2012 UCI World Masters Track Cycling Championships

The first day of competition at the Manchester Velodrome saw nine titles being awarded in the Time Trial discipline for men.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes


October 6-14, 2012 | Day 1: Sunday, October 7, 2012
Website:  http://www.cyclingmasters.com/ 

The first day of competition in the 2012 UCI World Masters Track Cycling Championships commenced at the Manchester Velodrome on Sunday, October 7th, with nine titles being awarded in the Time Trial discipline for men. There were also new world bests set in two of the age groups.

Dave Le Grys on his way to another World Masters title

Great Britain and Australia shared the majority of the honours with British riders winning four titles and the Aussies three while the USA and France won the other two remaining categories on a very successful opening day of racing with 400 entries from 27 countries making it one of the most popular competitions ever held.

Men 35-39 Time Trial

In a truly international competition, Great Britain’s Ben Elliott was fastest in the kilometre for men aged between 35-39 when he recorded a time of 1.6.338 to beat his nearest rival Mark Jewell from Australia by over a second.

Third was Terry Mackin of Ireland with 1.08.118 with 11 riders taking to the start including riders from Britain, Ireland, Australia, South Africa, Holland, Switzerland and France.

1st Benedict ELLIOTT (GBR) 1.06.338
2nd Mark JEWELL (AUS) 1.07.866
3rd Terry MACKIN (IRL) 1.08.118

Men 40-44 Time Trial
Thirty riders from ten countries competed for the rainbow jersey with Australian Gavin White quickest over three laps of the track to win yet another masters title. He beat Britain’s Neil Potter by fourth tenths of a second in the 750 metre time trial. Allen Vugrincic from the USA in third .

1st Gavin WHITE (AUS) 49.870
2nd Neil POTTER (GBR) 50.282
3rd Allen VUGRINCIC (USA) 50.564

Men 45-49 Time Trial
There was another title for the Australian camp when Chris Murray set a new world best for the age category in the time trial over 750 metres. The Aussie beat Denmark’s Bernhard Franspotter and Britain’s Phil Houlton in the three lap event contested by seventeen riders.

1st Chris MURRAY (AUS) 48.645 (unofficial new world best time for the age group)
2nd Bernhard FRANSPOTTER (DEN) 50.074
3rd Phil HOULTON (GBR) 50.473

Men 50-54 Time Trial

The sound of the Australian anthem sounded out again for this age category when Aussie Geoff Stoker pipped British rider Adrian Dent to the title over 500 metres. Stoker was the only rider to get under 35 seconds less than a tenth ahead of Dent. Todd Hayes of the USA was third a few tenths of shy of Dent’s time.

1st Geoff STOKER (AUS) 34.905
2nd Adrian DENT (GBR) 35.098
3rd Todd HAYES (USA) 35.339

Men 55-59 Time Trial
One of the World’s most prolific winners of Masters titles, Dave Le Grys of Britain was half a second quicker than his rivals to win this title in a time only a few hundredths shy of the current world’s best. Le Grys beat fellow Brit and prolific medallist in masters competitions, Steve Cronshaw and James Thiele of the USA.

1st David Le Grys (GBR) 35.074
2nd Steve CRONSHAW (GBR) 35.505
3rd James THIELE (USA) 36.022

Men 60-64 Time Trial
After the dominance by Britain and Australia in so many of the other categories, it was a Frenchman, Marc Dangleterre who took this title with a 37 second ride over two laps of the track. Dangleterre beat Keith MacBeth from the USA and Angelo Onofri from Italy. Best Brit was the North East’s Steve Davies who explained afterwards he was very pleased in his ‘weak’ event to be so close to the riders above him. The event saw 24 riders race for the medals.

1st Marc DANGLETERRE (FRA) 37.051
2nd Keith MACBETH (USA) 37.368
3rd Angelo ONOFRI (ITA) 37.421

Men 65-69 Time Trial

The ever popular Geoff Cooke, former coach to GB , won this title over 500 metres by a second from fellow Brit David Rowe. Third was Graziano Pantosti.

1st Geoff COOKE (GBR) 37.475
2nd David ROWE (GBR) 38.458
3rd Graziano PANTOSTI (ITA) 38.969

Men 70-74 Time Trial

There was another new world’s best in this age category when Leo Menestrina of the USA raced around the 250 metre track twice in a time of 38.574 to win Gold. He beat Trinidadian Earl Henry and Peter Smith of Britain.

1st Leo Menestrina (USA) 38.574 (unofficial new world best time for the age group)
2nd Earl HENRY (TRI) 40.018
3rd Peter SMITH (GBR) 40.095

Men 75+ Time Trial
In the final race of the evening, Walter Fowler of Britain clinched the title with a two second plus beating of fellow Brit Derek Thurrell. Roy Savery was third in the category which was contested by all British riders.

1st Walter FOWLER (GBR) 42.402
2nd Derek THURRELL (GBR) 44.884
3rd Roy SAVERY (GBR) 45.962

More photos to follow …

Tickets are now available at the door during the championships. Ticket prices are very modest with all day prices at £8 and £5 for concessions during the week and £10 and £5 for concessions for the final two days. All ticket holders will also receive a free souvenir programme together with a daily update sheet containing full details of the programme for each day.



RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,