Bay Crits: Graham Briggs 10th in Finale


Raleigh’s Graham Briggs was 10th in the final round of the three race Bay Crits which saw him finish in 5th place overall behind the youngest ever winner since 1989, Caleb Ewan of Australia

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Mitch Docker took his first win in Orica-GreenEDGE colours on the third stage of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic. Besting Harry Carpenter (Team SASI) in a two-up sprint, Docker’s win in Williamstown capped off a hugely successful race series for the Australian outfit. Raleigh’s Graham Briggs was first British rider in 10th.

“We won two stages, the sprint classification and the team classification,” said Sport Director Matt Wilson. “Four of our five riders were in the top ten overall with Docker our best placed in third. It was a fantastic three days of racing for the team. We couldn’t hope for much more. The guys have shown they’re in good condition.”

Docker was elated to be an integral part of the team’s success. “This is my first win for the team, and my first win in several years, actually,” said Docker. “It’s always good to win for the team, and it’s a big confidence boost for me personally for the coming season. The team raced well together. Everyone had an important job, and we molded together to get the work done.”

A last minute adjustment to the race plan afforded Docker the opportunity to race for the stage win. “Originally, we had planned to work for Leigh Howard,” explained Wilson. “We wanted to take him up for the sprint and give him a chance to win the stage. Unfortunately, he came down with a virus overnight, and he wasn’t able to race today.”

“We changed our plan before the start,” Wilson continued. “We had two guys up on the overall, but we knew it was unlikely we could get a good combination of riders together up the road and we would need to do that to take out the series. We decided to stick with our plan to go for the stage win, and Durbo [Luke Durbridge], Docker and [Jens] Mouris could all take their chances.”

Docker made the most of the opportunity when he initiated the race winning move ten minutes into the final day of racing. His early attack opened a gap ahead of the first intermediate sprint. Carpenter joined Docker up the road ahead of the second intermediate sprint. Although a few riders attempted to bridge, the duo managed to hold off all chasers as they worked well together to stretch their gap out to nearly a minute.

Greg Henderson (Degani Bakery Café) jumped from the peloton ahead of the third intermediate sprint. His effort resulted in a reaction from the peloton that saw all chasers reabsorbed by the main bunch. The lead duo maintained a slim advantage heading into the final three laps.

“Carpenter attacked with a lap and half to go,” recalled Docker. “He attacked me from behind, so as soon as I got on his wheel, I stayed on it. I made him lead the sprint, and then I shot underneath him in the final corner. I made sure I was first one through that last corner. It’s maybe 250 metres from the line, and I sprinted from there.”

Docker won maximum points on all three intermediate sprints and landed the sprint jersey in addition to his stage win. He finished third on the general classification tied on points with Mouris in fourth and Durbridge in sixth. Leigh Howard managed ninth place despite missing the final day of racing.

“Last year we won the series overall with Allan Davis but never took a stage,” said Wilson. “This year, we took two stages. It’s been a good series for the team.”


Elite Men Stage 3 Result
1. Mitchell DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) 54:19
2. Harry CARPENTER (Team SASI) +0
3. Greg HENDERSON (Degani Bakery Café) +4
4. Shaun MCCARTHY (Team Budgetforklifts) +4
5. Caleb EWAN (Bikebug) +4
6. Jonathan CANTWELL (Bikebug) +4
7. Samuel WITMITZ (Raleigh) +4
8. Luke DAVISON (DRAPAC Professional) +6
9. Jens MOURIS (Orica GreenEDGE) +6
10. Graham BRIGGS (Raleigh) +6
11. Russell GILL (Team SASI) +6
12. Robert-Jon MCCARTHY (Team SASI) +11
13. Thomas SCULLY (Raleigh) +11
14. Rico ROGERS (Total Rush / Hyster Racing) +12
15. Simon YATES (GBR National Team) +12
16. Stuart GRIMSEY (Grays Online) +12
17. Aaron BUGGLE (Rapha Condor JLT) +16
18. Brenton JONES (Huon Salmon – Genesys) +19
19. Steele VON HOFF (Huon Salmon – Genesys) +19
20. Alexander SMYTH (Total Rush / Hyster Racing) +25
21. Luke DURBRIDGE (Orica GreenEDGE) +29
22. Dean SANFILIPPO (Target – Trek Racing) +38
23. Koen DE KORT (Degani Bakery Café) +56
24. Kristian HOUSE (Rapha Condor JLT) +56
25. Robbie HUCKER (DRAPAC Professional) +2:14

