Report/Result: CC Sudbury Mad March Hilly Time Trial


Jason Bouttell saw off Mark Arnold’s challenge to win CC Sudbury’s Mad March Hilly Time Trial over 21.7 miles on Sunday on the BS24/R course

RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Report by Roger Rush

The 22 mile aptly named Mad March Hilly Time Trial produced a course breaking record ride by Jason Bouttell from Bury based Team, in a time of 49mins 42secs. This bettered the existing record by 73secs and was almost certainly helped by near perfect conditions with no rain, wind or icy roads to contend with as encountered in previous events.

Repeating his previous year’s result, second place man, Mark Arnold from Team, again claimed runner up spot with a 50 mins 28secs ride. Andre Dyason from Team Swift, (a nationwide cycling development team) rode the third fastest time, clocking 51mins 35secs, with CCS’s Simon Wright, last year’s winner, having to be content with fourth place, just 19secs behind Dyason. Rounding off the top five places was another home rider, Simon Daw with a 53mins 24secs ride.

Jason Bouttell, Team

The fastest lady of the day prize went to CCS’s own Kirsty White in 1hr 09mins 52secs with team mate Denise Leeder only 20secs behind with a 1hr 10mins12secs ride which was over 4mins quicker than her effort last year. Stowmarket & D.C.C. rider Emma Beard completed the trio in a time of 1hr 15mins 42secs.

Team Velovelocity’s fastest 3 riders narrowly beat CCS’s fastest 3 to claim the combined team prize.

Seven members from the neighbouring Boxford Bike Club competed in the event, with Richard Porter fastest of the group in an excellent time of 59mins 20secs for 20th place. New to event organising, Jonathan Weatherley was rightly pleased with the day’s proceedings and was very thankful to the small army of club members who helped make it all happen.


1st J. Bouttell Team 49.42* £25
2nd M. Arnold Team Pedal 50.28 £20
3rd A. Dyason Team Swift 51.35 £15

*New Course Record (beat the previous best of 50.55 set on 04.03.12 by Simon Wright, C.C.Sudbury)

Fastest Team of Three
(J. Bouttell 49.42, Paul Jay 53.40, David Staff 56.58) 2.40.20 £10 each

1st Kirsty White C.C. Sudbury 1.09.52 £10

Thanks to the following people, without whom this event could not have taken place:
Robin Weaver for Signing-in, Brian Webber & Geoff Morse for Timekeeping, Linda Pillett for Recording, Peter Whitely for Observing (and marshalling). David Fenn, Viv Marsh and Brian Mann for pushing off. All the marshals: Ashton Dyson, Mark Gentry, Damon Day, Barry Lee, Steve Barnes, Peter Whitely, Martin North, Roger Rush, Stephen Weatherley and Trevor Pillett. Bob Bush for relaying rider’s times from the Timekeepers to the result board, Viv Marsh for taking care of the result board. David Fenn and Brian Mann for providing refreshments. Robert Morse of Lifecycle UK, Bildeston for his generous donation towards the prizes.

1 Jason Bouttell S Team 49.42
2 Mark Arnold S Team Pedal 50.28
3 Andre Dyason V Team Swift 51.35
4 Simon Wright V CC Sudbury 51.54
5 Simon Daw V CC Sudbury 53.24
6 Paul Jay S Team 53.40
7 Andrew Leggett S Stowmarket & District CC- Orbea/Autostrasse 54.05
8 Barry McDonald S Velo Schils Interbike RT 54.09
9 Neil Hornett S Eagle Road Club 54.56
10 Paul Rooke S West Suffolk Wheelers 55.12
11 Nicholas Webber V Colchester Rovers 55.56
12 Ben Caisey S Stowmarket & District CC- Orbea/Autostrasse 56.06
13 Andrew Kennedy V Ipswich Bike Club 56.17
14 Nick Baker V CC Sudbury 56.41
15 David Staff V Team 56.58
16 Matt Shotbolt S CC Sudbury 57.25
17 Darren Pratt V CC Sudbury 57.44
18 Colin Lown V Ipswich Bike Club 58.01
19 Gary Smith V Kings Lynn Cycling Club 58.44
20 Richard Porter V Boxford Bike Club 59.20
21 Adrian McTigue V Plomesgate C.C. 59.36
22 David Crisp S Stowmarket & District CC- Orbea/Autostrasse 1.00.10
23 Darren Rule V CC Sudbury 1.00.41
24 David Cole S Boxford Bike Club 1.02.05
25 John Bradbury V Boxford Bike Club 1.03.03
26 Matthew Shinn V Boxford Bike Club 1.03.27
27 Kelly Wagland V Boxford Bike Club 1.03.53
28 Lee Nowak V Kings Lynn Cycling Club 1.06.05
29 Curtis Caba V Boxford Bike Club 1.06.20
30 Simon Norton V CC Sudbury 1.07.06
31 Kirsty White LV CC Sudbury 1.09.52
32 Denise Leeder LV CC Sudbury 1.10.12
33 Peter Beard V Stowmarket & District CC- Orbea/Autostrasse 1.10.39
34 Andrew Renshaw V Boxford Bike Club 1.11.53
35 Gerry Barton V West Suffolk Wheelers 1.13.44
36 Emma Beard LS Stowmarket & District CC- Orbea/Autostrasse 1.15.42


RST Cycle Clothing & Trigon Bikes

Other Results on VeloUK (including reports containing results)

Other News on VeloUK

Tags: , ,