Report: Lyme Racing Club Hill Climb

Matt Clinton wins the Lyme Racing Club Hill Climb on Mow Cop in Cheshire (Sunday 14th October)

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

After a year’s absence, the Lyme Racing Club Hillclimb on the ‘Killer Mile’ at Mow Cop returned to the calendar with a record entry of 65 riders, including 18 juniors and juveniles.

A cold, clear morning offered spectators fantastic views across the Cheshire Plain as the riders battled up the 25% gradient final section of the climb. The climb’s similarity to this year’s National Hillclimb Championships at The Rake in Lancashire helped to attract a strong field including several regular event winners such as Lee Baldwin (Buxton CC), Charles Taylor (South Pennine RC) and 2008 National Champion Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles).

Early starters included Joe Swinnerton (Lyme Racing Club) who claimed the fastest juvenile prize with 6:21.4 ahead of teammate Alex Copp and Dan Minor. Sarah Byrne (Cycle Premier – Kovert) was the fastest of the three ladies entrants in a time of 5:59.5, closely followed by Joanna Clay (Leek CC) who was four seconds back. The fastest junior prize went to 16 year old Harry Shackleton who also took 6th overall with an impressive 5:04.3. Harry’s teammate Tom Bracegirdle and Jack Robinson (Seamons CC) took 2nd and 3rd junior prizes respectively.

After two Hillclimb victories the previous day on Holme Moss and Jackson Bridge, Matt Clinton was unsure whether to ride fixed or gears for Mow Cop, eventually settling on riding 42 x 21 fixed after previewing the course. Matt went on to record 4:24.8, smashing the course record previously held by Jim Henderson in 2008 with 4:36.0. This gave Matt a comfortable 15 second margin over Lee Baldwin (Buxton CC) with Charles Taylor (South Pennine RC) taking 3rd place a further 10 seconds behind. Baldwin was backed up by Chris Baines (4th overall) and Sam Mansfield (18th) to help Buxton CC claim the team prize.

I (Will Corden) would like to extend my thanks to all who helped to make the event a success and I look forward to building to a bigger and better event next year. Many thanks to all riders for supporting the event and I’d like to wish the very best of luck to those competing in the National Hillclimb Championships in two weeks time.

Photos here ….

Lyme Racing Club

1 Matt Clinton Mike Vaughan Cycles M 04:24.8
2 Lee Baldwin Buxton CC M 04:40.4
3 Charles Taylor South Pennine RC M 04:49.8
4 Chris Baines Buxton CC M 04:56.3
5 Mark Tickle Leigh Premier RC M 05:00.3
6 Harry Shackleton Team Elite Jun 05:04.3
7 Matt Cartlidge Stone Wheelers M 05:05.7
8 Declan Byrne Cycle Premier – Kovert M 05:10.9
9 Andrew Magnier Node4 – Giordana RT M 05:11.9
10 Tom Bracegirdle Team Elite Jun 05:23.5
11 Jack Robinson Seamons CC Jun 05:28.1
12 Stuart Stirland Edinburgh RC – SCU M 05:30.1
13 Dylan Sharrock Weaver Valley CC Jun 05:33.5
14 Andy Leigh Velocity Racing Team Jun 05:35.8
15 Nick Decker Congleton CC M 05:37.0
16 Giles Bett Weaver Valley CC M 05:39.3
17 Jon Wood Coventry CC M 05:39.5
18 Sam Mansfield Buxton CC Jun 05:43.8
19 Chris Wilcox Lyme Racing Club M 05:46.2
20 Bernard Swinnerton Lyme Racing Club M 05:48.3
21 Tom Leese Stone Wheelers M 05:48.9
22 Simon Buchanan Lyme Racing Club M 05:52.7
23 Dane Walker Team Ioptix – 010 Group M 05:56.8
24 Ian Shapiro Stockport Clarion CC M 05:57.7
25 Sarah Byrne Cycle Premier – Kovert L 05:59.5
26 Joe Pattison Lyme Racing Club Jun 06:00.0
27 James Tate Manchester Tri Club M 06:01.2
28 Keith Minor Lyme Racing Club M 06:03.2
29 Joanne Clay Leek CC L 06:03.8
30 George Edwards Lyme Racing Club Jun 06:08.1
31 Mike Jones Congleton CC M 06:08.9
32 Phil Bracegirdle Warrington Road Club M 06:15.4
33 Jolian Morris Newcastle RC 2001 M 06:18.3
34 Martin Parish Crewe Clarion Wheelers M 06:19.0
35 Joe Swinnerton Lyme Racing Club Juv 06:21.4
36 Jim Stringer Crewe Clarion Wheelers M 06:31.3
37 Alex Copp Lyme Racing Club Juv 06:44.2
38 Andrew Prince Crewe Clarion Wheelers M 06:47.3
39 Dan Minor Lyme Racing Club Juv 06:47.8
40 Barrie Whittaker Lyme Racing Club M 07:02.9
41 Duncan Wallis Manchester Wheelers M 07:07.6
42 James Brayford Lyme Racing Club Juv 07:08.4
43 Brett Lowndes Walsall Roads CC M 07:13.9
44 Michael Baskerville Lyme Racing Club M 07:19.4
45 Matthew Shaughnessy Lyme Racing Club Jun 07:30.6
46 Thomas Acha Oldbury & District CC Juv 07:33.4
47 Andrew Conroy Kidsgrove Wheelers M 07:46.7
48 Alex Powell Lyme Racing Club M 08:07.6
49 Glyn Edwards Lyme Racing Club M 08:11.0
50 Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme Racing Club Juv 08:20.2
51 Tom Hawkins Lyme Racing Club Juv 08:27.8
52 James Duncalf Lyme Racing Club Juv 08:32.1
53 Roger Duncalf Crewe Clarion Wheelers M 08:33.8
54 Martin Copp Lyme Racing Club M 09:21.8
55 Brian Powell Lyme Racing Club M 09:36.3
56 Steve Geraci Lyme Racing Club M 09:39.7


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: ,