Results: Blackhawk Bikes Autumn Round 3

Senior winners at round 3 of the Blackhawk Bikes Autumn Cup were Matthew Kipling, Iona Sewell, Ian Beveridge & Crian Purvis (September 30)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


Blackhawk Bikes Elite/1/2 Race

Kipling – exceedingly desperate
Matt Kipling, the Velo29 star rider, the sprinter, the climber, the speedy caveman dieting has-been from Bishop Auckland, kept his head cool, his feet swift and, cleverly disguising his sheer desperation to bag a result, scored his first win of 2012, thrashing Alan Nixon (Blackhawk Bikes) and Dan Whelan (Omnipex – Bioracer) in a 5-up sprint.

With only one race remaining on the North East calendar, the desperado win was a well-timed effort and should do no harm for contract renewal discussions with Velo29. Back in the heady months of February 2012 Kipling, the washed-up Raleigh man of 2011, was able to broker a deal to include an impressive two flashy carbon bikes for signing on the dotted 29 line. With his big Prissick win catapulting him to 2nd place in the Blackhawk Bikes/Chapters Hotel Autumn Cup, there was talk of Kipling commanding perhaps three or maybe even four Velo29 bikes for the 2013 season. No one dares think what could happen if he takes the final race and the series on October 7th.

Slippery bench
The man to miss out was white jersey series leader and Points leader Andrew James Martin (Godleys Cycles) who had recently suffered a freak accident involving a bench, a knee and a young woman. With a badly swollen knee, the round 1 winner and round 2 runner-up was left to watch from the sidelines and marvel at Kipling the Desperate mopping up the points. With a purse of £150 for the overall leader and Points winner, the Australian Martin who’s spent the majority of the season racing the Belgian amateur circuit might be forgiven for cursing the slippery bench. Also making up ground was cyclo cross expert Nixon, now lurking menacingly on 22 points, just three behind Kipling and five shy of Martin.

The Mule Bar Café Cortado Gel Womens Event
Iona Sewell (GB Cycles) was the best of the females in the women’s only event. Forming a break of three, the trio of Sewell, Katherine Broadbent (Durham University) and Jo Blackburn (Team Swift) extended their lead on the chasing riders with Sewell taking the sprint from Broadbent and Blackburn.

Chapters Hotel 3rd/4th cat Race

Beveridge celebrates
Ian Beveridge (Sunderland Clarion) notched up his second win of the season, the first being back in March in a 4th cat only event. Having now tasted victory in a 3rd cat race surely in 2013 he’ll be looking to progress to 2nd category podiums. His strong riding and fast legs saw him dive away the last lap, stealing the win from the consistent private member Richard Ranson and huge local youth rider Matty Worton (Hetton Hawks).

A big attack with 10 k to go by the feisty Carlisle youth rider Harry Craig (Border City Wheelers) saw him gain a half minute’s advantage. The crowd was excited, and the win was looking good. But as the laps ticked down, so too Craig’s strength, and so too did his comfy gap and he was finally gobbled up with three laps remaining.

Rob Hamill (Achieve Cycle Coaching) was on fire for most of the race. He escaped on his own for two long stretches, doing enough to pick up one of the primes and also the Fletchers Farm Cream Teas for Four Animateur prize for his aggressive firey riding.

White jersey series leader Matt Theaker finished down in 5th place, but extended his points tally to 31, giving a four point cushion on second placed Neil Hendry (Dirtwheel Cycles). Richard Ranson sits in third on 24 points.

The House of Yarm 4th cat Race

Purvis strikes for home
Crian Purvis (Ilkely CC) took a last lap dive off the front of the bunch to catch the solo escapee Youth rider Ben Honeysett (Stockton Wheelers). Working together, the pair bravely held the chasing pack at bay, with Purvis taking a fine victory. Just seconds behind, Iona Sewell (GB Cycles) unleashed a terrific sprint to nab the final podium place.

Bean counter
Spectator Shaun Teasdale (JMJ Accountants) was one happy bean counter after snatching the Cream Teas for Four Super Sweepstake prize for picking the winning Purvis ticket, narrowly beating photographer Arthur Thompson, who had his money riding on the faltering Honeysett horse.

