Report: Stocksbridge CC Hill Climb

RST/Trigon rider Gunnar Gronlund wins the Stocksbridge CC/Irwin Mitchell Solicitors/Claremont Hospital/Sage Cycles hill climb, held on 30th September on Pea Royd Lane, Stocksbridge.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Stewart Smith reports …

2011 National Hill Climb Champion, Gunnar Gronlund (RST-Trigon bikes) stormed to victory on a windswept Pea Royd Lane hill, scene of the 2009 National Championships.

Gunnar, looking resplendent in his National Champion’s jersey, covered the shorter distance in a time of 2.28.6, with runner up Lee Baldwin (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles) just 3.6 seconds behind finishing in a time of 2.32.2.

Gunnar … Photo sent in by Ian Revitt

Taking 3rd place was local rider, James Allen from Sheffrec CC who stomped up the hill in a time of 2.34.0. Fastest veteran was Matthew Williams (Fusion CC Dronfield) who finished just 0.8 seconds in front of 2nd veteran Trevor Mayne (Birdwell Wheelers) – 3.19.0 and 3.19.8.

Fastest lady was Nicola Soden (Champion System/Maxgear/Kykios) who finished with a time of 3.53.4. The final category was for riders aged 18 and under, fastest of these was Sam Mansfield (Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles) with a time of 3.09.0 where he also finished 6th overall. Second in the 18 and under category was Andrew Cutts (Birdwell Wheelers) who covered the 860 yard hill in 3.50.9.

1st Gunnar Gronlund Rst-Trigon 2.28.6
2nd Lee Baldwin Buxton Cc/Sett Valley Cycles 2.32.2
3rd James Allen Sheffrec Cc 2.34.0
4th Paul Armstrong Sheffrec Cc 2.59.1
5th Stuart Baker Buxton Cc/Sett Valley Cycles 2.59.7
6th Sam Mansfield Buxton Cc/Sett Valley Cycles 3.09.0
7th Matthew Williams Fusion Cc Dronfield 3.19.0
8th Trevor Mayne Birdwell Wheelers 3.19.8
9th Steve Wood Stocksbridge Cc/Irwin Mitchell Solicitors/Claremont Hospital/Sage Cycles 3.26.9
10th Andy Whitehead Stocksbridge Cc/Irwin Mitchell Solicitors/Claremont Hospital/Sage Cycles 3.37.2
11th Andrew Robins Stocksbridge Cc/Irwin Mitchell Solicitors/Claremont Hospital/Sage Cycles 3.39.7
12th Lee Cairns Rossington Wheelers 3.40.8
13th Andrew Cutts Birdwell Wheelers 3.50.9
14th Nicola Soden Champion System/Maxgear/Kykios 3.53.4
15th Jonathan Baines Buxton Cc/Sett Valley Cycles 4.06.3
16th Richard Towse Buxton Cc/Sett Valley Cycles 4.18.6
17th Paul Heggie Birdwell Wheelers 4.31.1


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,