at 7:30pm for S/J/V/W and are £12.00 either online or on the day. Pre entry shall be via the online service using British cycling’s website so if your planning to ride the events then enter today to avoid disappointment.



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,