The Big Bad Eliminator

Theaker delivers
Matt Theaker (Achieve Cycle Coaching) took a nail-biting win in the exciting Eliminator event clinching victory from 2011 National Junior Hill Climb Champion Josh Teasdale (Omega Pharma Lotto) and speedy youth rider Scott Auld (Stockton Wheelers). Theaker was perhaps aided with the early controversial elimination of past double winner Marcus Smith (Blackhawk Bikes), who was later heard to be suggesting with some vitriol, that the line judges really ought to spend a few hours in the local Spec Savers.

Youth Racing

Scott Auld (Stockton Wheelers) celebrated triumphantly in the Youth Boys A scratch and Eliminator, whilst in the Youth B Boys Scratch Hamish Turnbull (Tyneside Vagabonds) took a double victory from Robert Gray (Clifton CC) and Richie Allen (Newcastle phoenix). In the Eliminator Turnbull took a well timed flyer to leave in his wake Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix) and Robert Gray (Clifton CC)

Aaron Preston (Cleveland Wheelers) was too fast for Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers) and Joe Wilson (Stockton Wheelers) in the Youth Boys C Eliminator and again too fast for Oliver Dollimore (Hetton Hawks) in the Scratch race. In the Youth Boys D, Hugo Lutz-Atkinson (unattached) got the best of Peter Gower (unattached) and Max Lutz-Atkinson (unattached), but in the scratch results were reversed with Gower taking the plaudits ahead of Hugo.

Daniel Holmes (Tyneside Vagabonds) dominated the Youth Boys E with victory over Patrick Kilcullen (Stockton Wheelers) and Joel Hurt (Stockton Wheelers) in both the Scratch and Eliminator. Sam Verrill (Stockton Wheelers) was a pedal ahead of Mia Richardson (Clifton CC) in the Youth Girls taking victory in both the Eliminator and the Scratch races. Lauren Kilcullen took the Girls E events.


National B
1 Matthew Kipling
2 Alan Nixon
3 Dan Whelan
4 James Dunlop
5 Josh Teasdale
6 Matty Cooper
7 Marcus Smith
8 Simon Davidson
9 Chris Fothergill
10 Mike Guymer
11 Scot Bullivant

1 Iona Sewell
2 Katherine Broadbent
3 Jo Blackburn
4 Karen Poole
5 Gabriella Nordin
6 Clare Lowe

1 Ian Beveridge
2 Richard Ranson
3 Matthew Worton
4 Jacob Kriehn
5 Mathew Theaker
6 Stuart Burrows
7 Robert Hamill
8 Alex Foster
9 Crian Purvis
10 Harry Craig

4ths Only
1 Crian Purvis
2 Ben Honeysett
3 Iona Sewell
4 Balats Somogyi
5 Jo Blackburn
6 Katherine Broadbent
7 Greg Fletcher
8 Gabriella Nordin
9 Andrew Hall
10 Matthew O’Connor

1 Mathew Theaker
2 Josh Teasdale
3 Scott Auld
4 Ian Beveridge
5 Marcus Smith
6 Crian Purvis
7 Robert Hamill
8 Jacob Kriehn
9 Stuart Burrows
10 Jo Blackburn


Under 16 Girls
1. Sam Verrill
2. Mia Richardson

Under 16 Boys
1st Scott Auld

Under 14 Boys
1st William Turnbull
2nd Jake Dobson
3rd Robert Gray

Race 2
1st William Turnbull
2nd Robert Gray
3rd Richie Allen
Under 12
1st Aaron Preston
2nd Toby Tanfield
3rd Joe Wilson

Race 2
1st Aaron Preston
2nd Oliver Dollimore
3rd Joe Wilson
Under 10 Boys
1st Hugo Lutz-Atkinson
2nd Peter Gower
3rd Max Lutz-Atkinson

Race 2
Peter Gower
Hugo Lutz-Atkinson
Under 10 Girls
1st Lauren Kilkullen

Under 8
1st Daniel Holmes
2nd Patrick Kilcullen
3rd Joel Hurt

Race 2
1st Daniel Holmes
2nd Patrick Kilcullen
3rd Joel Hurt



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,