Report: New Forest CC Boxing Day 10


Triathlete Tony Green beat the floods and the opposition to win the New Forest CC Boxing Day 10 mile time trial.

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

From, Eamonn Deane — click here for pictures!

Green is training for the Great Britain age-group Duathlon trials in February and book-ended his 22:59 winning ride with two 5km runs. Cancelled last year due to problems with entries being lost in the post, this year’s seasonal event was also in doubt due to heavy flooding on the course. However a brief respite in the weather saw the waters recede allowing the race to go ahead.

Iain Palmer (Twickenham CC) riding only his second ever time trial was a surprised runner up with 23:09. Staying with relatives in the area, the Middlesex visitor is more accustomed to road racing but intends to ride against the clock more often in 2013. Gary Lock from the promoting club snatched third place from pre-race favourite, Bryce Dyer (VC ST Raphael), Lock’s 23:12 just 4 seconds quicker than Dyer.

Louise Dutch (Poole Wh) clocked 26:36 to take the ladies award; Dutch raced in a Santa Claus outfit and picked up a further prize for her fancy dress effort. Sam Humpheson & Charlotte Easton (Look Mum no Hands) powered round in 23:28 to win the tandem race. Flooding at Avon on Christmas day had put the event in doubt but the go- ahead was given after an early morning inspection. It’s good to see this popular local race back on the calendar after last year’s problems. Organiser Maggie Bracher and the New Forest CC were determined to see the event go ahead this year and should be congratulated for persevering, as the song goes “You don’t know what you’ve got till its gone”

Provisional Result
1. T Green (G A Cycles) 22:59
2. I Palmer (Twickenham Cc) 23:09
3. G Lock (Nfcc) 23:12
4. B Dyer (Vc St Raphael/Waites Contracts) 23:16
5. N Frewin (Bjw) 23:50
6. R Ward (Vc St Raphael/Waites Contracts) 23:57
7. A Phipps (Rn&Rm) 24:02
8. S Martingale (Sotonia Cc) 24:04
9. N Webber (Colchester Rovers) 24:37
10. T Mcdowel (V02.Co.Uk) 24:49
11. S Peckham (Nfcc) 25:06
12. C Hughes (Nfcc) 25:24
13. P Wilson (Bournemouth Arrow) 26:09
14. M Beale (Vc St Raphael/Waites Contracts) 26:23
15. N Best (Bjw) 26:34
16. L Dutch (Poole Wh) (W) 26:36
17. C Rowe (Bjw) 26:41
18. K Bracher-Walsh (J) 26:51
19. R Hughes (Clarence Wh) 27:02
20. G Plumb (Nfcc) 27:04
21. P Underwood (Nfcc) 27:16
22. G Lenton (Nfcc) 27:26
23. J Dix (Nfcc) 27:48
24. W Soloman (Bjw) 27:52
25. J Chapman (Sotonia) 28:11
26. G Rowe (Bjw) 28:19
27. A Rowe (Bjw) 28:21
28. A Smith (Southdown Velo) (Juv) 28:32
29. T Reid (Nfcc) 29:20
30. B Garrard (Bournemouth Arrow) 29:35
31. D Loveless (Bjw) 30:16
32. C Shimman (Nfcc) 30:44
33. M Smith (Bognor Regis) 33:51
34. M Balk (Nfcc) 34: 49

1. S Humpreson & C Easton (Look Mum No Hands) 23:28
2. J Gee & P Cossburn (Sotonia Cc) 29:10
3. J Radford & N Wisby (Sotonia Cc) 42:19


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,