dnf 12 Alastair SLATER (GBR National Team)
dnf 13 Samuel LOWE (GBR National Team)
dnf 14 Christopher LATHAM (GBR National Team)
dnf 17 Richard HANDLEY (Rapha Condor JLT)
dnf 19 Luke GRIVELL-MELLOR (Rapha Condor JLT)
dnf 20 Felix ENGLISH (Rapha Condor JLT)
dnf 33 Blair WINDSOR (Team Budgetforklifts)
dnf 37 Dean WINDSOR (Degani Bakery Café)
dnf 52 George TANSLEY (Team SASI)
dnf 69 Richard LANG (Bikebug)

Intermediate Sprints

Intermediate Sprint 1
1. Mitchell DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) 3 pt
2. Harry CARPENTER (Team SASI) 2
3. Dean WINDSOR (Degani Bakery Café) 1

Intermediate Sprint 2
1. Mitchell DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) 3 pt
2. Harry CARPENTER (Team SASI) 2
3. Dean WINDSOR (Degani Bakery Café) 1

Intermediate Sprint 3
1. Mitchell DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) 3 pt
2. Harry CARPENTER (Team SASI) 2
3. Greg HENDERSON (Degani Bakery Café) 1

General Classification
1. Caleb EWAN (Bikebug) 23 pt
2. Greg HENDERSON (Degani Bakery Café) 14
3. Mitchell DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) 12
4. Jens MOURIS (Orica GreenEDGE) 12
5. Graham BRIGGS (GBR National Team) 12
6. Luke DURBRIDGE (Orica GreenEDGE) 12
7. Harry CARPENTER (Team SASI) 10
8. Kristian HOUSE (Rapha Condor JLT) 10
9. Leigh HOWARD (Orica GreenEDGE) 10
10. Shaun MCCARTHY (Team Budgetforklifts) 8
11. Thomas SCULLY (Grays Online) 8
12. James ORAM (Grays Online) 8
13. Steele VON HOFF (Huon Salmon – Genesys) 7
14. Jonathan CANTWELL (Bikebug) 5
15. Thomas PALMER (DRAPAC Professional) 5
16. Samuel WITMITZ (Team SASI) 4
17. Anthony GIACOPPO (Huon Salmon – Genesys) 4
18. Luke DAVISON (DRAPAC Professional) 3
19. Simon YATES (GBR National Team) 3
20. Rico ROGERS (Total Rush / Hyster Racing) 2
21. Brenton JONES (Huon Salmon – Genesys) 2

Sprint Ace Competition
1. Mitchell DOCKER (Orica GreenEDGE) 14 pt
2. Greg HENDERSON (Degani Bakery Café) 10
3. Luke DURBRIDGE (Orica GreenEDGE) 6
4. Harry CARPENTER (Team SASI) 6
5. Kristian HOUSE (Rapha Condor JLT) 3
6. Michael NORTHEY (Grays Online) 3
7. Graham BRIGGS (GBR National Team) 3
8. James ORAM (Grays Online) 2
8. Jack EDWARDS (Bikebug) 2
10. Dean WINDSOR (Degani Bakery Café) 2
11. Shaun MCCARTHY (Team Budgetforklifts) 1
12. Joseph LEWIS (GPM /DATA #3) 1
12. Vaughan BOWMAN (Target – Trek Racing) 1

Teams Classification
1. Orica GreenEDGE 46 pt
2. Bikebug 28
3. Grays Online 16
4. GBR National Team 15
5. Team SASI 14
6. Degani Bakery Café 14
7. Huon Salmon – Genesys 13
8. Rapha Condor JLT 10
9. DRAPAC Professional 8
10. Team Budgetforklifts 8
11. Total Rush / Hyster Racing 2

Support Teams Stage 3 Result
1. Sean FINNING (Jayco VIS) 46:23
2. Liam WHITE (Essendon SKODA Cycling Team) +16
3. Luke PARKER (Jayco VIS) +16

8. Michael CUMMINGS (Rapha Condor JLT) +16

dnf 7 Edward LAVERACK (Rapha Condor JLT)
dnf 8 Elliott PORTER (Rapha Condor JLT)
dnf 9 Hugh CARTHY (Rapha Condor JLT)


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK